hitting a pothole!

g4i8y0t

i just hit a bloody big pothole (thanks to our very efficient & hardworking JKR) on my way back home just now. It's already dark and raining heavily, couldn't see the pothole. There's no noticeable damage to my rims & tyres (using 55-profile tyre), but there's some slight noise coming from the rear left suspension. I was thinking to get it checked later.

Have u encountered such incident? Feel free to share your story here... :tee:

mostly affected parts is balljoint/tie rod end/lower arm..and overal tyre alignment...

if that hit affecting on them...if not..then no worries..

just saw a car in front of me hit a pothole.. poor fella's tyre burst.. and to make matters worse it was raining...

yep..rim and tyre damage was the common problems when hitting poles..

but i knew 1 case where his wife have miscarriage if his baby because of impact for hitting a very deep potholes...(impact on front left tyre..and wife was sitting on the front passenger seat)

p/s:the tyre was burst and rims were severely damaged also...

Haih...actually our cars have less maintenance if these bloody ppl would stop just simply patching up the roads after doing some construction work or watsoever...

Really heartache each time going on a bad road..can really feel the pain man..
Especially the one from Sri Sinar heading towards the kiaramas area...bloody road was so bad. If go more often on that road...suspension kong and other matters would arise sooner.

time to get a pickup truck with huge tires.....
gonna get 1 in the future hehe....

my rim already kena ketuk 4 times cos of potholes. main reason why i still using cheap taiwan brand rims. no point changing to nice jap rims. either kena pothole or kena curi.

u know whats worse than A pothole? a freaking longkang right across the whole road cos some barsterd utilities company had to dig up a brand new road to lay wires across then dont have the brains and QC to tar back the cut properly...after a week or so the whole tarred longkang starts to sink and we have a reverse speed bump. if u slow down to go thru the behind car might ram into u cos its a main road. no choice...just redah oni la n hope for the best. JB seems to have lots of these reverse speed bumps....

Pomen...that guy got go sue JKR kau kau not? i remember 1 case where 1 guy driving a waja with standard rims sued plus cos one of his rim cracked and tyre burst cos plus didnt put up proper signage when they were cutting up the road to re-tar...dunno if we can sue JKR for damages to car cos of potholes not....

I think can sue? Depends also la..still haih..dunno what to say..

I don't mind hitting other holes but potholes is something must be avoided...really heartache each time if hit one. I surely curse when I hit one without knowing...like bloody hell, potholes everywhere...bloody arseholes didn't do a good job and try to use as little as possible so that they can go house to house to ask if they wanna tar the road in front of their gate or something...

This scumbags are the cost of it and we shouldn't encourage them by paying them to use those tar to tar for us...

time to get a pickup truck with huge tires.....
gonna get 1 in the future hehe....

nuthing beats a pick up truck with large (i mean LARGE!!!) tyres and diesel turbo to propel it, iam planning to get the starex, put a higher profile tyres and not worried about the road condition. seme lobang aku mau langgar!!!!! hahaha:driver:

my mom had worked with JKR for some decades but now she's in a private company doing road maintenance...just recently i heard her conversation with a boss who's in kota bharu telling her about a pothole on his way from the airport, so my mom then informed the maintenance team and it got fixed the same day...

the moral of the story is, we do complaint a lot when there's potholes, dead traffic lights, flash flood and what not, but the thing is we do not complaint to the right person, all we do is rant about (don't shoot! i hit potholes as well and then i curse). Remember that no CCTV will be good enough to monitor the roads better than the road users themselves... :) so lets join hands and become better citizens!

1. Talian Aduan JKR ( 1 300 888 557 )
2. email : [email protected]
3. SMS: ke DAPAT @ 32728

good info Mahfudz_mn...

what about road damage done by ppl outside of JKR such as cable laying or ETC done by private companies? who is responsible for that?

xtremeleo...starex is a huge n tall car leh...pasang higher profile tyres become higher wooor...getting ready for more kids eh? :biggrin::biggrin:

hahaha, iam a family man, everwhere i go, i take them along. ALL

i already have three sir, gonna expect more in a few years kot, insyaAllah..

Following arturo's brilliant question, hope it will serve some good here:

The roads in Malaysia can be categorized in three categories:

1) Federal and State roads: Numbered with yellow backgrounds i.e. route 1 is the old road from johor to perlis, B24 - selangor state road, A5 - perak state road. Monitored by Federal, State, and District JKR offices

2) Toll Highways - need no examples, road numbers starts with E, E1 - North South Expressway. Monitored by LLM - Lembaga Lebuhraya Malaysia

3) City Council and Townhalls - these are the roads in towns and taman perumahan (no number, just starting a pilot numbering program in Shah Alam). Monitored by respective town governing body i.e. MPAJ, MBSA, MPK

To perform repairs, cable/pipe laying, etc the company must inform these governing bodies. Similarly, you must also report any damages/suggestions to the mentioned governing bodies. However, you may report to JKR's Hotline as they adopt no-wrong-door policy which means any reports will be channeled to the respective authorities. It may be better and quicker to direct your report to the right authority in the first place i.e. For the highways, it may be better to report to the governing body i.e. PLUS, MEX, KESAS as they have their own hotlines.

Now that we know, we can all contribute for better road conditions :)

i think xtremeleo is low profile, he said he is buying a starex, but actually
he is buying a vellfire..ahahaha...jgn mare bro....

hahaha, vellfire minyak kuat woo.. a starex have been tested to pegi balik kelantan with a full tank jer, siap jalan2 bahh.. nowadays, wanna jimat jer ler..

Happened to me last month.... hit pothole near Astro... rim badly damaged, tire koyak. Had to stop and change the blady tire near the road side beside Astro (the guard didn't let in)although had baby inside car and it was drizzling ... the next day had to buy 2 new tires... :( and the mech told me that the abs leaking and lower arm koyak... SHIT! just because of a stupid pothole...

2pac....how big n how fast u hit that hole la? sounds like huge damages...

xtremeleo...that starex got diesel version rite?

it is a turbo diesel sir, ive never heard of a petrol powered starex. max speed 190kmh tu!!!! fuhhh!!!!