About high cams

i prefer type r for road use...last time using toda c the vtec sound like the vtec no open..for my i will using jun3.hehe..the sound very loud when vtec open

HEHE..
last time i used the 20b with jun3 cams..
idling ok.. revvin just about 8.5k only...
somehow my brother manage to break my engine...

now, i still install the 20b engine
with new 84 h/comp pistons + skunk2 cam...
one of my mech said, my engine has 12.7 compression..
i didn't know much about the compression...

all i know, very2 shiok.. hehe...

HEHE..
last time i used the 20b with jun3 cams..
idling ok.. revvin just about 8.5k only...
somehow my brother manage to break my engine...

now, i still install the 20b engine
with new 84 h/comp pistons + skunk2 cam...
one of my mech said, my engine has 12.7 compression..
i didn't know much about the compression...

all i know, very2 shiok.. hehe...

can share ur dyno result?

ermm..have some questions here...
let say b18cr standard internal wanna put in jun3 inside, what the others
thingy we have to change?? to make it reliable .....

Dunno about you guys, but the cam makers are really going overboard with their claims about cams being able to 'cover' compression ranges from 10.5 - 13.5

Sure, you could, but that would also mean NOT FOLLOWING their cam degree specifications on the cam sheet.

Heck, if cams were that great that it can be used on a wide range of engines, then why did they bother with stage 1/2/3 rating?

sounds a little like utter marketing BS to me.

If talking about cams, I think it's time the cam marketeers drop the advertised duration comparison and start talking about the actual durations at 1mm, or .050" like the US manufacturers are starting to use.

Of course, that wouldn't happen, because people would realize that those 'high' duration cams are just mild cams with a very mild (not aggresive) ramp angle.

There's a reason why 'roller-cams' exist, and it's due to the fact that real, crazy high duration cams would kill your timing belt in no time, and that's why they came up with roller cams for the B-series.

about the duration, it just a matter of number... for those who understand shud be ok...
maybe for marketing purpose, those japanese cam not using @1mm duration coz the number will be lower.

about the duration, it just a matter of number... for those who understand shud be ok...
maybe for marketing purpose, those japanese cam not using @1mm duration coz the number will be lower.

actually both numbers are useful, if high advertised duration, but actual duration lower, then the ramp angle is less severe, and more friendlier to standard timing belts.

if advertised duration and actual duration is very close, then the ramp angle is severe, and it's better to use strengthened timing belts.

They can't reveal actual ramp angle because of the shape of the ramp angle is slightly different due to the actual shape of the lobes.

can share ur dyno result?

i haven't dyno yet.. as my mech want to install the hondata....
so from now i ikat perut skit ......
as long as i get the hondata... n the tune is well...
i will post the dyno chart...
gimme 1 month ar... hehe

bro is this hondata a separate ECU or chip or what? Forgive my ignorance :confused:

not big project ar... for street use.. from office to my house oni...
hehe...

pardypeople, i might say it separate from ecu.. i'll ask my superior mech...

Just bought BC stage3 cams. I need some advise from shifu here. Need how much compression to push this cam? The spec come from BC was not written.

b4 this Hv Racing... but now i go for my fren from danau kota...
although it's very costly but it satisfied....
hehe...

gimme 1 month ar... hehe
Bro...what do you run on when you use the jun3 cams?? Chipped ecu with Vafc?? How much will the hondata cost you? I've yet to install the jun 3 cams and still thinking on what ecu to run with it. :hmmmm: