Aerodynamics - carnard

i do tries a few type of canards b4... all i can says, less than 140kph, useless...
wanna know which 1 more better... stay tuned..

ur experience in the experiments would be a great guide i believe. hope that u'll let us know where to get the canard that u'd vouch to be the best for u, coz i seriously would like to try it too.

1st at all, just make sure in which speed u need the downforce most b4 u carry on... this is learn from Jap forum. as for drift car & short course time attacking, the diffuser will be a little bit similar coz the vehicle move at low & mid speed most. if for highway top speed or huge track which u only needs the downforce when 160kph over & will withstand the downforce over 60kg at 240kph+, the canards will be difren from the others.
just clarify wat u wan b4 put it on. if u looking for multi task 1, just get those adjustable 1...

Jin - im looking for those low to mid speeds....max also bout 140km/h...
what type shud i get??

ur info seems very very helpful so others wont get the wrong type of cannards...

for 140kph 1, mayb u can try this type:the upper 1...http://www.elitepro1.com/images%2Fproducts%2Fproductimages%2Fcwest%2Fskyline%2Dgtr%2Dbnr34%2FFRONT%20CANARD%20II%2Ejpg
cos got some turbulence effect that will get better downforce.

or this oso similar design 1:
http://images.superstreetonline.com/images/sstp_0805_05_z+2008_subaru_impreza_sti+cf_canard.jpg

just ned to make sure the angle of the canards only. make it 110-130 degrees.

correct me if i'm wrong. thanks.:adore::adore::adore:

Thanx for the infos and visuals jin bro.
on the angles, at 1st i was just thinking to follow the rear spoiler's 45 degrees, making it around 135 degrees. but, after reading ur info and reconsidering the routes that it will be most needed - the Gombak - Karak, which will only get to mid speeds most of the time, and also the car's height which is at the standard stock spring height, i think the 110 degrees will be my 1st try.

and, if u dont mind, on the canards itself, would u recommend me a shop to get it fm please?

Thanx again.

Thanx for the infos and visuals jin bro.
on the angles, at 1st i was just thinking to follow the rear spoiler's 45 degrees, making it around 135 degrees. but, after reading ur info and reconsidering the routes that it will be most needed - the Gombak - Karak, which will only get to mid speeds most of the time, and also the car's height which is at the standard stock spring height, i think the 110 degrees will be my 1st try.

and, if u dont mind, on the canards itself, would u recommend me a shop to get it fm please?

Thanx again.

u can get at any accessories shop around KL & klang valley. most of them selling as same as pic no.2.
just make sure u tightening the under bumper to chassis as well. after install, the bumper shall not flex, if not... the effect will cut at half...

hmm...so i gotta find a cannard that starts at the front of the bumper and look as though its a spoon to scoop the air at that speeds right?

GUYS for me i think u guys are so naive, those gt cars have been tested hours and hours in wind tunnel, the change the angle slightly so that theres more smooth airflow and downforce. do u really think that u guys can just pick up those aero kit(exe gt wing,carnard,diffuser) from brothers or redzone then claim that it added downforce to ur car?

Even r3 or local racer from mss dont use those carnard or massive gt wings, because they know that if there's is a slight mistake it will ruined the car overall perfomance u guys cant compare to jap or euro gt or race car, they hav their own wind tunnel in their country so their designed hav been approved.each car have to be individually tested in wind tunnel b4 they really know that designed really work.

Then wut for do they hav to spent millions on r&d if they can just buy those aero kit from any car shop? and then road test it "ok 36mm down more downforce that just bull**" If there's a wind tunnel facilities in malaysia, den u can probably do those things. even gt wings u get from those car shop are for me just a con and only for display, except if u got those kit from an authorized and certified tuner exe:Hamann, jcw, or nismo, Those that came out wif their own aero kit that actually been tested in wind tunnel and certified.

So dont be fool with those are kit, they are just for display buat ur car more stylo thats all,if u want to mod ur car wif all those carnard or aero kit, its fine but claiming it actually effect ur downforce errmm u guys better think again.

Silap2 those carnard and gt wing terbang dulu haha. Sorry for the harsh word *peace

if it helps even for 0.5% also still better than not contributing that 0.5% right? just need to angle right from Jin's expertise..IMO:driver:

come..heres the caculation for downforcing

The formula for downforce is given by:
9891ea6948ce359a4fe4c338d6b37a95.png
Where:

GUYS for me i think u guys are so naive, those gt cars have been tested hours and hours in wind tunnel, the change the angle slightly so that theres more smooth airflow and downforce. do u really think that u guys can just pick up those aero kit(exe gt wing,carnard,diffuser) from brothers or redzone then claim that it added downforce to ur car?

Even r3 or local racer from mss dont use those carnard or massive gt wings, because they know that if there's is a slight mistake it will ruined the car overall perfomance u guys cant compare to jap or euro gt or race car, they hav their own wind tunnel in their country so their designed hav been approved.each car have to be individually tested in wind tunnel b4 they really know that designed really work.

Then wut for do they hav to spent millions on r&d if they can just buy those aero kit from any car shop? and then road test it "ok 36mm down more downforce that just bull**" If there's a wind tunnel facilities in malaysia, den u can probably do those things. even gt wings u get from those car shop are for me just a con and only for display, except if u got those kit from an authorized and certified tuner exe:Hamann, jcw, or nismo, Those that came out wif their own aero kit that actually been tested in wind tunnel and certified.

So dont be fool with those are kit, they are just for display buat ur car more stylo thats all,if u want to mod ur car wif all those carnard or aero kit, its fine but claiming it actually effect ur downforce errmm u guys better think again.

Silap2 those carnard and gt wing terbang dulu haha. Sorry for the harsh word *peace

kids......

if it helps even for 0.5% also still better than not contributing that 0.5% right? just need to angle right from Jin's expertise..IMO:driver:

yup... got 1 out of 100 better than none...

:hmmmm:
kids......

yup... got 1 out of 100 better than none...

AGREED with both comments bro JINEIL2EN....
To 'person' which make that comment....Please dont be so close minded la.....
dun compare with those fella yg so big shot have millions in pocket to do R&D....
if we can't do million bucks testing...is it we can't do anything to improve? hmmmmmm....wrong..
even we can do in our own way which "pocket" frenly and not to forget....IT WORKS!....
Ok,all actually in the same concept... same goes to engine performance....from what i know...you want to gain a little 2hp oso need some effort and not easy come out....so to me ...no harm trying maaa....even if the canards/gt wing will/might be contribute 0.1%..still...and improvement than 0%...right.....heheheheheh....:driver:

Eh bro JINEIL2EN...where la our Boyzone?:confused:...huwahhh after holiday...hilang meh?:hmmmm:

maybe u can read here to have more info.

this 1 vortex generators
http://www.autospeed.com/A_3058/cms/article.html - part1
http://www.autospeed.com/A_3059/cms/article.html - part2
http://www.autospeed.com/A_3060/cms/article.html - part3
http://www.autospeed.com/cms/A_3061/article.html?popularArticle - part4

car aerodynamics
http://www.autospeed.com/cms/A_109778/article.html?popularArticle

if not mistaken got also about cannard n diffuser. but seems i cant find it in there.
must be somewhere in there tech section.

:hmmmm:

AGREED with both comments bro JINEIL2EN....
To 'person' which make that comment....Please dont be so close minded la.....
dun compare with those fella yg so big shot have millions in pocket to do R&D....
if we can't do million bucks testing...is it we can't do anything to improve? hmmmmmm....wrong..
even we can do in our own way which "pocket" frenly and not to forget....IT WORKS!....
Ok,all actually in the same concept... same goes to engine performance....from what i know...you want to gain a little 2hp oso need some effort and not easy come out....so to me ...no harm trying maaa....even if the canards/gt wing will/might be contribute 0.1%..still...and improvement than 0%...right.....heheheheheh....:driver:

Eh bro JINEIL2EN...where la our Boyzone?:confused:...huwahhh after holiday...hilang meh?:hmmmm:

well says bro....
mayb that fella didn't understand our Malaysia Culture that lead us to Boleh-ness...
Professional do the R&D, we 'take' their R&D result & improve by our own-selves...
very simple theory, even put a cardboard act like canard, it oso can produce downforce, even without R&D...
mayb he shld put his hand out of car when he driving 100kph & above... even a bare hand oso can feel the press... ehehehehe...

u looking for Boyzone ar..?? mayb busy with World Tour kua... ehhehe...

now u sound like u kutuk toyota prius...haha

"when u put ur hand out of the car, you will turn..." Achmed The Dead Terrorist =P

u youtube la... Jeff Dunham - Ahmed the dead terrorist...then u get wat i mean,its an old video

I am using a replica carnard from Japan Top Secret design, I bought it for RM150 with installation.
Material is very very thick and hard fiber and been using it for 6months.

Personal experience is at speeds about 150kmh onwards, u can feel the downforce, steering more firmer n tyres stick to the ground.

And the aerodynamics ? Yes, after using it for such a long time, there are alot of wind-flow scratches on the bumper where my carnards is mounted. Alot of tiny cracked paint surface of the air-flow pattern.

But I must admit, carnards are ugly and they do not works below 150kmh (for my experience). Thinking to sell it off to make my car more civilized.

(If interested can gimme a call, to buy my carnards, Im selling it off for RM80 Nego)

My 2cents

Bump: I am using a replica carnard from Japan Top Secret design, I bought it for RM150 with installation.

Personal experience is at speeds about 150kmh onwards, u can feel the downforce, steering more firmer n tyres stick to the ground.

And the aerodynamics ? Yes, after using it for such a long time, there are alot of wind-flow scratches on the bumper where my carnards is mounted. Alot of tiny cracked paint surface of the air-flow pattern.

But I must admit, carnards are ugly and they do not works below 150kmh (for my experience). Thinking to sell it off to make my car more civilized.

(If interested can gimme a call, to buy my carnards, Im selling it off for RM80 Nego)

My 2cents

I am using a replica carnard from Japan Top Secret design, I bought it for RM150 with installation.

My 2cents

Bump: I am using a replica carnard from Japan Top Secret design, I bought it for RM150 with installation.

My 2cents

great to heard that bro... great statement...:wavey::wavey::wavey:

thank you, I always voice out when I sees a neccesity to do so, coz alot ppl simply comments without knowledge (annoying)

Bump: thank you, I always voice out when I sees a neccesity to do so, coz alot ppl simply comments without knowledge (annoying)