Proton Roof Rust

just had mine done recently,coz from lots of his customers rides and his,d rust problem doest seem to appear even after 3-5 years..his wira he did it 5 years ago,till now still looks new..another iswara,3 years n still looking fine..fingers cross,mine will last..
The problem he said is d gam that is use 2 stick between the bone/crossmember of d roof..so if u get d top resprayed but did not treat d bottom half of d roof,it will definitely appear again..a good body repair shop sud knw how 2 do this..scrap off d old gam/glue and use a better non corrosive gam/glue..

yeap yeap from my understanding proton used a metal based gum before year 2000 when manufacturing their cars so that why it rusts not to sure on this though
so where did u do this job bro and how much did it cost??
did u replace the whole roof or something else??

Since i just did mine 2 weeks ago,way to early to say if if did cure the disease.Hope this threads is still around after 2-4 years?? hehehee.. did mine in Bintulu,Sarawak..cost rm700 including spraying.Used back my original roof as from what i heard,its getting very strict if wana replace parts like roof where d 'sturcture' of the car is cut,as per JPJ/Puspakom regulation.Need to apply for a letter that u have applied a 'permit' to have it done, and that wud cost around rm500-rm700.. Only after u have receive the approval,then u can proceed with the roof cutting,which will cost around another rm1000-1200..kinda expensive,so i just try d cheaper option..fingers cross...no budget oso to change my car now,since i have just finish paying my loan..hahahahaah..wana enjoy d freedom first of owning my own car and not d bank..hahahaha

hahah i know what u mean bro
aiyo then my situation worse coz i just bought my car and it is a 1997 model putra
WOAOOO sarawak
that is way to far for me
are u from there bro

i had mine done DIY (mainly due bcoz i run a spray paint shop..free advertisement hehehe)..its partly true dat its a 50-50 chance d rust will come out again..BUT if done correctly it shld last a very long time...i did mine in 2005 n 5yrs dwn d road only a 3 really small bubbles have appeared..so?x bad 4 a repair DIY job..gonna repeat d anti rust n repair process wiz extra 'ingredients' i picked up when i was in d US in june :)...visited a few places there n if u guys seen pimp my ride or overhaulin then u guys know wat im talking about in terms of their professionalism...
if all goes well then it shld last more then 5yrs...beats getting it replaced (roof is about 300 new n labour to replace is about 700 based in market..dats about 1k already n NOT including spray..)

rgds

i had mine done DIY (mainly due bcoz i run a spray paint shop..free advertisement hehehe)..its partly true dat its a 50-50 chance d rust will come out again..BUT if done correctly it shld last a very long time...i did mine in 2005 n 5yrs dwn d road only a 3 really small bubbles have appeared..so?x bad 4 a repair DIY job..gonna repeat d anti rust n repair process wiz extra 'ingredients' i picked up when i was in d US in june :)...visited a few places there n if u guys seen pimp my ride or overhaulin then u guys know wat im talking about in terms of their professionalism...
if all goes well then it shld last more then 5yrs...beats getting it replaced (roof is about 300 new n labour to replace is about 700 based in market..dats about 1k already n NOT including spray..)

rgds

haha yeap yeap i am living evidence of fazidks roof :top:
bro can buat for my putra anot its starting to spread lah i saw one bubble on bonnet???:banghead:

yeap,im from Sarawak..hehehe..send ur car all the way here to do it?? mahal woo..hehehe
But yeah,can see the professionalism difference when it comes to countries and us here..those few car programs,a really bad rusty car can be as good as new..d details and effort they take to rebuilt those old cars..but it all comes with a price,dnt mind spending for good quality jobs like that though...

yeap,im from Sarawak..hehehe..send ur car all the way here to do it?? mahal woo..hehehe
But yeah,can see the professionalism difference when it comes to countries and us here..those few car programs,a really bad rusty car can be as good as new..d details and effort they take to rebuilt those old cars..but it all comes with a price,dnt mind spending for good quality jobs like that though...

exactly i feel the exact same way bro
even if the price is high if the job is excellent i wouldnt mind paying
well thx for the info bro i will be still on the lookout for a good workshop in kl to fix my rust problem worst comes to worst tukar roof :banghead:

My roof seems to be "naik jerawat" a bit, really headache because i am using mitsubishi sunroof at my Proton Satria. Asking at ketuk shop, they tell a little bit difficult to 'tebuk' new hole at new roof if i want to use back my sunroof + quite expensive the roof plus labor..
Any advise??? :hmmmm:

I see... but i think the main problem is how they measure to 'tebuk' new hole at the new roof there..??
workmanship + painting + around RM1k+++ he said, but i am not really confident regarding the 'tebuk' issue there, because worried if tebok not cun, later my car for sure banjir lor...huhuhuhu..:driver:

Any place/idea that you may suggest that can do the roof CUN..??

