engine oil for mivec

tacira

hello guys,

those who use mivec machine, can you guys tell me what engine oil most suitable to be used?

thanks.

Most oils out there in the market are mostly compatible...have tried a couple and my personal OK list in random order:

1) Motul (using now)
2) Q8 fully and semi synth
3) Castrol RS
4) Castrol Magnatec
5) Caltex Halvoline fully & semi (don't underestimate this oil!!)
6) Endless fully & semi
7) Royal Purple (imported - damn smooth!! Very popular in S'pore & US)
8) Redline 10w40 & 5W30
9) Petronas Fully synth (the ol' 5W30)
10) Mobil 1 (5w30) & Mobil S (semi)
11) TTrax (5w30.. surprise!! damn good hi-end power but evaporate damn fast
also!)

Don't forget since Mivec/Vtecs are high rev'in engines and tend to "makan minyak" a bit more compare to normal engines, be sure to check oil levels weekly at least especially if using lower viscosity oils like 5W30s.. ;)

Certain oils to avoid (IN MY OPINION only-la) Shell, Eneos...

the motul one how much ? izzit semi synthetic or fully synthetic ? 10W40 ?

Munky,
Got my Motul for a very special price from my mech.. am using the Motul 4100 series 10W40, normally retails at RM135 per 4l. Can't read french..technosynthese..think it's either high grade semi-synth or fully synth. Just that am too "high" using the oil now..hehe :D

Jackal,
I tried Enoes 5W30 when it was first launch but the oil gives my car quite a "heavy" feeling.. :(

gspot,

wahh...long list beb... :) u have tried so many oils...from what u have tried..
which engine oil long last ( still smooth up to how many km )?? other than motul.. :D can't tahan the price... :(

but i think u should consider SELENIA 20k 10w/40....u should try.... :)

but caltex only rated API/SJ only... :huh: based on your experience..looks like it
is good...compared to noew days engine oil...API/SL...how long it last(km??)

Mugen,
Well.. am always curious about the engine's lifeblood. :) To be honest.. I have this very bad habit of changing oil every 3-4K.. or when I felt the engine's startin' to get sluggish irregardless of the type of oil. High probability, due to my rich fuel mappings and my almost everyday high revvin'.. time never enough kind of job nature. Oh yeah.. forgotten to mention Selenia..quite a smooth, stable oil. ;)

For normal driving.. most oils can carry thru the 5-10K period. Yup.. Calyex is a big surprise. Smooth, powerfull and quite lasting.. especially on my ol' Wira when I had the Halvoline Energy 5W30 in it. :) Give the Semi 10w40 or fully a try. Anyway, no harm trying.

ouh..great.. i always use haveline semi 10w40 for my prevoius honda civic... now i still can send my car to same workshop and use same engine oil for my mivec .... hehehhe

bro gspot.. can tell why shell not recommended?.. shell semi-syhthetic?

Gibod,
Well, used it once and somehow, found my car behaves rather "lethargic" instead of fully refreshed. :( Couldn't find the power and it has the shortest life span of all oils that I've used. Think it's okay for normal sedated driving but somehow always felt something is lacking at higher revs. :unsure:

On bright side, the Shell semi-synth is a quite a good oil to mix and top up, since they are the few companies that produce and retail 1 litre bottles. Given a choice would opt for Caltex semi-synth or Conoco Hydroclear for top ups.

Well, it's just, my opinion and experience. Bet many would beg to differ.
Anyway, anyone tried Chemlube? :) Kinda difficult to look for the oil.. :(

g-spot...nobody reply as good as u laa...good feedback for us... ;) :) ..

myself same as gspot...tried the shell semi-synth....F**K...really frustrating..
nothing special..some more feel sluggish after 3000km....

i really like this selenia 20k....smooth al the way up to 10000km....
do caltex have havoline 10w/40 meh??...i thought caltex semi synth is 15w/40..
can try laa....no harm trying... :)

my friend use chemlube fully synth 5w/30 on his waja and previous honda city....damn smooth and he said nothing compared to chemlube....

** actually Chemlube is among the best engine oil...same as MOTUL but
me cannot tahan the price... :lol:

how much havoline semi synth 10w/40 ??

TQ

Jackal,
Well.. the top range fully synth 5W30 already gave me a uncomfortable impression. Heavyweight!!! Nevermind the makan minyak element coz' it's a permanent trait in high revvin variable valve timing cars. No offence ya? :)

Mugen,
Halvoline semi synth 10W40 cost around RM70++ at the stations. The mineral one is 15W40.

Yup.. heard good feedbacks on the Chemlubes. Just product availability a slight headache.

Anyone tried Cepsa?

kynizam04...gspot...

just went to caltex..got 10w/40 semi-synth..rm79...
any sparepart shop got caltex oil cheaper??....

so far i've used these oils:

Q8 (gold bottle) - good oil, especially at high revs.. smooth.
mobil 1 - well good oil.. long lasting can probably strecth to 10k
motul (300v - 15-50) - best oil i've tried so far.. excellent response, smooth all the way to 8k rpm. think its because of the double esther base thing.

jackal...

i bought for rm125 for 4 liter ( 1 can = 2 liter )....currently satisfied with the
performance ( my car laa )....10w/40 semi-synth...

u should consider this oil...no harm trying...once use cannot stop... :lol: