changing cam

benjaminn78

i plan to change the cam from 264 to 288 with 9.2 lift, anyone using 288 cam? mind to share the experience? can piggyback support 288? i just using e-mange...

ben with higher lift and duration of cam u need a higher compression of piston to cope with it oh...dun forgot to mod ya...and dyno out and make 4ag proud....our hope on u d ben....haha

ya..will try it out...and found out AUS standalone ECU adaptronic...less than 4K...good to have try...anyone can share their 288 experience?

Ben, don't mind if i ask. With a standard ECU running 264, does your rev goes beyond 8k and still going?

BT rev cut is around 8.2k if not mistaken..so no matter high cam or standard ecu..can go beyond 8k.

cooool... but 1 word FOC you. Piggy back will not fulfill your high cam, and most important is check to fuel pressure, if not enough add in fuel regulator. It will slightly help.

I personally done upgrade to 272 hi cam only. But end up engine blow. reason is fuel not enough and A/F showed lean. Higher compression piston will only more early to blow up only. A decent ECU management is much important.

common... can anyone please help me out here.... http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/toyota/295970-seriously-need-help.html

the cause of ur engine blow is engine mapping tak chun...as ur cam duration get higher and ur valve overlap get longer. u need to a higher compression piston to compress the intake air ...it is hard for me to explain to u ....

as ur fuel lean out the combustion chamber get dry and heat up easily...so u need to add more fuel and slightly over rich at 8-9 k rpm to protect ur engine from blow..u won't care much bout petrol when u decide go full throttle rite....