Engine Oil Test Videos

InitialD

Here are some screenshot from a magazine article called Oil ain't Oil where they put to test various brands of engine oil

The test was carried out with a test equipment to measure film strength properties called the Falex Lubricity Tester which gives results similar to 'Timken OK Load Rating Test'

The maximum load - in pounds - a lubricant could withstand without failure due to breakdown of the lubricant film became known as the 'Timken OK Load' rating and is still an industry standard today.

http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/8891/oiltest.jpg

http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/6046/oil20090603182958.jpg

http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/2406/oil20090603180419.th.jpg

http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/8902/oil20090603180507.th.jpg

http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/662/oil20090603180554.th.jpg

http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/7766/oil20090603180623.th.jpg

http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/7583/oil20090603180659.th.jpg

http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/8629/oil20090603180731.th.jpg

http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/339/oil20090603180811.th.jpg

http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/170/oil20090603180857.th.jpg

http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/6404/oil20090603180924.th.jpg

http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/7403/oil20090603180953.th.jpg

http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/9505/oil20090603181021.th.jpg

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/6966/oil20090603181049.th.jpg

http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/2988/oil20090603181131.th.jpg

http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/6531/oil20090603181159.th.jpg

Castrol
[youtube]sfjywumBpzQ[/youtube]

Shell Helix Ultra
[youtube]xyaFCrtQ7Z8[/youtube]

Mobil 1
[youtube]RHMkFS3jBeQ[/youtube]

AMSoil
[youtube]7mWJTSQh2yM[/youtube]

Royal Purple
[youtube]KEj-VMwgz3U[/youtube]

Note:
From my own experience, I believe this bearing friction test is real.

A few years ago, I saw with my own eyes a similar bearing friction oil test done by a salesman for Texas Revolution Titanium Oil.

The salesman did the same test using popular oil (like those mentioned in the videos above) and true enuff, with certain engine oils, there were some very bad friction marks on the bearings.

Then when the salesman repeated the same test using Texas Revolution Titanium Oil, the wear mark was very very small. He even did the test by removing the oil from the pan and another test with water mixed with their oil.

Below is a link to a video of a bearing friction test shot with my own handphone:
http://www.vimeo.com/154936

can anybody summarise for me?

my connection isn't L33T enough for YouTube :rolleyes:

http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/6404/oil20090603180924.jpg

http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/7766/oil20090603180623.jpg

http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/8629/oil20090603180731.jpg

http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/6966/oil20090603181049.jpg

http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/2988/oil20090603181131.jpg

http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/6531/oil20090603181159.jpg

im quite surprise with the result of royal Purple. used it b4 and not very satisfied with the oil compare to redline, amsoil and castrol edge, changed it at 7k+...

i have used royal purple b4..i think its not bad...quite nice...but not as good as M7..M7 the car revs feel lighter and smoother...engine sound also very smooth..... i heard redline also damn good..but too expensive...so havent tried.

Wow... who knew Mobil 1 is so bad? Hahaha.
Porsche Cayennes and Nissan GTR's use that from factory and lagi recomended :biggrin:

I been using REVO engine treatment to Castrol Full Sync.

Big improvement difference with REVO added.

this test don't really mean a lot to me... as i know.. most common cheaper engine oils cannot withstand high-heat endurance operations of the engine.. cheaper engine oils tends to loose it's ability to lubricate when it is exposed to extreme heat (especially on turbo-charged cars).
tested and drain out the cheap oil after hard driving the oil felt like waterish... when you use finger to feel.. it's no longer as smooth when it was in the bottle..

this test don't really mean a lot to me... as i know.. most common cheaper engine oils cannot withstand high-heat endurance operations of the engine.. cheaper engine oils tends to loose it's ability to lubricate when it is exposed to extreme heat (especially on turbo-charged cars).
tested and drain out the cheap oil after hard driving the oil felt like waterish... when you use finger to feel.. it's no longer as smooth when it was in the bottle..

