Auto EventsCar ShowsFeaturesFull Throttle

Full Throttle Ipoh – Cars, Girls And Rain

dsc_3511Malaysians love their cars, that’s why it’s one of the biggest markets in South East Asia, not only do we love cars, most of us have a fair knowledge of cars. That’s why when the occassional motorshow comes around, there’s always massive traffic jams to accompany it, that and a whole lot more. Sure we are a small country and that’s probably why the visitor count for our shows never hit six figures but it surely never feels that way.

dsc_3509

The sad thing about Malaysian motorshows is they are limited, not only in number but in depth, creativity and of course location. Only recently has there been shows entertaining people outside the state of Selangor, the most recent one being the first in the state of Perak, ‘Full Throttle’ provided a platform for Perakians to indulge in their motorsports passion albeit unforseen natural disasters. Torrential rain pounded the venue day after day bringing to a halt almost every program except for the drifting, naturally.

dsc_3933

The show was like every other show in Malaysia except that it had an indoor arena as well as the usual outdoor booths with cars parked eratically. The cars were some of the best the local tuners had to offer mainy Monster Garage and Zero4. The formers legendary Supra made and appearance and got the crowd all excited to the extent they were crowding around it taking pictures as if a Hollywood hot shot had suddenly decided Ipoh would be the best place to take a vacation. Zero4 provided great entertainment with their drift car.

dsc_3685

Talking about drifting, there was no lack of talent there as well. I say talent because the car’s they were drifting in looked as if they were going to fall apart at any minute and a flying tyre was inevitably going to shred someone to pieces but of course that didnt happen as there were plenty of oooh’s and aaah’s from the crowd as the drifters did their thing. It really took some courage to drift such cars on a drift track that had huge potholes right in the middle of the drift line, but no one seemed intimidated. See most of the drifters came from or had practised on the famed Dato Sagor track in Kampung Gajah, Perak so there were really no amateurs there.

dsc_3847

Besides the drifting, there was the breakdancing that ironically saved the day when the heavens opened up. Taking place at the Stadium Indra Mulia, breakdancers from as far away as Iraq and other countries kept the sheltering crowd entertained and then of course there was MC Slyde from Malaysian rock band Dragon Red, you can always count on him to keep people smiling. And then of course, there were the girls.

dsc_3778

They say the most beautiful girls in Malaysia come from Ipoh, they also say that if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all and that’s exactly what I’m going to do. Although the event could have been improved in certain aspects, it was fun and definately a good break for car fans of Perak. We met quite a number of ZTH fans there and cheers to them for visiting our booth, we’re glad we could offer some shelter from the rain. Check out the Full Throttle 2008 gallery by clicking on any of the thumbnails below.

dsc_3472

dsc_4083

dsc_3888

DSC_3515DSC_3524DSC_3493DSC_3900DSC_3971DSC_4100DSC_3764DSC_3801DSC_4066DSC_4215DSC_4055DSC_4219DSC_3806DSC_3714DSC_4186DSC_3479DSC_4059DSC_3489DSC_3836DSC_4089DSC_3476DSC_4156DSC_3452DSC_4164DSC_4168DSC_4034DSC_4053DSC_4011DSC_3490DSC_3701DSC_3692

D
  • D
    DLegend
  • Aug 27, 2008
Not much left on Sunday (the last day of the event)... the organizer already 'hilang' stim.... another example of poor management and lack of support... even the ZTH booth was empty at 1pm...

Poor 'auto'show.
M
  • M
    midship
  • Aug 27, 2008
Guess it never reached "Full Throttle" unlike the rain clouds?!?!?

1st or 2nd gear maybe???
I
  • I
    IsaacVky
  • Aug 27, 2008
No hope la malaysian motor show
L
  • L
    lonely driver
  • Aug 27, 2008
those minister says want to promote the auto industry with creativity on modded cars but went outside, stupid police and JPJ block your car and saman you when your car are heavily modded... stupid nation
T
  • T
    ToyotaRules
  • Aug 28, 2008
haha....ya is true..... heavy rain on sunday....hehe......really poor auto show that day...!!
S
  • S
    subaruimpreza81
  • Aug 28, 2008
bad organizer...
K
  • K
    ken yeang
  • Aug 28, 2008
I was dissapointed with the organizer for this event.

