4g67 1.8 n/a

brandmzw

hello all. a friend of mine is selling his engine. anyone who uses this engine can u please give some comment about pros and cons of this engine? i also want to know the specifications. thank you.

It really depends on ur objective...

Why u want to transplant it to ur engine?

1. because ur friend selling it to u with incredible price?
2. U wish to get more power?
3. Ur engine is in bad condition and by this chance
ur friend selling the engine..?
4. U just simply love that engine..?

There must be ur objective....
If u want powerful engine.. GSR is better option for u..
If u drive NA engine range of 1.3-1.6 then GSR will be
more than enough for u to reach ur satisfaction..

thanks for ur advise. since that engine is >10 yrs oredi, i think i better take the gsr because it's newer. i have a friend who are using gsr. he also recommends me to use that engine.

brandmzw said:
thanks for ur advise. since that engine is >10 yrs oredi, i think i better take the gsr because it's newer. i have a friend who are using gsr. he also recommends me to use that engine.

Age of engine doesn't matter as long you rebuild or overhaul it. Same goes when buying a halfcut. In my case, I buy the cheapest and spend the extra savings for overhauling works.

Trust me, you will spend more and will get a better engine than simply paying more for a 'better condition' engine.

acbc said:
Age of engine doesn't matter as long you rebuild or overhaul it. Same goes when buying a halfcut. In my case, I buy the cheapest and spend the extra savings for overhauling works.

Trust me, you will spend more and will get a better engine than simply paying more for a 'better condition' engine.

i agree 100% with acbc... its always better to overhaul the engine during transplant...

i'll consult with my mechanic 1st as i dun really know abt the halfcut condition.thanks for all ur point of views.

brandmzw said:
i'll consult with my mechanic 1st as i dun really know abt the halfcut condition.thanks for all ur point of views.

Buying a halfcut is 100% conducting a gamble.. U never know how the condition is like, unless u open the whole engine..

Normally when the engine goes wrong.... mechanic recommends us to purcahse an engine kosong and drop in.. because maybe they are lazy to do all the complicated jobs.. well .. it's my personal opinion but as long as the engine condition not too critically damaged then 'overhauling' is the best option.. it really works.

Like those VR4 and those very old engines still can run without
any problems, once the engine service has done properly.. it really depends on the condition of the engine.

Strongly recommend u to do overhauling while u r doing ur
engine transplanting..

Good Luck..