I see... but i think the main problem is how they measure to 'tebuk' new hole at the new roof there..??
workmanship + painting + around RM1k+++ he said, but i am not really confident regarding the 'tebuk' issue there, because worried if tebok not cun, later my car for sure banjir lor...huhuhuhu..:driver:

Any place/idea that you may suggest that can do the roof CUN..??

haha yea lor that would be terrible plus we living in malaysia it can rain anytime then we have to stop at the side with the motors lol
i dunno any place yet bro will try and ask around if i find out i will pm u
btw where do u live??

thats gona be hard,coz from what i have read and heard,if an unskilful workshop cut a hole to install ur sunroof,u might have d risk of it leaking in d near future..esp in hot countries like we have here..all d seal might dry up..and then the hassle of the car if it is sent to Puspakom for checking,change of names,selling of car..that was why i did not like the idea of having the roof cut,coz i cud not afford the payment to get the approval letter...so many procedures here and there,haiyyaaaa...make it so hard for us,the least they cud do is make sure proton makes quality cars..hehehehe

kumar22mostwanted:
I am living area cheras, any recommended workshop?

ACQ2305:
you are rite man. Now i need to reconsider it again want to change the roof original or tebuk because think about want to sell the car latter, may have a problem with puspakom.

i can give gud suggestion here..... take out the roof sponge and remove the chemical glue that use to glue ur roof... just like the glue at bonnet..... proton use those glue to make our car rusty so they can rise their sales (just my opinion) :burnout: those glue i can guaranty harmful to our car and it is the reason of rusting at bonnet and roof.... poor and corrosive chemical glue use by proton maybe... :stupid:

i see, no wonder laa...but i will check back regarding the "glue" issue that Proton used with my friends later. Anyways thanks for the info bro...:driver:

notice P1 from saga to wira most of the car have roof rust, how come there is no warranty for this part or if there is how come there is no safety taken by p1....

even after warranty period, p1 is not taking any measurement for this at all only care for more sales " correct me if i wrong"

kumar22mostwanted:
I am living area cheras, any recommended workshop?

ACQ2305:
you are rite man. Now i need to reconsider it again want to change the roof original or tebuk because think about want to sell the car latter, may have a problem with puspakom.

for the moment i dont know any workshop that is good with roof repairs though i am on the prowl for now if i find out any will be sure to let u know

kumar22mostwanted:
Ok bro, tq very much.
Still blur whether to use the sunroof back or not...:bawling:

kumar22mostwanted:
Ok bro, tq very much.
Still blur whether to use the sunroof back or not...:bawling:

ok lah bro from what ive read around rite a lot of ppl say whatever treatment you do for ur roof rusting the rust will still come back like in a couple of months and changing roof is always the best alternative however this a very complicated process as you can tell from just the labour charges is like rm700-800(from what i surveyed) plus this kind of job must be done by someone who is truly experience not just any workshop but from what ive read rite i think changing the roof dont need jpj approval unless u change to sunroof thats what i remember from last time(but not 100% sure)
oh yeah and bro if you want to get sunroof make sure you get a branded one that comes with at least 1 year warranty(2 years if possible) coz sunroof are prone to leak even if very branded one sure got some super minor leak but leak stil leak lah so main thing from what ive seen my buddies cars is get one with warranty so u no need to pay for repairs :top:

I already install Lancer Wagon Sunroof at my Proton Satria roof, so just can forget about the warranty..hehehe, so far i'm using it for 5 years, no problem, just the host for the water to go out from the sunroof only. I changed it a few times because already "tersumbat" with dust and the host already "terkelepit", dunno why, easy to change it..:biggrin:

I already inspect my car for installing the sunroof, applied the form, JPJ approve it by just write it "Pemasangan sunroof diatas kereta bla, bla, bla dan diatas surat kebenaran bla, bla, bla", just like that...:hmmmm:

Thats why i keep thinking to put my sunroof system together with the bracket at new roof later bro nbecause at my car "geran" already been "cop" and signed it from JPJ regarding the sunroof installation, but as you said lor, all the workmanship expenses and after work done, dunno how it will result...:driver: