FerrariNews

Successor To Ferrari Enzo Spied: Codename – FX70

fx705Yes its a 430 Scuderia, no its not a mistake. The Enzo successor, codenamed FX70 is lurking somewhere inside all that curvy 430 metal. The visual giveaways are apparent from the wide track, to the Murcielago styled center exhausts and onto the wider, surely more grippier tyres, possibly needed to manage all that extra horsepower.

fx70

The next generation Enzo will be powered by either one of two engines that Ferrari is currently working on; a twin-turbo V8 capable of roughly around 700hp and a twin-turbo V12 which could make 50 to 100hp more than the V8 unit. Despite the fact that proper supercars should be powered by twelve cylinder engines, Ferrari , in view of the global climate crisis, could fit its latest supercar with the V8 unit. Below is the photographer’s own experience on viewing and hearing the FX70:

fx703

“NO, this is not the Ferrari 430 Scuderia that Michael Schumacher crashed some weeks ago, that’s been badly repaired and got a re-paint. This 430 is a mule for the upcoming Enzo successor.

We can notice that the track is wider and the wheelbase is slightly longer. In the rear, the first thing that really caught our eyes is the massive Murcielago looking exhaust pipe in the middle. And the sound of this car is just great. The normal exhaust pipes from the Scruderia are just fake.

For the new “Enzo”, still called FX 70 internally, Ferrari is working on two different engines alternatives. First one is a twin-turbo V8 producing about 700 horsepower, and second one is a twin-turbo V12 delivering some 50-100 horsepower more.

It’s a difficult choice, to keep the supercar status they should keep it a V12, but with the CO2 discussions and the popular downsizing the V8 twin-turbo could well be a good decision for Ferrari.

With more carbon fibre in both chassis and body, this will hopefully be a true lightweight super car.”

FX70(5)FX70(2)FX70FX70(3)FX70(1)FX70(4)

J
  • J
    jay_ek9
  • Sep 6, 2008
Sweet........
M
  • M
    monkeyDLuffy
  • Sep 7, 2008
i've seen this pics b4...but i read its a one off build for some rich guy by Pininfarina and not an enzo successor... cant find the place i read it though...i could be mistaken though
M
  • M
    monkeyDLuffy
  • Sep 7, 2008
sorry...it was here i read it...lol...different car then...ignore previous comment...
P
  • P
    pandaB
  • Sep 7, 2008
the last turbo ferrari as i remembered is the F40...hehehhe...
S
  • S
    skazareth
  • Sep 7, 2008
turbos...come and go and come and go....
E
  • E
    egb18c
  • Sep 8, 2008
turbo in a ferrari.its like foooooo.even when its a NA,its a fooooo oso.wut crap m i talkin here?lol
E
  • E
    esw
  • Sep 8, 2008
the next enzo successor won't be so ganas like the previous enzo (F60) but i won't final comment until the real car is out in stores.
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Sep 9, 2008
Until they run out of ideas. The new F70 would probabaly look like a Caparo. hahaha.
L
  • L
    limpeh
  • Oct 26, 2008
Supercar supercar... Are they still relevant in these times of economic downturn?
L