EE100 Noise Reduction

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused

ahsoon80

Hi All ,

Recently just discover this forum . Alot of active Toyota AE owner around here.
I been driving an ori EE100 . Recently the paint start to peel off , rubber loosen , so would like to recondition back the car to better ride condition.

Just notice this forum had alot of corolla part around. Alot of good stuff.

I got one problem cannot solve by changing part :-

My car noise reduction very low . Engine sound very loud. When hit hole , can hear "bump" sound.
My EE100 is consider bumpy ride , plus the sound ... it more bumpy than it seems.

Any recommadation ?

In order to rebuild your car, u need quite a lot of cash. RM5K more or less should get it back into shape. Minus engine transplant.

- RM2000 for paint,
- RM500-700 to rewrap interior
- RM300-500 to change undercarriage bushings
- RM300-500 to change suspension dampers and springs
- RM500-1500 for sound dampening materials for bonnet, boot, doors, roof, firewall, blah blah.

I think your car would rival new cars in NVH easily. hehehe.

And a little more extra for some things you want to change. If you do transplant and upgrades, RM20K is still not enough. So i think its better u do it slowly if you upgrade. Cost is very prohibitive.

Before open this thread i already change the coil spring and absorber.
It improve in terms of scrating my car floor scratching during going through high bump.
I am still using 13" stock steel rim . So car maybe a bit low.

The problem now is the noise of my wheels going thru uneven road . The "grack grack" sound like roller coster. I had come across some sound insulation stuff from internet. Got any sound insulation to recommand? More best if can DIY.

My car is 1993 EE100 . 1.3 engine . Is the sound insulation not as good as AE101 ? A simple thing i notice is that my bonnet dun have the soft back colour foam.

ah soon u check all bushing and top mounting absorber. maybe it can solve ur problem. why ur engine sound noisy? is it like tappet sound. come to me i will help u solve ur problem.

How old are your tires? From where? It's also a big part when it comes to sounds..

ah soon u check all bushing and top mounting absorber. maybe it can solve ur problem. why ur engine sound noisy? is it like tappet sound. come to me i will help u solve ur problem.

Hi EDRA . I also suspect the absorber mounting. Thanks for your suggestion.
Where is your shop . Maybe during weekend i can pay you a visit.
Really alot of AE101 sifu here.

How old are your tires? From where? It's also a big part when it comes to sounds..

The tayar is brigstone turanza. Its about one year old. I always maintain the air pressure of the tayar but the grack grack sound still persist.