Motul and Mobil 1 is not common cheap oil lor. So it's surprising to see the results of some expensive oil. Anyway, I share this info for the purpose of information sharing only.

haihs...freaky la...

the oils being tested are not even cheap oils...and this is the effect....

do you think the test was some what "sponsored" by another oil company ? i find it a little hard to believe... :confused:

haihs...i have been using M7 and RP in my engine..the other day i had to open up my block and head...its looked pretty clean and ok...in the oil pan no metal fragments....i guess i should just stick to M7...

i find it hard to believe...wonder what will the manufacturers say if they see the videos...especially all the claims they made saying how good the lubricants are under stress...i hope to see some clarification on whether the video was reliable... at least i know whether its worth paying for the premium...

What's hard to believe? You can watch the bearing friction test in the videos posted earlier.

By the way, a few years ago, I saw with my own eyes a similar bearing friction oil test done by a salesman for Texas Revolution Titanium Oil.

The salesman did the same test using popular oil (like those mentioned in the article) and true enuff, with certain engine oils, there were some very bad friction marks on the bearings.

Then when the salesman repeated the same test using Texas Revolution Titanium Oil, the wear mark was very very small. He even did the test by removing the oil from the pan and another test with water mixed with their oil.

So guys from my experience, I believe this bearing friction test is real.

Below is a link to a video of a bearing friction test shot with my own handphone:

What's hard to believe? You can watch the bearing friction test in the videos posted earlier.

By the way, a few years ago, I saw with my own eyes a similar bearing friction oil test done by a salesman for Texas Revolution Titanium Oil.

The salesman did the same test using popular oil (like those mentioned in the article) and true enuff, with certain engine oils, there were some very bad friction marks on the bearings.

So guys from my experience, I believe this bearing friction test is real.

so actually ure implying that the manufacturer's claim on low wear rating is fake and theres no point paying for premium oil? anyway i've tried RP before on my prev ride and amsoil on my current ride...amsoil definately felt better...

http://www.mxtradings.com/Amsoil/sso_4ball_400px.gif

http://www.mxtradings.com/Amsoil%20Pricelist.htm

u can find most of the stuff there...im just sharing my opinion as well, so its up to you whether you accept comments.

http://www.mxtradings.com/Amsoil/sso_4ball_400px.gif

http://www.mxtradings.com/Amsoil%20Pricelist.htm

u can find most of the stuff there...im just sharing my opinion as well, so its up to you whether you accept comments.

Thanks for sharing. It's always good to share some eye opening info with each other.

so actually ure implying that the manufacturer's claim on low wear rating is fake and theres no point paying for premium oil? anyway i've tried RP before on my prev ride and amsoil on my current ride...amsoil definately felt better...

We all must first ask ourselves what is the definition of "low wear rate"?
Is it 1mm or 0.0001mm? Do all these manufacturers put a hard number to their "low wear rate" claims?

I used to believe in the marketing hype (advertisement) of those big branded engine oils.

Then that one fateful day, my friend called me up and ask me to go see a bearing friction test. So being skeptical, I decided to go have a look. That demo really opened my eyes.

I'm just sharing these engine oil test videos. It's up to u to make your own decision.

By the way, I used to work for a Global Oil & Gas company.

i am glad that we are able to exchange knowledge on the forums, and i guess that is what forums are meant for. Anyway, i hope my initial replies did not offended you as i did not meant any ill intention when i first viewed and posted in this thread but i was just in disbelieve to what my eyes are telling me from the test so i wanted to find out how true it is and whether its worth paying for premium oil. Also there are so many factors and variables from the different tests they can do, i am not an expert myself so i cant comment much either. i hope more people could share so we really know how "good" are the premium oil we paid for that is running in the engine.

No worries. Each of us have the right to what we want to believe.
We cannot force a person to accept our opinion if they don't want to.

Naturally, I was skeptical too until I saw the bearing friction test with my own eyes
Below is a link to a video of a bearing friction test shot with my own camera phone: