alexlee

hi to all honda friend
i just wanna ask some question
i own a ef9 converted
so i plan to modified my gearbox

since my gearbox code is Y1 mean
come with 4.2 final drive n no lsd+ cable type

so i plan to modified it to lsd n 4.785 final drive

so i must find the cable type gearbox to match my car without modified the cluth from cable to hidraulik mean here is just got EF8/9 n integra DA6.
so here i must use integra DA6 gearbox mean the code is YS1 or S1 or J1 come with 4.4 final drive n cable type.

so my friend tell me to mix it up
1.use integra DA6 gearbox code YS1 come with cable can fit my car + 4.4 final drive so mean the gearbox housing 4.4 can fit the 4.785 final drive. if use back my stock Y1 gearbox come with 4.2 final drive canot fit 4.785
2. buy the integra type r DC2 final drive 4.785pluss counter shaft.
3. buy the ek9 lsd only mean b16b lsd only

so here is what i must buy n match
1.YS1 gearbox
2.integra dc2 type r final drive 4.785
3. type r lsd
just wanna ask is it match or anyone got done this b4.or is it not match just wanna make sure.
or got any suggestion to how mod my gearbox to 4.785 final drive pluss LSD.
anyone can help me on this
any ef sifu around here
i very apreciate if anyone can help me on this.
THANK.

wah.. sounds ambitious.. I can't hep because I'm not familiar with pre-EG stuff.

Good luck on your project though.

Bro have not done this before but frm wat i have learnt yeap u need a YS1 gearbox to fit in the 4.785 FD and Type R LSD.....

Your Y1 gbox I dont think can be modified to fit it in....S1 is with 4.4FD but no lsd...this one also cannot fit what u want...or else lots of us would have done it...

But I think you will need to ask ur mech who is familiar with the YS1 and check if it can be done 100%....

Heard that YS1 gbox is not easy to get...if u managed to locate it let us know where u got it from....

integramania said:
Bro have not done this before but frm wat i have learnt yeap u need a YS1 gearbox to fit in the 4.785 FD and Type R LSD.....

Your Y1 gbox I dont think can be modified to fit it in....S1 is with 4.4FD but no lsd...this one also cannot fit what u want...or else lots of us would have done it...

But I think you will need to ask ur mech who is familiar with the YS1 and check if it can be done 100%....

Heard that YS1 gbox is not easy to get...if u managed to locate it let us know where u got it from....

hi guy thank for your help
i very appreciate it
the gearbox i aready have but not yet put inside my car.
just scare if i buy the final drive n lsd canot fit inside the YS1 gearbox
that time i also keep it only canot use very wasted money. so that why wanna ask first b4 i buy the lsd n final drive. hehe
n do you guy know how much can cost
2nd 4.785 final drive.
2nd type r lsd.

Yeap bro u need YS1 gb to fit the FD..if u got only the gearing but intend to use the Y1 housing also can...but y 4.785? [email protected] not enuf meh? EF light only maa..

if u got only the gearing but intend to use the Y1 housing also can

Bro wil.....wat do u mean? wat gearing?

if it can be done inside an eg6 gearbox i would have recommend it. but then again to save cost and trouble an ek9 sould be the best for both helical lsd and 4.785 FD.

integramania said:
J101...i think that way lagi expensive and susah man

I saw a DA ys1 with lsd forsale in kedai potong for rm1600.

J101 said:
the so called DA6 XsI Integra gearbox that comes with a 4.4 is the DA8 "big vtec" which is the YS1, cable gearbox.

the simplest would be to get a EK9 gearbox with a 4.4 for start and start the messy cable to hydraulic conversion. yes a lot of money involve.

my old postings are here for your perusal :
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=118657

true also this is 1 of the way i can make it
buy ek9 gearbox then find 4.785 final drive fit in the gearbox finish done all
1.but the problem i must modified the cluth from cable to hidraulik
2. the gearbox mounting must modified also
3. the ek9 gearbox very expensive
4. i aready got the YS1 gearbox
this ios the reason i wan miix it up
anyway thank for your opinion very appreciate it
thank ya

wil_alastor said:
Yeap bro u need YS1 gb to fit the FD..if u got only the gearing but intend to use the Y1 housing also can...but y 4.785? [email protected] not enuf meh? EF light only maa..
hehe. true also ef very light.
4.4 aready enuf but i wan 4.785 for my rpm climb more fast. more torge. cost this car i no use it for top speed.i use it for autocross.n climb hill. i know 4.785 use in highway will makan minyak.thank for your oppinion

integramania said:
alexlee....where you bought the YS1 gbx and how much u got it for?
hi friend
i exchange it with my friend. my friend selling his integra DA6
so i exchange it for free. just the workmanship money nia.

the older model lsds are clutch type whereby the newer models for helicals lsds are gear type.

more infos can be found on the net.

have a good weekend.

alexlee said:
icic. but if sir lsd no good than type r lsd right
is it true

alexlee said:
hehe. true also ef very light.
4.4 aready enuf but i wan 4.785 for my rpm climb more fast. more torge. cost this car i no use it for top speed.i use it for autocross.n climb hill. i know 4.785 use in highway will makan minyak.thank for your oppinion

alex,
u do autocross?dun think i've seen any EF9 frm penang,except 4 d yellow EF whc is owned by HawkEye....n just 2 share w u,YES,4.785FD w Type R LSD can b fitter into d YS1 gearbox..i know of @ least 2 succesful cases...1 on a CRX n d other on a Turbo DA6(yes,yes,its dat old man,hehehhehe).....but how n how much i duno as i think d 4.4FD on an EF chasis is seriously good enuff.....i compared w my fren's EG6(stock EG6 gearbox w 4.785FD n Type R LSD)....both of us haf similiar lightweight flywheel.
in each gear,my rpm is slightly lower thn his=better fuel consumption,right?
w my 4.4FD,my top speed is definitely better thn his EG6,tested n proven on LPT(Ktn-KL)
in terms of pick,my rev also climbs much faster thn his...
so,my question again is,y wud u wana do a 4.785FD n Type R LSD into ur YS1 gbox?
d 4.4FD is food enuff..if u dun haf LSD,just go get 1...clutch type is good enuff....
FYI,i do autocross too..n i deem my gearbox is perfect 4 it......but its still ur money,ur time,ur choice....cheers

integramania,
yeah yeah..i got d YS1 gearbox....not telling u whr n how much i got it..yeak yeak yeak!!hhahahaha..dun kill me!

J101,
u can stop lurfing now...btw,haf u heard abt d MIVEC Wira frm kelantan dat killed a foreman's GSR Turbo like d GSR doesn't haf an engine?

integramania,
"not telling u whr n how much i got it"---->whc part of dis u dun understand?
knowing u.i tell u whr oso u won get ur ass off d ground n go look 4 it,right?der's nothg wrong..ur just being u...hehehhee