NewsVolkswagen

More Pictures of The Most Powerful Golf Ever Made – The VW Golf R

Volkswagen first introduced it’s Golf R at last year’s Frankfurt Motor Show – the 270hp 2-liter turbo and all-wheel-drive hot hatch is currently the most powerful and fastest series production Golf ever made. We have already brought you all the finer details of the Golf R and Scirocco R last year but now we have more pictures as VW has release new pictures shot during the international driving presentation in Ellmau, Austria.

Volkswagen Golf R (11)Volkswagen Golf R (8)Volkswagen Golf R (19)Volkswagen Golf R (2)Volkswagen Golf R (29)Volkswagen Golf R (10)

Just a little recap – the Golf R does the century sprint in 5.7 seconds when equipped with a manual gearbox and 5.5 seconds when mated to VW’s optional DSG dual clutch transmission. With both transmissions, top speed is still limited to 250km/h. That’s going to be a handful for a car this size and weight, but it all lives up to the Golf’s fun hot-hatch background, so we’re not complaining, just eagerly awaiting.

Volkswagen Golf R (15)Volkswagen Golf R (21)Volkswagen Golf R (4)Volkswagen Golf R (30)Volkswagen Golf R (7)Volkswagen Golf R (28)

Source: CarScoop

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
S
  • S
    saripdol
  • Jan 26, 2010
*drool*
P
  • P
    pocketrocket
  • Jan 26, 2010
beautiful car...
G
  • G
    GTi
  • Jan 26, 2010
Damn! Really yummy stuff. The car just oozzes quality and looks rock solid! especially the interior!
H
Walao.I like this car alot.
Z
  • Z
    zeke
  • Jan 26, 2010
speechless....
N
  • N
    Netz
  • Jan 26, 2010
2010 WRX 2.5 STi will eat this car... compare hp and torque..
B
  • B
    BabyGodzillaGTi-R
  • Jan 27, 2010
Hope it still has the same spirit as the GTi-R....
Come to think of it... Hey Nissan bring back the GTi-R since the GTR has already been reincarnated.
C
  • C
    carlo
  • Jan 27, 2010
golf mk5 0-300 26 sec on the road.tuned by APR

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtO2dh8BCPA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwjKPGtMqWs&feature=related
C
Great car ;) Buying the white one for my babe today!
T
  • T
    tom
  • Jan 27, 2010
This isn't the most powerful golf ever made, what about the gti W12?

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/automotive-news/158168-650bhp-750nm-w12-in-a-golf-gti-mk5.html
G
  • G
    GTi
  • Jan 27, 2010
But the W12 never made it to production.
J
  • J
    jun
  • Jan 28, 2010
damn it, VW really knows how to make hatches look good. BMW, merc and audi need to learn something from them.
A
  • A
    adam
  • Jan 28, 2010
awesome..!

those who haven't, i suggest u guys should go to the dealer and test drive the standard GTI, even the mk5 is good enuff..

i promise that you'd be surprised. it's not about being super quick and fast, but it's about the refinement, the poise and making it the ultimate do-it-all car.. :)
A