ArticlesGadgets / LifestyleVideos

Dash Cams – Is It Necessary in Malaysia?

There was a time where the GPS was not around, and the maps and signboards were the only way to tell whether you are on the right track, or totally lost. And since it is now available to be fitted in vehicles, getting around in town and even at new places has never been that easy. And that goes the same as dash cams.

Since the introduction of this small in-car mounted digital video recorder, the internet has been filled with a lot of amazing footages of both amazing escapes and horrific accidents. And one of the countries that are really obsessed in fitting this gadget onto their vehicle is Russia. It is understandable as they are facing a harsh driving condition due to the harsh climate which leads to quite a lot of traffic incidents. The only effective way in proving that one is innocent or how the accident really happened is through the recording of this helpful gadget.

And with a concrete prove through the recording, it will save a lot of time as it shows exactly what happened in that certain mishap. Like the Rochor Road 599 GTO and Lexus crash for example, where the on-board cam provides valuable evidence in showing that they had went through the red light. If the recordings were not available, the investigation could have taken days or probably weeks just to determine the real cause of the accident.

So with the potential and the affordable price of this camera (a quick search at Lelong.com.my shows that one sells for RM330) is this gadget going to be another necessity for drivers here in Malaysia? It might not be as helpful as the GPS, but it will come in handy when the time comes. Like through this recording, we now have a clear picture of how robbers on motorcycles operate on a victim’s car while the traffic is standstill, and take the necessary measures to avoid it from happening to ourselves, or our loved ones.

Source:

http://jalopnik.com/5918159/why-russians-are-obsessed-with-dash+cams

Migrated comments from old platform:

The Following 5 Users Liked d4rk For This Useful Post:
Civic Type R (06-18-2012), D7zul (06-20-2012), Izso (06-16-2012), mcliong1 (06-17-2012), Supra_Fanatics (06-21-2012)
Old 06-15-2012, 06:26 PM
700bhp Member
I think dash cam is getting more important nowadays. We’ll never know when we would need it. For example when someone reverses her car and bumps your bumper. She can say that you rear ended her car and suddenly you are at fault. This is when the dash cam becomes very useful to prove your innocence. The ability to record accidents happening or snatch thief at work is another bonus.
The Following 3 Users Liked g4i8y0t For This Useful Post:
choco (06-17-2012), D7zul (06-20-2012), Izso (06-16-2012)
Old 06-15-2012, 06:37 PM
good to have one…..

it’s a question of affordability.

At one time, reverse sensor used to be an item of luxury, but now a common item in cars. Same goes to car alarm sys.

Old 06-15-2012, 07:23 PM
From Facebook
oh no… no more swerving in and out traffic
Old 06-15-2012, 07:45 PM
No amount of dash cams will solve the fact that the law enforcement is still just a joke..
The Following 4 Users Liked ExceL For This Useful Post:
et_box (06-17-2012), K_C (06-18-2012), wirahybrid (06-22-2012), wkwoo69 (06-16-2012)
Old 06-15-2012, 08:28 PM
150bhp Tuned Member
its not a bad thing to have this in our car.

at least *touch wood* if something happen, it can let u know the truth.
a solid evidence in the court

Old 06-15-2012, 10:21 PM
600bhp Member
police patrol car should be the first to install this…seeing how much they love to take coffee money…
The Following 5 Users Liked bera For This Useful Post:
D7zul (06-20-2012), et_box (06-17-2012), khencana (06-16-2012), neohadri (06-16-2012), Sea Dragon (06-21-2012)
Old 06-16-2012, 12:36 AM
200bhp Stage II Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by bera View Post
police patrol car should be the first to install this…seeing how much they love to take coffee money…

coffee money LOL….

Old 06-16-2012, 07:30 AM
5bhp Stock
Useless in Msia. So what can the police do if we provide them the video? Hmm.. Dont need video also can, give cash enough. LOL
Old 06-16-2012, 06:00 PM
2000bhp Senior
I think it is not absolutely necessary but good to have one nowadays. And the price of RM330 is not too far of reach either. I would say a hyper cheap alternative compared to HKS track camcorder. Can use to record your drive on track some more.

That poor guy in the video is game over without anymore credits left man…

Old 06-18-2012, 04:21 AM
From my experience, if the police car make you pull over and he stop his car in front of your car, the chances of escape by ‘duit kopi’ is 100% but if they park behind your car, no excuse just ‘sign’ the paper..
Old 06-22-2012, 07:57 AM
when buying a dash cam, make sure can continuous recording. Many in the market just let you recording for 5-10 minutes and automatic stop.

Dash Cam is a need as more and more cars on the road. Cars are not the thing to be blamed but idiot drivers are. A lot of cases where people straight come out from a T junction without stopping and look at left/right and also those drivers who potong Q and suddenly cucuk in. Perhaps, motorbikes should have 1 too.

I would like to see people posting video of road hogger

Old 06-25-2012, 10:17 AM
400bhp Turbo Member
No arguement about it lae, ofcourse we should have. We dont live in a world of honesty. Need evidence
Old 06-29-2012, 04:31 PM
We can see very high percentage of drivers:-
1. turning without the signal
2. potong ‘Q’ or use emergency lane
and those may cause incident to others
D
  • D
    David Wong
  • Aug 24, 2018
Very subjective. Please forgive us for a lengthy story.
About 2 days back with a response from , he met an accident in wee hour in the toll booth where the car reversed back and hit his car. At first, the driver claims my friend is wrong and willingly to go to the Police Station. When my fried approach the PLUS toll booth to ask for the procedure to secure the CCTV footage, the accuser overheard and changed his mind.
With no other choice he goes to make a Police report.....so on and so on and couple of days later the Police call and inform my friend the other person refuse to show and the Police ask him to settle privately......end of story.
The effect of this is we are not able to claim our insurance company without Police report since been told to "settle privately". So, with dash cam installed in our car and if this happen what you can do. If all Police Department do the same, then we do not need a dash cam, in other words Dash Cam serve no purposes except posting the video of arrogant, unruly traffic user for either good intent or pure public shaming. So, why I should installed one where it does not help?
Don't get me wrong. I do have 4 cams in my car. Repeat 2 sets of BlackVue Dual Cam Model DR750S-2CH IR. Front, Rear, Internal & side (both C-pillars). Mine is for my own protection especially my car usually parked for 6 hour a day. Having a dash cam and with Parking mode and parking in a public car park helps a lot to yourself and the cars around you. If you see a car with dash cam, pray it has Parking Mode features and on, parked in front of that car.
Summary: Have it when you need it instead of need it when you have it. Grab a dash cam.
D