Bad, bad organizer....
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Aug 28, 2008
Must rent that cool nissan bulldozer to clear up my lawn.... hahaha
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Aug 29, 2008
The bulldozer was one of the unique cars there! There was a Waja there too which was slammed way down to the ground! I wonder how he did it, I think he adjusted his sus on site.

Yes yes really hilang stim on Sunday. The indoor was nothing to shout about. A F1 driving simulator by Philips Morris, which you have no control over the the car you are supposed to 'drive'; a Proton booth with a Persona; a Zap booth which attracted quite a crowd because the models were there; a Suzuki booth; a Meguirs booth; a Toyo tyres booth; and a few others.

The cars outside were quite limited. The only interesting thing outside was the Waja I mentioned earlier, the bulldozer, a mean looking Kenari and Mohawk had a PS3 which linked up all their cars and played the audio.

The drift track was a simple one. No hairpins, no switchbacks and so on.. Can't really call it a drift competition, it was more like a skid contest. What made it worst was false starts.

Girls? Pretty gals from Ipoh? Sure but not in this show... Hmmm.. RM15 gone done the drain...
B
  • B
    babyskyline
  • Aug 29, 2008
very poor autoshow...and the ticket waiha!..so expensive...RM15 for nothing...really i told u..NOTHING!!..fool throttle not full throttle
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Aug 29, 2008
I know the rain lay waste to all the hard work done for the show but it should not dampen the organiser's spirit to run the event at full throttle. What happened to all the cars on Sunday? From the photos, looks like there were a number of them. On Sunday there was only a handful left.

Owh.. One more thing.. The participation fees was quite high. It was RM250 per car right? To make things worse, no cash prize was offered.

Cars
Models
Breakdancing
MC Slyde
Dragon Red

What do all these tell you? Does it ring any bell?
R
  • R
    rusifiz
  • Aug 29, 2008
why does some of the images look like it photoshopped?

the supra side by side with the merc and some odd looking cars behind the yellow chain.. and the skyline and bmw on zth's booth looked surreal..
R
  • R
    rusifiz
  • Aug 29, 2008
gosh.. I checked out the pics available and I guess they are the real thing.. aren't they?
what color is that? (supra, merc and skyline)
i still find it hard to believe...
V
  • V
    vincent
  • Aug 30, 2008
The 'merc' there is actually a supra modded to look like a lexus sc430. Have you not heard of the colour flat black before? Flat colours seems to be getting more popular nowadays..
E
  • E
    esw
  • Aug 30, 2008
fuiyoh...that GTR with transformers style body kits damm cun siot...is that carbon fibre or plastic materials???
A
  • A
  • Aug 31, 2008
it's a fairly good first try.. Of course as any other event, it's not short of comments and criticisms.. let's keep it positive and constructive..

i personally think that the whole event itinerary was compact and sufficient, although not as big scale as what we are used to in Klang Valley.

Then again, with the feedback and visitors count that day, i'm sure the team at Full Throttle would improvise certain aspects for their future events..
J
  • J
    jay_ek9
  • Sep 1, 2008
hope it would be much better the next time around........
none of the pics here received the photoshop treatment.. what you see here is what happened on that day..
R
  • R
    rusifiz
  • Sep 2, 2008
I thought they were using satin black or something.. sure that it's just flat black?
maybe they are so clean that they look really nice on camera..
a supra modded to look that way.. nicely done...
    2 Old 2 Rusty
  • Sep 3, 2008
It's a con job by other name to make a quick buck, that's all. In the promotional leaflet, there were supposed to have a dyno shoot out or something but I didn't see no dyno. Did anyone ?
H
rn15.....not worth at all.....it seem like zero 4 is expending their network compare with party...people have to pay for visiting the same car in ipoh...we expecting the different but its not.
I am perpetually thought about this, appreciate it for posting .