ECU Remap

darren, how much is the cost to send th ECU tuning? i believe it's much more expeensive.

James, wait for your report. How long it takes?
I think you shall able to tell the different at least from your FC. :biggrin:

no, better FC instead, according to the tuner, our default ECU setting is too rich.
however talk is cheap, only james can tell the different and i believe he need a week or 2 to find out the different.

If what the tuner said is true, then RD1 and RD2 are on the losing edge!
Have you guys heard that we can actually change our ECU?
Not tuning but changing the whole thing!

is it piggy back? as i know piggy back dun change ECU, but add in new ECU to "fool" the original ECU.

if what the tuner said is correct (after tuning, more power, better FC), it will be very promising.

Yeah! They add another ECU to the original ECU!
One of my friend add on a HKS ECU to his twin turbo V6 Eterna and the performance was superb!
The ECU can be controlled through a device in the cockpit.
From what he said, we can tuned the ECU to suit the road conditions.
For eg, on hilly roads, the spec tuned for the ECU can only managed to top 210km/h. However on highway, the ECU can allow the car to top a maximum of 230km/h.
A cool device indeed.

According to Joey of Harmony, he said for my RD2, the ECU will need to be sent to Korea for tuning. His program doesn't have the specs for this. The problem is that it takes time to ship, tune and return to us. It would be good if they have a spare ECU to swap.

It should improve FC because the new fuel mixture will be leaner, creating a more optimize combustion. Original ECU program are using a just too rich fuel mixture based on the better fuel grade that we used here in Malaysia (RON97) compared to other less developed tropical countries (RON90,91, etc).

Also, the ECU programming will increase the max rpm before cutoff... I was told Tuscani9889's max RPM has been increased from 6200RPM to 7200RPM. I sat in his car and he revved the car maximum lar.....

dartango, how about i sent mine for tuning and i borrow u mine and ship urs for tuning? and later i get back urs. :biggrin:

my worry is how long it takes. I can leave my car not driving for a month.
how much is cost and the most important thing, the return (FC and HP). :biggrin:

ic..I think it should be 1 month, since Joey comes down once a month to do the tuning. I will inquire more from Ian. But letz wait for James's feedback..need some proven figures!!!

0-100

Tried some 0-100 test near my place. Had to try few times since got traffic even at late night. Roughly 1 second improvement I think, from 10sec to 9sec with full tank fuel. Its heavy son of a *****:X-:

Well hoping to run dyno tomorrow, so keep watchin!

dartango,
On the rev limit thing. Are most of your guys rev cut off at 6200rpm? mine original already capable of going till 7000rpm and at fifth gear it was boucing back and forth because it hit the rev limit. if I were able to make it go till 7200rpm then my top speed will be 220Km/h.

Ace :)

Tuscani9889 said:
Tried some 0-100 test near my place. Had to try few times since got traffic even at late night. Roughly 1 second improvement I think, from 10sec to 9sec with full tank fuel. Its heavy son of a *****:X-:

Well hoping to run dyno tomorrow, so keep watchin!

James, try doing it with lesser fuel in your tank again.:_:

DynoJet

Dyno completed at N1 Sunway.

HOWEVER

HP at Wheels - 103
Torque at Wheels - 139.22

temperature - 35 degrees

Somehow I think HP no improvement
Torque shows some improvement since stock HP at crank is quoted at 138HP and 181NM torque. Ratio of torque to horsepower is therefore better.

By comparison, I saw a graph of a Honda Civic 1.7 VTEC ES
HP at Wheels 96.5, Torque at Wheels 128
The guy said Integra Type-R can reach 160 at the wheels.
Anyway, gonna contact the tuning ppl and find out more.

James, you'd better HP to torque ratio than the Civic.
But I thought the ECU tuning should gives you more HP?

Could the HP reading be kW reading??

Check out this site..it is the same person who did the ECU tuning for James...look for the Dyno Chart for Hyundai Tuscani 2.0, Beta II VVT (Note the owner added H-Racing Extractor to reach the improvement)

http://www.justcomz.com/application/justcomz/justcomz.web/Page.aspx?community=130&LCID=1033&page=1-2&keyword=Cars+Dyno+Chart

Good news guyz...the korean sifu is coming down next month for ECU tuning...
All RD1, RD2 & GK stay tuned!!!
James, howz the response on your ECU tuning? Any reply from Ian? We are all depending on your feedback to proceed.

Today after the rain I did some serious 0-60 testing.

Best run was 8.8 seconds, at 25 degrees celcius, empty tank.
Managed to sit in my friends S40 Turbo today, feel that the performance is near comparable. I think this ECU tuning allows easier hard acceleration. Ian said that my stock hp was around 90 at wheel. In that case, gain 13 Wheel horsepower. I suggest though you guys do a dyno run stock first. Then go n tune. Then u will easier to compare later. For 900bucks is a bit steep, but value if compare to outlay and hassle for a turbo setup, NOS etc.