how much to do engine swap?

Jin_Jat

hi sifus, I have a Ke70 and i think i wanted to upgrade it, i heard that 4age 16v can be installed in a KE70, can i know how much is the basic budget to that?

Not much, just standby about 10k and it would be enough to complete your dream.:rofl:

10K? I thought that engine only cost around 6K :rofl:

Not sure actually, that's what I heard. Maybe price increase gua.

10K? I thought that engine only cost around 6K :rofl:

Not sure actually, that's what I heard. Maybe price increase gua.

10K is for standby purpose. Because halfcut nowaday around 6-7k already, workman fee around 2k. The balance is for final touch up purpose only.

If ur budget rm10k...try this....i thinsk no regret..rm10k for eberitin + installation..

http://www.mudah.my/4AGE-Turbo-complete-must-view-5421341.htm

4agzte...walllaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Not much, just standby about 10k and it would be enough to complete your dream.:rofl:

If ur budget rm10k...try this....i thinsk no regret..rm10k for eberitin + installation..

http://www.mudah.my/4AGE-Turbo-complete-must-view-5421341.htm

4agzte...walllaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

no thats for drag racin ler...i just wanted to know only basic stuffs...i dont know how to maintain a turbo anyway...just a 4age swap with my 4k...how much lehhh?

Yes.. have to use AE86 gearbox for either 16valve or 20valve... their is another gearbox which u can use also... it's an old gearbox..duno u can find or not loh... it's the gearbox for 2T engine... if not mistaken from wat my friend told me...same gearbox as the old celica's... cheerss... if wan changgih sikit... buy 1G gearbox.. TURBO DIA~!!!! kekekeke :biggrin:

Thank for info bro!! NOWdays AE86 gearbox price about RM1.3k..... HUHUUHUHUHU..
AE86 halfcut much expensive than AE111..

normally ae86 halfcut price around rm 5k n above......+- labour charge + wear n tear part i thinks need about another RM 3k....

happy modding...
or can check at drift.com.my....

Because of AE86 is an RWF/FR engine... rear wheel drive..and because of Drifting... hehehehe it becomes expensive...and also because Initial D hahahahaha... happy modding my friend... i think u need to estimate budget for about the range of rm8k... just for everything in only... as for the wear n tear stuff... hehehehehe........ good luck~ 4age life forever~ :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

I think is not because of Initial D or Drifting... I think it is nowadays got high demand and that car getting rare and more rare already... That why expensive.

If you want it to be cheap then put in nissan engine

ive been asking people about that too...another method is to swap in a SR20...but i cant get it out of my mind if having a toyota make car but with another make engine...but its still an alternative though...

SR20 is a nice engine.... but not sure about the Puspakom n JPJ ... after the transplant ..duno if there will any hard problem registering ur new engine kah...

my KE is with SR20. if you want daily driven without prob with authorities, juz plonk in 4AGE. yes, price is quite high now for an ae86 hafcut. you'll need minimum 8K for hafcut + installing. then u have to think bout offset rims, exhaust, body restoration, tat itself will balloon your bill to 10k plus. But, endorsement will not be problem at all.

if you want purely for drift, or drag, then sr20 is a good choice. the power is crazy. i've dumped in everything in, the axle, gbox, re-route water hoses. i can even adjust rear camber coz s13 axle is a live axle. but the car definitely will not pass endorsement. initial investment will not differ much from ae86 base, but as for maintenance, there is no need to fork out ridiculous thousands of ringgit for hafcut items tat bears ae86 chop, such as lsd axle, suspension, longshaft...

my KE is with SR20. if you want daily driven without prob with authorities, juz plonk in 4AGE. yes, price is quite high now for an ae86 hafcut. you'll need minimum 8K for hafcut + installing. then u have to think bout offset rims, exhaust, body restoration, tat itself will balloon your bill to 10k plus. But, endorsement will not be problem at all.

if you want purely for drift, or drag, then sr20 is a good choice. the power is crazy. i've dumped in everything in, the axle, gbox, re-route water hoses. i can even adjust rear camber coz s13 axle is a live axle. but the car definitely will not pass endorsement. initial investment will not differ much from ae86 base, but as for maintenance, there is no need to fork out ridiculous thousands of ringgit for hafcut items tat bears ae86 chop, such as lsd axle, suspension, longshaft...

yea i noted that sr20 users on corollas hassle when theres JPJ roadblocks too...anyway im not so into drifting and im using my car just for daily drive...just that i need a lil speed and reliability from my KE70 maybe on the highway coz travelling from Penang and Negeri Sembilan on an old 4k gives me the creep..hahaha...maybe ill try and get the ae86 halfcut first (thats within my budget)...ive already undergo the body restoration and within this month itll be complete...

IMO, i think it would be best if you could get engine lantai 4AGE 16V and do a top overhaul on it before plonking it in. Would be even better if you could get the engine + wiring + gearbox. Reason is because 4AGE 16V (even 20V) is a darn old engine and I bet be it halfcut or engine lantai, you'll still need to overhaul it...unless you don't mind using it for only 1 years plus until it starts burning engine oil like mad.

IIRC, engine lantai for 4AGE 16V and 20V is quite cheap. So you can use the extra cash to do the overhaul and rest assured the engine will last you for the coming years. Besides, not everything from the AE86 halfcut can be used on KE70. The AE86 h/cuts also expensive due to the bodyparts as well.

Previously in Ipoh, I saw a 4AGE 20V BT engine lantai already mounted to AE86 RWD gearbox, complete with water routing for radiator hose going for sale. It would be a steal if you could get such deal. For suspension you can source for cheaper S13 adjustables with a little modification but rear discs prolly will cost you a bit. Just my thought...