ComplaintsMiniNews

Own A 2008 Cooper S? Watch The Exhaust Tip – It Burns

mini_cooper1

Several automotive websites are reporting that the American National Highway and Traffic Safety Administration or NHTSA (a more efficient version of our local JPJ) has found that the dual tailpipes of the 2007-2008 MINI Cooper S protrude too far out and have caused several burn marks on owner’s shins.

r56-mini-s-24_580op

According to the NHTSA, the problem currently affects some 28,450 Cooper S models but BMW is stepping up to address the issue by offering owners a new, shorter exhaust, free of charge. So far this problem is contained to the American models only and we will have to wait and see if the problem affects local owners as well but whatever the case, keep your shins away from the exhaust tips to avoid being tattooed by your own car.

leg_burned_by_stock_mcs_exhaust_250op

Source: AutoBlog

R
  • R
    red mini
  • Dec 26, 2008
i got once tatooed by a suzuki vs125 scooter exhaust garnish....the chrome bit.. ouch.. left a scar that lasted a decade haha
S
  • S
    sprinter
  • Dec 26, 2008
ouch..it hurts man ~
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Dec 26, 2008
hmm...nice leg.....
E
  • E
    ephique74
  • Dec 26, 2008
man's leg la skazareth. lol. XD
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Dec 28, 2008
whu the hell wanna stand so near to the exhaust man!??...car exhaust hide so inside also kena burn..wait till they ride a bike
P
  • P
    PocketRocket
  • Dec 29, 2008
somebody just wanna be famous...coming out with all these nonsense....ferrari exhaust also like that la...
L
  • L
    links
  • Dec 29, 2008
The photo on the top is a R53 cooper s but the one having issue is R56......

my R53 cooper s is using stock exhaust but it never burns me when i taking things from the booth...
B
  • B
    Basil Basil
  • Dec 29, 2008
hmmmm smart for2 brabus too will burn if u touch it.....................
R53 and R56.. How do you tell the difference?? Besides the size and maybe some design tweaks here and there.. They all look the same to me..
L
  • L
    links
  • Dec 30, 2008
R56 has longer front and the lights are different, the back of R56 is also different to R53.And i thin R56 looks taller than R53.

but i still prefer R53 more...
A
  • A
    A1diablo
  • Dec 30, 2008
Bicycle would be the easier mode of transport for Americans. It would also compensate for their preference for gas guzzling SUV and pick ups.
E
  • E
    eric
  • Sep 9, 2010
They should also outlaw ALL motorcycle exhausts as you can easily burn yourself on those.
E