darken by smoke

zohan

been driving my r34 for 3 months now and the smoke from the hks exhaust has darken my rear bumper together with the tail light each time i drive long distance. the difference is so obvious as the left bumper which the exhaust is situated was darken and the right hand side is very clear. i have to send it for car wash almost every week, anyone have the same problem as me?

That's common to most Skylines - if your car paint is white or any other light shade then best to get a shroud - can be cheap or even the stainless HKS ones to protect the paint as long term it will become noticeably dull.

Bump: That's common to most Skylines - if your car paint is white or any other light shade then best to get a shroud - can be cheap or even the stainless HKS ones to protect the paint as long term it will become noticeably dull.

if u go to trackdays, even worse. the fire will melt part of ur bumper hehehe

haha. first question : are u using power FC ecu?
second question: are u running rich?

if the answer is yes, then u have to go n retune ur ecu. it happened to me last time. retuned it and everything was ok after that.

haha. first question : are u using power FC ecu?
second question: are u running rich?

if the answer is yes, then u have to go n retune ur ecu. it happened to me last time. retuned it and everything was ok after that.

It doesn't have to be a PowerFC in order to cause it to run rich - even a atmo venting blow off valve is enough.

maybe ur running rich....check ur exhaust tip is it too close to the bumper if yes, soon that part of the bumper will turn yellowish....hard to get rid of it even after pro waxing.....

Bump: maybe ur running rich....check ur exhaust tip is it too close to the bumper if yes, soon that part of the bumper will turn yellowish....hard to get rid of it even after pro waxing.....

The car is running rich, no question about that. It's very common so if you have an ECU then get it retuned. Do you have an atmo venting blow off valve? Still running AFM?

Try checking your plugs once in awhile too cause they'll foul up faster than usual.

Other than the smoke, the cars drives fine does it? No sluggish pick-up or feeling somewhat bogged down?

Bump: The car is running rich, no question about that. It's very common so if you have an ECU then get it retuned. Do you have an atmo venting blow off valve? Still running AFM?

Try checking your plugs once in awhile too cause they'll foul up faster than usual.

Other than the smoke, the cars drives fine does it? No sluggish pick-up or feeling somewhat bogged down?

already have a shroud and i m using power fc. am doing run in at the moment so i have 4000km to go before proper tunning. just changed my piston. have changed the coil to okada plasma as well. no sluggish pick up, just the smoke which is very annoying. its a metallic blue car but the darken part is too obvious.

eh, that's ok la. metallic blue with black patch on the bumper nampak ganas wut plus not so noticable.
mine's white n it sucks. it's so hard to wash out. had to pour the car wash soap n leave it for an hour so the dirt would go off. that also not all. :banghead:

Dude,

Your engine is newly rebuilt? Did you previously blow the engine? Cause its not uncommon for all the old oil, engine fluids from previous engine to be stuck at various parts of your exhaust - soaked up in your cat converter or at the resonator in your muffler. If your previous engine blew then the oil and other fluids will eventually burn off hence all the black smoke.

That's one possible explanation.

The other would be the fact that your engine is not properly run-in yet nor has it been tuned completely. Usually its a very basic tune just to get you on the road and sometimes can be slightly rich if your tuner fears detonation since its early days. Too rich would also fk you up in the long run but slightly rich is fine so you have some buffer against lousy petrol octance, etc.

How are your AFR readings? Don't forget to keep an eye on it if you have someway of monitoring. Definitely talk to your tuner to clarify matters as well.

Those are just two possible scenarios, I could be wayyy off though.

wah lau eh. so serious explaination.
dude, i hope u don't freak him out.

wah lau eh. so serious explaination.
dude, i hope u don't freak him out.

Just relating what I experienced while running in new engine, heaps of smoke which worried me as well. Turns out was just leftover engine oil soaked into the fibers in my muffler slowly burning off
creating black smoke. Went away not long after in my situation especially after a re-tune.

His situation is probably different than mine like I said. His is probably due to the unfinished tuning since running-in still.

Bro if im not mistaken ur running in the engine rite? Black smoke wont come out unless u tekan sama dia heheheh....or during start up.....sabar bro ,tekan kaw2 after tuning....

damn..u wash ya car once a week??
well..i washed my everyday..self-wash..:banghead:

hehe. yeah, lots of things can cause it but dun worry la. jus make sure u do it properly. and who knows, u might like running it rich. no prob ar since petrol price also turun already.

Even the angle of muffler and how far it protrudes creates the same problem right.

Bump: Even the angle of muffler and how far it protrudes creates the same problem right.

i was rebuilding to a better engine, maybe i have tekan too much as my tuner advised me not to go for full throttle and the maximum rpm i can go is 5000 which is like driving a wira. and guess what i lost to two wiralution in klang twice in a week which is like so embarassing to me. i remember their plate number though and i m sure we will meet again on the same road in the future. for all u guys out there who like to bump into these wiralution, klang is the right place for u. come and teach these 'sin kar lan' a lesson. cheers

yo zohan, where did u tune ur car? that advice sounds very familiar.
eh, 5000rpm is pretty fast man. learn to heel n toe. it'll save u alot of trouble. :D