FC discussion/troubleshoot

fobs

since i got the car (f20b dohc vtec tiptronic) since one and half years ago, been getting fc of 10km/litre,...
until a couple of months ago,...

fc went to 8 or 8.5km/litre, gosh!

found out that one of the stud at the extractor connected to exhaust broken,... so exhaust gas leaked, thus o2 co2 readings to the sensor screwed up,... got that rectified, fc back to normal,...

for a two or three tanks only :banghead: :banghead: :banghead: ,...
then the problem surfaced up again,...

obdII diagnose show everything normal now, and exhaust also no leak,...
possible causes according to info i gathered :-

i) exhaust somewhere tersumbat
ii) cat convertor konking,... clocked almost 180k kms
iii) iridium plugs konk??? (denso ik20L,.. now 10k kms now, can konk kah?)
iv) nology plug cable konk???
v) valves need to be adjusted, some tappet sound a bit over average noise
vi) vafcII settings??? i didnt adjust anything ahhh,...
vii) gbox konking???

any otai/sifu care to gv comment?? :adore: :adore: :adore:

try valve adjustment, I didn't do mine yearly and whacked out one valve (the valve angle was convex already), causing a valve leak, which led me to changing to s2 flat valves

There was excessive clacking noise, which led me to think it was the LMAs, so I changed mine, but installing the said LMA on another head worked out fine, so guess the noise was the tappets, rather than LMA.

Well, since you eliminated most, guess the easiest way is to start with the easiest things to check, like plugs, compression, etc, till to the more 'expensive' options of troubleshooting.

Good luck bro.

thanx shiro,

i'll look underneath at the exhaust tnite,... gonna lepak at shop coz i cant do it myself, head also cant get under the car, lowered kawkaw.

my so called sifu said ask me to remove the catcon (replace with center bullet, or equivalent) and put the red wire to ground,... (???)

this car is tiptronic aka auto,... what is the best setup if i maintain the oem CL1 exhaust with oem cf4 extractor? i dont even know the size of piping,... someone said 2.0 inch,... huhuhuuuu!!!

tappet or valve adjustment never done before, eversince i bought the car,... must be super loosen also,... so i'll get it done this few days.

aja ask me to plant h-2-2-a-R, kawtim,... :banghead::banghead:

remove the cat con will be better since we are not tide up with any eviro issue witout it..restriction, clocked with carbon i guess..
wat about ur injectors...try filling the v power or a good injector cleaner.. spraying patern of the injectors plays a role too..
iridium wont die very fast...and if the ignition is giving u problem u will realize it with a slugish motor or performance..
other than that as shiro said it cud be the valve adjustment, compression etc...
ur euro r size shud be 2.3 inch...

shiro...running wit ur new setup dy....? two heads??

remove the cat con will be better since we are not tide up with any eviro issue witout it..restriction, clocked with carbon i guess..
wat about ur injectors...try filling the v power or a good injector cleaner.. spraying patern of the injectors plays a role too..
iridium wont die very fast...and if the ignition is giving u problem u will realize it with a slugish motor or performance..
other than that as shiro said it cud be the valve adjustment, compression etc...
ur euro r size shud be 2.3 inch...

shiro...running wit ur new setup dy....? two heads??

tx abg maharajagelap

no sluggish anywhere,... feels the same,... lenjan kawkaw also same,...
only the FC not same!!!

i chked,...
cf4 SiR 1.75" without center box, and with single muffler
the euro-R 2.0" with additional center box, and with twin mufflers

i swapped in the latter abt more than half year ago,... no prob all the while,... until this FC prob.

extractor maintained, catcon maintained.

already filled and used up 1tank+ of Vpower,... now back to fulltank of RON92,... stupid f20b i recall one of the gang mmbers mention that the spec says require RON99 actually,...

the only prob to troubleshoot is i'm unable to DIY jacking and looking underneath to chk the exhaust (actually living in highrise, ah, not that convienient also). Not driving the cf4 now, back home afterwork all kedai sudah tutup, maybe tnite will go neighbouring town kedai tayar to lepak and jack-up car to see underneath. I really really suspect the exhaust bocor somewhere!!!

i'm gonna pluck out the injectors from the halfcut i'm keeping, clean it, swap it in,...

