Gone with the wind

EGfan

Its been a painful week for me since my Civic EG got stolen. Throughout this 18 years being with me, 3 different windows were smashed, 2 times thieves tried to steal it...and finally its gone.

I regret not paying much attention to security, and taking for granted that its an old car, no one will eye it. I have a fuel pump cut off switch, but i guess they must have planned it well. Now i can only blame myself for not investing in a gear & steering lock and 2 way alarm. It was stolen while i was busy working in my client's place.

Till now, i still can't figure out how they stole my car, but i learned a bloody painful lesson.

So guys, don't think it will never happen to you, cos that was what i thought. Old or new, when the thieves are hungry, the will hunt!!!!

wtf? when did this happen? n where?? give details, pictures, plate number etc etc

Bro, I'm sorry to hear that. But yeah, one of the reasons some of my friends selling their EGs are due to fear of theft. As for mine, I'm paranoid enough to remove the ECU when parking at car parks for more than 4-6 hours now, even with a fuel pump relay kill switch.

How did you wire in a kill switch? I've seen a couple of interesting ones, such as using the cigarette lighter knob as a switch, or press brake to start. If you made a simple switch, they'll probably trace it from the fuel relay, or jumper it.

Still, since the wiring is traceable, I don't trust them that much either.

Hi mADmAN,

It was stolen in Giant beside Shah Alam Stadium. I park there regularly the last 2 years as i service their IT Department. As usual i parked at the main lanes where there are always high traffic. Suspect might be some inside job. I arrived at 1:45PM, and left at 6:30PM. Probably the thieves knew that everytime i come, i will spend at least 2 hours in the office, unlike normal shoppers who will grab and go within 30mins. My car registration is BBR 2020, greyish blue...doubt i will see my car again...:(

But if guys do bump into it, please give me a buzz 012-2810451

Hi Shiro,
Cool idea you have...finally found someone as paranoid as i am. My fuel pump's ground is connected to my switch. Probably my switch is not that well hidden, guess they might have found it.

Honestly, since my first attempted theft in 2000, i have exercised very strict policies on where i park my car. With this mind set, i have made my life and those around me inconvenient. I even have nightmares bout my car getting stolen ( i think dreams do come true )
Guess God took away my car so i will live life like a normal person (finding excuse to make myself not so sad on why my car got stolen)

• IMG_0028.jpg
    IMG_0028.jpg
    67.5 KB · Views: 299
  • IMG_0093.jpg
    IMG_0093.jpg
    79.9 KB · Views: 281
No wonder they targeted your car. It was a monster with a turbo inside eh?

Sorry to hear that bro. I really understand your feeling.

I was once lost my Gilera , park in the office parking space but unlucky that my space was on the blind side of the cctv.

Everytime i parked my car somewhere dark or far, i really could not at 1 second feel calm. People said, rileks ah, but they dont know that feeling of "what if"....

sorry for ur loss bro... i tend to go there too for my groceries and its near my house....

ive shared this on my FB so hopefully the word spreads n ull get some leads...

fuck the thieves..

Damn that's sure to be a fun car to drive. Sorry about your loss. Hope you can pick up the pieces and move on. Maybe with a DC5 or FD2R?

V sad for the loss. Thief nowdays dont even need to find the switch. They just bring their own batt and run the fuel pump straight. Some even have their own ecu in case there is some programming done inside to disable the engine.

Damn, looks like I have to do even more anti-theft measures.

Hi mADmAN,

It was stolen in Giant beside Shah Alam Stadium. I park there regularly the last 2 years as i service their IT Department. As usual i parked at the main lanes where there are always high traffic. Suspect might be some inside job. I arrived at 1:45PM, and left at 6:30PM. Probably the thieves knew that everytime i come, i will spend at least 2 hours in the office, unlike normal shoppers who will grab and go within 30mins. My car registration is BBR 2020, greyish blue...doubt i will see my car again...:(

But if guys do bump into it, please give me a buzz 012-2810451

Hi Shiro,
Cool idea you have...finally found someone as paranoid as i am. My fuel pump's ground is connected to my switch. Probably my switch is not that well hidden, guess they might have found it.

Honestly, since my first attempted theft in 2000, i have exercised very strict policies on where i park my car. With this mind set, i have made my life and those around me inconvenient. I even have nightmares bout my car getting stolen ( i think dreams do come true )
Guess God took away my car so i will live life like a normal person (finding excuse to make myself not so sad on why my car got stolen)

such a beautiful words......it all becos of the price hike on this second parts....inside job always la cos 2 years u park there....

Gulp! now I am having second thought of getting an EG liao... giler betul, the market must be crazy in demand of the engines and parts. So sorry to hear about your lost. Despite what you are doing, still, they manage to steal it. No wonder most EG wners I know tend to keep their car inside, and only drive it on weekends. APA LA DAH JADI...

Did you get any CCTV picture from that giant security or police report?

F'ing thieves! What the hell la. Seems like it can't be controlled anymore. I hear things like this almost every week. What about the tracker? I've seen some sellers in Mudah.my sell those thing. Is it effective? If the car got stolen at least can track.

Not if they also can quickly find your tracker and then throw it away.

i've been thinking of that too. is there any device for them to use to detect these trackers? i've heard before thieves use some sort of device to track laptops in cars. is it true?

Firstly, sorry for your loss. Adding more security will only slow the thieves down, if they already have targeted your car.
My mechanic had a client who lost his Evo. The Evo was fitted with GPS tracking and sms alert and was stolen from his condo. Seems the guard did see a few persons with the car hood open. When the guard approached them they mentioned car repair.
Some how parking in basement, the sms alert was not activated because got no line. GPS as far as I know was deactivated by the thieves.
Call to GPS company show no sign of it, but 2 days later he got a call stating the car GPS shows it was in Seremban. GPS activated for a while then off. Seems that the GPS have to be activated to start the car, then they off it again.....Until now no sign of the car.....

that sucks. have u guys heard of the case in kuantan? blue EK stolen but somewhat this honda community members caught them. taken by the police but then released. 'mengaku tidak bersalah' somemore. what the hell? caught red handed also can 'mengaku tidak bersalah' aa?

Alamak! What has happen to our country??????:banghead:

Maybe these car thieves also got insurance scheme whereby they will be released within 2 hours if they are caught?

Malaysia boleh, ada payung tak takut hujan !:call::evil: