ArticlesAuto EventsGT-RNewsNissanPorsche

Porsche Accuses Nissan of Cheating At Nurburgring

porsche-gtr-ringPorsche has accused Nissan of cheating in the GT-R’s record bid at the Nurburgring racetrack.

Porsche has just run its own back-to-back tests with the Japanese company’s GT-R supercar and says it could not get within 25 seconds of Nissan’s claimed record time of seven minutes 29 seconds in April.

It also found its 911 Turbo and GT2 were both quicker than the GT-R.

“This wonder car with 7:29 could not have been a regular series production car,” says August Achleitner, the 911 product chief for Porsche, speaking to the CARSguide at the Australian press preview of the latest 911 Cabrio.

“For us, it’s not clear how this time is possible. What we can imagine with this Nissan is they used other tyres.”

He believes the time achieved by Nissan with ex-Formula One driver Toshio Suzuki would only be possible with a semi-slick race-style tyre.

Achleitner says Porsche took a standard GT-R, running on regular road tyres, and ran it around the Nurburgring within two hours of its own cars, on the same day with exactly the same weather conditions.

He says there was no tweaking of any kind and the GT2 and Turbo both ran on regular Porsche road tyres, the Michelin Sport Cup.

“We bought the car in the US. We drove a GT-R with new tyres,” he says.

Achleitner was initially protective of the exact lap times, which were run during a program when Porsche also compared its upcoming four-door Panamera with a range of potential rivals.

But he eventually revealed his team clocked the GT-R at 7 minutes 54 seconds, with the 911 Turbo managing 7:38 and the GT2 getting down to 7:34.

The laps were not run by Porsche’s usual hot-lap specialist, former world rally champion and race winner Walter Rohrl, but one of the company’s chassis development engineers who is an expert on the Nurburgring.

Achleitner says the back-to-back comparison was run because Porsche was concerned by Nissan’s claims for the GT-R, which is heavier than the 911 with similar power.

“The Nissan is a good car. I don’t want to make anything bad with my words,” he says.

“It’s a very consistent car. But this car is about 20 kilos heavier than the Turbo . . .”

In the end, Porsche believes its testing has achieved the right lap times for the Skyline GT-R and benchmarked it against its own 911 heroes in the right context.

“For us it has been clearly the result. This technical puzzle now fits together. With the other numbers we had problems to understand it,” he says.

Article by Paul Gover of Carsguide.com

Thanks for the tip Adam

A
  • A
    advan
  • Oct 1, 2008
funny, the nissan skyline r33 ran a 8:01. I doubt the new gt-r would only be 7 seconds faster.
Q
  • Q
    qmk9133
  • Oct 1, 2008
awww.... come on posh! you can come with better excuses than that!
P
  • P
    pimpin323
  • Oct 1, 2008
smelly nissan playing dirty tricks like dat
Z
Waiting for Nissan to 'attack' Porsche back. Lol :P
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Oct 1, 2008
Wait till they see the V Spec which will blow their mind away..
A
  • A
    (ADVAN)
  • Oct 1, 2008
talk so much no use. each of them send 1 representative on the same day and using the stock car tyres. ie GTR-re070 & Posh-michelin...
i think this would be the best way to solve the arguement...
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Oct 1, 2008
I would say who cares? Put a GTR in touring car races with those GT2 and see the results. No need to put Nurburing in, which is not really a certified race track. The article makes Porsche sounds like a sore loser. And in fact some parties put up comparison videos like the ones ZTH featured some time ago.

But sometimes its better to put neutral driver which is not associated with either Porsche or Nissan to run on the ring agin.
S
  • S
    shah
  • Oct 1, 2008
Dont Care still want one
A
  • A
    alien
  • Oct 1, 2008
i say, porsche shouldnt have cared bout the nurburgring times. even if nissan really did 'cheat'. it wouldnt look too good for porsche being the one that points it out..
N
  • N
    nafiiio
  • Oct 1, 2008
No worry ... I buy both ...
S
  • S
    samiaz
  • Oct 1, 2008
To start with, GT2 is in a different league, it also cost a bomb. nissan only compare the GTR with 911 turbo, GT3 and GT3 RS. I'm an avid reader of car magazines such as evo uk,top gear uk and cars uk. They all have tested the GTR with either of GT3 or GT3 rs, at their own track with their own drivers. As expected, GTR trashed all of them. I can even prove wit the magazines that I got. The Fifth Gear tv show also put the GTR againts the GT3 and GTR clocked a faster time at their track and it was driven by aryton senna nephew. All of the test by these magazines and tv show definately uses GTR's standard tyre. So, what this porshe guy says is somehow unbelieveable. There must be something wrong. The Fifth Gear ahow says 'Believe the hype, GTR is that good'
F
  • F
    farizio
  • Oct 1, 2008
i agree with samiaz

don't tell me all those car magazine conspired with nissan and cheated on their tests? check out the GTR's lap time on the topgear track, it as one below the ARIEL ATOM!

plus toshio suzuki is an ex F1 driver, who knows the GTR inside out...and here is some engineer trying to beat his lap times. too many variables to mention

and check out autocars blog on youtube, chris harris tests the GTR against a 911 GT3 and even his personal car, an E92 M3 Coupe or Edmund's Inside Line test on the GTR

its a really consistent performer

all i can say to porsche is TAR PAU

hahahahaha!

ps. BNR 34 FTW!
M
  • M
    mike_lim12
  • Oct 2, 2008
scare asia technology leh....hahaha....tat y lot of excuss ...bravo gtr.......
R
  • R
    roy_fatboy
  • Oct 2, 2008
looosers..
R
  • R
    roy_fatboy
  • Oct 2, 2008
dont get me wrong.. i mean those porch guys..
P
  • P
    prozac
  • Oct 11, 2008
Porsche knows. It's very hard to sell "premium value" based on brand. Even the rich are tightening their belts nowadays. But their desire for ultimate speed is still there. The GTR fills this niche well.
G
  • G
    GuN
  • Oct 13, 2008
sore loser!
J
  • J
    jdm freak
  • Oct 31, 2008
i always taught them germans were good wit autos(im an avid jdm fan by the way), but reading bout tis tussle made me laugh a lot(at porsch). imagine the german dude speaking with a german accent “For uz, itsz s not clear how zis time iz poszible".haha .jackass........i say porsch, eat GTR dust!! cant wait to get one by te way.
J
  • J
    jdm freak
  • Oct 31, 2008
who da hell is pimpin323 anyway??
J