happy 10th birthday!!!

tx abg maharajagelap

no sluggish anywhere,... feels the same,... lenjan kawkaw also same,...
only the FC not same!!!

i chked,...
cf4 SiR 1.75" without center box, and with single muffler
the euro-R 2.0" with additional center box, and with twin mufflers

i swapped in the latter abt more than half year ago,... no prob all the while,... until this FC prob.

extractor maintained, catcon maintained.

already filled and used up 1tank+ of Vpower,... now back to fulltank of RON92,... stupid f20b i recall one of the gang mmbers mention that the spec says require RON99 actually,...

the only prob to troubleshoot is i'm unable to DIY jacking and looking underneath to chk the exhaust (actually living in highrise, ah, not that convienient also). Not driving the cf4 now, back home afterwork all kedai sudah tutup, maybe tnite will go neighbouring town kedai tayar to lepak and jack-up car to see underneath. I really really suspect the exhaust bocor somewhere!!!
aiks....ur euro r got 2 muffler... it means that the two outlet dia. will be smaller than the one connected to the mid box....all R's are with the 2.3" or 58/60mm...:confused:

u pump RON92 not 97 kaa....? i doubt if high compression vtec motor is suitable wit the lower octane rating...even the tep R oso suppose to run on RON100 if im not mistaken...

aiks....ur euro r got 2 muffler... it means that the two outlet dia. will be smaller than the one connected to the mid box....all R's are with the 2.3" or 58/60mm...:confused:

u pump RON92 not 97 kaa....? i doubt if high compression vtec motor is suitable wit the lower octane rating...even the tep R oso suppose to run on RON100 if im not mistaken...

yup,... only branch out at the backside, abt the length of itz mufflers,...
the entire piping from after the catcon till the tip of the mufflers = 2.0",...
so meaning the back backside is 2.0 x2,..??? i also pening

before the catcon i dunno, stock cf4 SiR is 1.75, so i suppose itz 1.75",...

mmm,... i'm getting confused with type of petrol,...
say shell,...
the regular dull red handle is ron88, the green is ron92, the bright red ron97 vpower, rite???

all of us selalu pakai the green one,...
coz last time 1.92 vs 2.15,... we tot itz a lot,...
now 2.70 vs 3.15!!! lagi teruk lot lot lot!!!

anyway,... i think f20b dohc vtec calls for ron100 also,...
takpalah,... bukan mau pi drag or track,... daily lenjan drive only,... knock knocking until the knock sensor konk, then change knock sensor,...

2.0",... stock euro-r mahhh,... kalau modded euro-r all got muuggeen, hks, tanabe, doghouse, etc liao,...

anyway, me going to kereta shop in a while,... i'll take a pic of what is under the car, once itz on the jack,...

la la la!!!

this is the view below,...
actually, from front,... extractor>flex piece>catcon>small tabung>big tabung>branch to two muffler

from front

P6250005.jpg

P6250007.jpg

from rear

P6250004.jpg

chked,... exhaust no leak
extractor no leak
manifold area no leak

pening.

maybe vafc causing problem?
might juz take out the catcon and do a vafc retune,...???

hattech bro,
wideband as in plugging in the exhaust sensor and road tune?

from wat info i got from sifu mat,
the vafc settings wont lari, but any other carbon build-up thru time, etc, will affect the sensors etc, thus affecting and bring down the econominality of the FC, while maintaining power.

and tokey faroq says he will do a afr retune on my vafc,
i'll go ditch my catcon first,...

can i go for this? since the cf4 is auto triptronic,...

P6250010.jpg

P6250009.jpg

hmmm,... how come got stains on the driver side of the car,... dark patches,... fuel leaking kah?

thanx shiro,

i'll look underneath at the exhaust tnite,... gonna lepak at shop coz i cant do it myself, head also cant get under the car, lowered kawkaw.

my so called sifu said ask me to remove the catcon (replace with center bullet, or equivalent) and put the red wire to ground,... (???)

this car is tiptronic aka auto,... what is the best setup if i maintain the oem CL1 exhaust with oem cf4 extractor? i dont even know the size of piping,... someone said 2.0 inch,... huhuhuuuu!!!

tappet or valve adjustment never done before, eversince i bought the car,... must be super loosen also,... so i'll get it done this few days.

aja ask me to plant h-2-2-a-R, kawtim,... :banghead::banghead:

Mine also lowered, though not kaw kaw, I cannot drive up most workshop's/tire shop incline without scraping the front bumper/lip, or in one shop my middle bullet, which hangs the lowest (it's the lowest point) underneath the chassis. :P

Fobs, your F20B already a H20AR mah :P.. why bother with the extra 0.2litres?

Furthermore F20B liners are nor FRM sleeves like H22A (or so according to HT), so a rebore is easier.

As for exhaust sizes, I think 2.25 is the common size for Accords, at least that seems to be the size for most of the aftermarket exhaust i've seen.

Kakimoto stainless exhaust taken off from an SV4 :P
DSC00001.jpg

The red wire to ground is most likely the wire responsible for detecting the cat-con, I think, since most OBD-II vehicles have some means of detecting the presence or if the cat-con needs replacement

EK OBD2 does it by having two narrowband O2 sensors. one before cat, and one after.

not much prannngggg pawah since itz a triptronic,... it itz an sir-t of course can rebore,...

anyway, when i take out the catcon, my kawan says plug the red wire to earth/body. Anyway,... the cf4 only have one sensor (b4 the catcon i think)

tmrow i plan to plug out the two harnesses of the vafcII,... and see what happens to the fc and power,... if i put my prev dynosheet as reference, i'll be throwing away abt 8 to 9 horses,... hmmm,...

i've seen that during the installation of the vafc, three wires were cut,... so if i disconnect the harnesses, what happen??? could the ecu function back as stock? i'll have to manually reset the ecu though,... juz disconnect the negative terminal for a while,...

my tokey tuner asking how come my vafc wide/narrow is set at 65-85,... he says itz supposed to be 10-50,... hmmmmm,... i dunno in detail what that means,...

sigggggggggghhhh,...

shiro,... long time edi the kakimoto ezoz,... no takers yet???
later i help u repost in myhavoc,... many sv4 kaki there,...

it wont fit the cf4/cl1,... unless some rectification is done,...
hmmm,... i kinda like my twin tailpipes

my car also can clear those shop inclined slabs,...
can clear genting 1st world hotel carpark,... but not advisable!

i dont dare to go into basement or multi-level parkings,... unless no choice.
and also,... the penang ferry!!!

sorry if i'm out of topic....wanna ask if b16a manual FC is it better than b16a auto tranny? if yes..by how many margin...wanna swap an engine...thanks!

Mine also lowered, though not kaw kaw, I cannot drive up most workshop's/tire shop incline without scraping the front bumper/lip, or in one shop my middle bullet, which hangs the lowest (it's the lowest point) underneath the chassis. :P

Fobs, your F20B already a H20AR mah :P.. why bother with the extra 0.2litres?

Furthermore F20B liners are nor FRM sleeves like H22A (or so according to HT), so a rebore is easier.

As for exhaust sizes, I think 2.25 is the common size for Accords, at least that seems to be the size for most of the aftermarket exhaust i've seen.

Kakimoto stainless exhaust taken off from an SV4 :P
DSC00001.jpg

The red wire to ground is most likely the wire responsible for detecting the cat-con, I think, since most OBD-II vehicles have some means of detecting the presence or if the cat-con needs replacement

EK OBD2 does it by having two narrowband O2 sensors. one before cat, and one after.

2.25 for a 2.2 litre/200hp crank....sounds sufficient but isnt it will be better flow with a 2.5" (max)? most of b16's also on 2.5"....

shiroi...how much 4 the kakimoto...? catback kakimoto???

no money and no time to custom an exhaust,...

mine auto broz,... stock onli 1.75,...
if put big big 2.3 lah, 2.5 lah,... later pancit,...

ditching my catcon later tnite,...

how abt putting this???

P6250001.jpg

P6250002.jpg

itz a straight,... my other fren's cf4 SiR put already and running the same exhaust as mine (stock euro-r) works fine for him,... fc good, power good,...

anyway, i tried to pull off the vafc harness,... cant,... CEL lite up,... coz three wires kena potong during installation,...

juz reconnect and leave it and after the catcon removal,... do a retune, either AF road tuning or dyno,... hmmm,...