Cefiro Club

dream.tent said:
Brothers...

Seriously, i believe our existing Caliper is good enough. Just invest in the Rotor...same size and high temperature pads. This will be good.

Once you change Caliper, you have to flush your entire system, moreover the new caliper might need new sets of "O" rings and kits. Very cumbersome.

What do you all think?
dream....only 3.0 comes with 2 pot calipers. thats why u r feeling much better comparing to other..mostly 2.0 Excimo.
if u have try the braking system of 2.0, u would know that its not good enough.
mine is 2 pot, which its good enough but after using 18" rims, the performance has drop significantly. more over, i have skimmed once my disc. so its not really up to the expectation.

u r right about gettin better rotor n pad but u will b payin more than a set of used 4 pot. DBA rotors r around rm900 a pair. a good set of brake pads easily cost over rm500....

my friend is pilot n usually he stops by dubai, where almost all performance parts r duty free. enquire b4 a set of brand new 4 pot caliper + rotors + brake only rm2500!!

ongteckweng said:
bobby...very hard to find a good set...hoping abargh's friend can get them...

abargh...no prob. waiting for ur good news.

David hows your paint job doing ? How much is the duct tail spoiler that you want to custom ?

I've forgotten the price that you told me at TT.

abargh said:
David hows your paint job doing ? How much is the duct tail spoiler that you want to custom ?

I've forgotten the price that you told me at TT.
will send the car next week after got the spoiler done. its around rm350 for custom spoiler. but i found a set of galant rear spoiler like duck tail with brake light. its fit nicely apart the end. so need to mod to fit cefiro. its much smoother than local fibre.

RachelAgl.....Lots of Good Luck to ya!

Ongteckweng, hope you get some good pics of the bootspoiler install. Going for a VIP look?

ongteckweng said:
dream....only 3.0 comes with 2 pot calipers. thats why u r feeling much better comparing to other..mostly 2.0 Excimo.
if u have try the braking system of 2.0, u would know that its not good enough.
mine is 2 pot, which its good enough but after using 18" rims, the performance has drop significantly. more over, i have skimmed once my disc. so its not really up to the expectation.

u r right about gettin better rotor n pad but u will b payin more than a set of used 4 pot. DBA rotors r around rm900 a pair. a good set of brake pads easily cost over rm500....

my friend is pilot n usually he stops by dubai, where almost all performance parts r duty free. enquire b4 a set of brand new 4 pot caliper + rotors + brake only rm2500!!

I see.. consider the weight of the Feilo, we seriously need some brake force. The surface of contact from the pads to the rotor and the pressure from the caliper.

I've been asking around my friends in motorsports too. The logical improvement for non racing cars should keep the braking system original. If can, keep the caliper, change only the pads.

With this, it can help in active driving usage. The pad can handle high temperature and still hold on.

Then, if you have engine performance upgraded, meaning the braking system is push to the limit. You then need a more solid brake lines, changing to steel brace brake line which improves responsiveness and increase your brake pump's pressure.

For real rotor and caliper changes, serious consideration and study is needed. To be more extream, imagine a proton saga with a Mivec Turbo with 300BHP tunning, original chassis maybe some enforcing at engine compartment. A set of competition class AP braking system. Even the Engine can bring the car from 0 to 100 in 5sec, 100 to 0 braking might be 50M as the is just not enough friction from the tires to the ground.

Weight of a car vs. the brake power determines the effectiveness.

example, the Rotor Diameter in a GTCC car is much much bigger then the F1 cars. But thickness and temperature, F1's is thicker and can withstand higher temp.

So it's the balance.

Let me curi more wisdom from the track Sifu now.....
(They did alot of Civic for races here...but when comes to bigger seden, maybe different ways needed. They actually add lead to increase weight of the cars to gain grips.)

wow... see also... pening... haha... but got logic... impressed... xD

Hahahaaa...sometimes, when i do brain dump, i just keep going and going and going...all grandmother story comes out.

dream.tent said:
Hahahaaa...sometimes, when i do brain dump, i just keep going and going and going...all grandmother story comes out.
lol interesting story lol
at least i learnt something :)
thx for the info :)
so whens the next gathering XD
my fatty will still be stock
hey anyone here with 2.0 A33/A32 tried max speed for their car?

0123 said:

What's tat Max Speed ah? can explain a bit...me lazy to dig web la.

dream.tent said:
errr...i think he meant TOP SPEED...:D

anyway, dream...thanks for the info. i understand the rational behind it. so now aim for DBA cross drilled rotors?? :devil:

0123 said:

my 2.0 A32 all in original can reach only 190/kmh only ah. :dancing2:

What Top Speed does? still blur! hhaahhhaaa
You devil! DBA Cross Drilled la! slurp~ Slurp~

dream.tent said:
dream what i meant was the maximum speed the cefiro can go lo
i tried to go 200km/h kenot :(!#@!$!@!#!@$!#!@#
ARGH lol 185-190km/h din see properly but cannot over 190km/h confirm lol
A32 maybe can gua A33 heavier ma :)
david u tried 245km/h with ur 3.0?
anyone's 2.0 did 200km/h?

Not sure if there are speed limitor! speed cut in Feilo. Most Japs car cuts fuel at 180km/h.
I've tried 210km/h but too stressful. I think if i can maintain a smooth cruising speed of 180km/h, i can't see hardly any one can catch up...(most road cars la)
Anyway, i think feilo are not meant to push for max speed. Large sedan like this should be targeting smooth ride with high cruising speed.

Actually every 10km/h after 120km/h, we are wasting fuel batteling wind drag!! hhh
Feilo's shape just not meant for 200km/h++ kinda speed.

0123 said:
dream what i meant was the maximum speed the cefiro can go lo
i tried to go 200km/h kenot :(!#@!$!@!#!@$!#!@#
ARGH lol 185-190km/h din see properly but cannot over 190km/h confirm lol
A32 maybe can gua A33 heavier ma :)
david u tried 245km/h with ur 3.0?
anyone's 2.0 did 200km/h?
last time the max i tried b4 on my 3.0 was around 215km/h but as Dream said, its stressful...did that in KLIA after the toll towards KL.

anyway, so sad to say my current 2.5 has fuel cut at 180km/h!!! really sad le...at 1st, tot wanna get Fuel Cut Defender but on 2nd thought, rarely go to the max. so scrap the idea lor.

and i agreed with dream about smooth ride with high cruising speed. if wanna max speed, should get Supra or Skyline. :D

oh yeah...Dream...no need to sleep ah...doin baby ahh..:D

original rim can make 195km :biggrin:
previous using 215/50/17 max can goto 185km :)
now using 225/50/17 can only do 175km somemore fc oso go high :frown:

mine went all the way to 225Km/h when using stock rims... but now not sure yet. have to change my tyres first then only can test drive ....

Ya! i think the drag on the road surface with the tires are getting heavy.
If you are enjoying your 175km/h cruising with no pressure...not much complains i think.