Type R Gearbox Syncro problem...Any advice?

zhaf_b16

Aug 9, 2006
i see. i think i'm going to try the cheapest way dulu lah. gbox flush + new redline oil. i hope by doing that i can at least make the crunching sound dissappear during normal driving.

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
FYI,d so-called BlueGel frm Red Line acts like a "mask"..it doesn't really SOLVE ur problem....coz,whn u suffer frm crunching during gear change(regardless hi/low rpm),der is sumthg WRONG w ur synchors oredy.......IF BlueGel can't help mask ur problem,thn u actually haf no choice but 2 open it up n replace wat is necessary n of course,while ur at it,do clean d whole gbox....

dis is sumthg like facial/make-up lar...if d skin too bad dy,u use wat mask or make up 2 mask it oso useless,right?so,kena buat surgery jugaks!hahahha

alwhitesat

Jan 6, 2009
it actually happened to me years back....mtf-3, motul pa90, redline were all useless at that time
only this one mechanic dare to changed my gb oil to 20W/50 mineral based engine oil and it works eversince.....

u can give it a try and it wont do any harm to your gb...

firstly, flush ur current gb oil and fill up with 20w/50 engine oil.....run for 3-4 days, flush, and fill up again...keep the routine every 5000 km

good luck!

ferio94eg9

Jul 12, 2007
it actually happened to me years back....mtf-3, motul pa90, redline were all useless at that time
only this one mechanic dare to changed my gb oil to 20W/50 mineral based engine oil and it works eversince.....

u can give it a try and it wont do any harm to your gb...

firstly, flush ur current gb oil and fill up with 20w/50 engine oil.....run for 3-4 days, flush, and fill up again...keep the routine every 5000 km

good luck!
urs got LSD?

ferio94eg9

Jul 12, 2007
Good question. Your gearbox is with LSD? Until now no problem at all?
currently, mine is LSD type R (Torsen LSD).... previously, on stock LSD (EG9)... I guess the LSD is ok but now having the crunching when shifting from 2-3 gear (only when high rev).... previously had replace the GB housing & the main shifter.... normal wear & tear i guess....

alwhitesat

Jan 6, 2009
urs got LSD?
as per title: Type R gearbox......why on earth would i respond to this thread if i'm not using lsd.....

Good question. Your gearbox is with LSD? Until now no problem at all?
no problem at all...in fact, few of my friends have given up on those aftermarket oil and switched to 20w/50......already tested in various situatuions, i.e: massive traffic jam, 450km non-stop hiway trip and so on.....already 3 years now....almost 50k km clocked

currently, mine is LSD type R (Torsen LSD).... previously, on stock LSD (EG9)... I guess the LSD is ok but now having the crunching when shifting from 2-3 gear (only when high rev).... previously had replace the GB housing & the main shifter.... normal wear & tear i guess....
I'm driving an accord.....helical LSD T2W4

mADmAN

many years ago my ex-EF had YS1 GB with LSD...

and for about 2 years i used those tong drum gearbox oil....that time those LSD gearbox oils werent that famous and i never even heard of it before.

gearbox was ok....only had crunching on high revs...

til i sold the car

ferio94eg9

Jul 12, 2007
as per title: Type R gearbox......why on earth would i respond to this thread if i'm not using lsd.....

I'm driving an accord.....helical LSD T2W4
just wanna confirm with u becoz i have try using the normal engine oil before as per recommended by a formen (instead of LSD oil or LSX - Axle oil)....the result is much worser...

p/s: to me, is either use the correct LSD oil (minimum grade 90) or use the Axle Oil (castrol etc).

racedemon22

Oct 17, 2008
i too have the same problem when change to motul gear ff lsd type 2.... 4th to 5th when high rev got 'kruok' sound.. some one tell me to change to motul ff lsd type 1... for your info mine is non lsd gearbox....any comment

hon_cs

Jan 23, 2004
Sorry im not driving honda but toyota with 6spd helical lsd. just need to tell about my exp regarding this redline oil. Have been using this lightweight shockproof for 2yrs. i know my car got synchro problem. bad crunching even during low rev. earlier, need to drive about 10min to warm up the oil then only crunch gone. before synchro totally ko, i need to drive about 20min to make the crunch gone. but after oil fully warmed up, rev til 8k then only shift also no problem. been trashing this gb many times and so far no problem. i would say this oil is pretty good for those old and problematic gb. now i changed another gb and using lucas oil. so far so good.

owtaman

Oct 9, 2008
Just want to share my experience on Honda B16A gearbox, before you spend anything expensive, need to make sure there is enough gear oil pressure in there, common issue is due to leak from the oil seal where the drive shafts are inserted, in the past I have experienced couple times of difficult gear engagement in my EG9, and all the time they were fixed by simply replacing the oil seal.
However if the above does not fix your problem then the issue is more serious than what I have been.

are_i

May 4, 2006
mind if i ask a Q?.... what will happen if im using the redline bluegel gb oil but rarely ride my car ,i know the oil is tick so wht is the most bad thing can happen to the gb... tq

racedemon22

Oct 17, 2008
yup me too...some says using blue gel no good and some says good for minor synchro worn... confused3:confused:

YRvi

Oct 5, 2006
Guys, i'm an owner of T2W4 helical LSD GB. Have ordered synchrotech synchro rebuild kit

My problems are similar and worse enuff it shakes like earthquake on high RPM.. could it be the GB shaft have a minor bent? pls advise.

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
in terms of d blue gel,it's NOT stated anywhr dat u shudn't leave d car idle 4 more thn a week.....dis was told 2 my fren(dealer) by his supplier....prolly d supplier had had sum experience whr car being left idle not in use 4 too long d gear oil MIGHT(i'm just guessing here) harden up n turn into sludge in d gbox?d most i've tried is 2 weeks w.out using my car..so far so good......been whacking my car in SIC whnever possible,so far it has never failed me altho i know very well my synchros for 3rd & 4th gear is spoilt.....n dun worry whn u open up d gbox n ur mechanic who 4 d 1st time is seeing d blue gel will comment,"whoarr..y ur gear oil so thick like seasoned water colour 1?"...it's completely NORMAL..dat's how it protects/masks ur worn synchros......so,dun worry too much...........

YRvi,
whn did u start encountering d vibration @ high rpm problem?did any tyre work recently?could b as simple as sum mis-balancing?if not,thn u'd prolly hafta play ard w either ur drive shaft or d inner shaft-joint dat is spoilt.....easiest way i cud think of is 2 get a replacement shaft,install n c wat happens?good luck..........

Sil80-13

Mar 15, 2009
in terms of d blue gel,it's NOT stated anywhr dat u shudn't leave d car idle 4 more thn a week.....dis was told 2 my fren(dealer) by his supplier....prolly d supplier had had sum experience whr car being left idle not in use 4 too long d gear oil MIGHT(i'm just guessing here) harden up n turn into sludge in d gbox?d most i've tried is 2 weeks w.out using my car..so far so good......been whacking my car in SIC whnever possible,so far it has never failed me altho i know very well my synchros for 3rd & 4th gear is spoilt.....n dun worry whn u open up d gbox n ur mechanic who 4 d 1st time is seeing d blue gel will comment,"whoarr..y ur gear oil so thick like seasoned water colour 1?"...it's completely NORMAL..dat's how it protects/masks ur worn synchros......so,dun worry too much...........

YRvi,
whn did u start encountering d vibration @ high rpm problem?did any tyre work recently?could b as simple as sum mis-balancing?if not,thn u'd prolly hafta play ard w either ur drive shaft or d inner shaft-joint dat is spoilt.....easiest way i cud think of is 2 get a replacement shaft,install n c wat happens?good luck..........
Bro akuma,

When you use the blue gel, you use it for how long? 20k mileage? Or you change it after 1 time SIC track use?

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
supposed 2 change every 10,000km...but i usually hentam until 15,000km/20,000km...so far so good..eh?u ask ask 4 wat?ur selling ur car wat?HAAHAHAHAH

hi..
i just wanted to know something..
i wanted to change only my muffler to replace my sflow stock muffler..
thinking of changing to dflow muffler..
im not looking for performance..
but only looking for better looking muffler and the sound and of course similar fc to the stock muffler..
would it be possible guys?
i dont care about the power..
only want the sound,because i kinda like heavy sounds..
thankss