Turboing 4G91

oppo

Jul 14, 2005
klang
Any sifu here know is that possible to install turbo to my 4G91 engine?..How much hp can go?

g88

Jan 28, 2004
Any sifu here know is that possible to install turbo to my 4G91 engine?..How much hp can go?
4G91 is short stroke engine not mean perfomance..not recommend to turbo/supercharge.

If insist, price would be Rm2-4K depend...what kit u use

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
g88, i dunno about 4g91 being a short stroke engine, but isnt short stroke engine meant for performance?

vtec, ivtec, sr20, most performance engines, where power is needed up in high rpm range, all use short stroke. i have never heard someone say short stroke not meant for performance

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
install turbo to my 4G91 engine?..How much hp can go?
Depend how deep your pocket.

If you pocket very deep and your bank account very fat, your BOT-ed 4G91 h/p can go as hi as the sky.

No joke.

I concur, Short block engines are most ideal for hi-performance. More durable too as less stress on the cylinder walls ATDC compared to long blocks.

g88

Jan 28, 2004
i was told by a 4G91 fella that it's short stroke engine and no meant for performance wor....now i think deeply again maybe he was comparising with 4G93 where stroke size is 89mm instead of 4G91 and 4G92 SOHC only 77.5mm :D

jinkl

May 22, 2004
g88 : mustnt hear hear n say say wor
sr20 shoorrrrttt stroke 89mm only :D

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
okay the dont listen to fellas who knows nothing. open any race engine design book, and u will find SHORT STROKE all over it. even F1 use short stroke.

i think the guy meant that 91 has shorter stroke than 93. but short stroke engine no performance? wrong.

kk9972

Dec 27, 2005
Hey all, how short is consider short or how long is consider long?

rayz

Jun 14, 2004
Cyberjaya
decepticon.reallyrules.com
can i BOT a 4G91 only get :
- a turbine & manifold gsr
- injector GSR
- intercooler(prefer vr4 200) & piping with bov
- drill hole on oil sum to go to turbine
- 1.5 metal head gasket

all part still use 4G91 wiring, cmbox, head, intake manifold, air flow..

it is possible? :P

and if posible how much HP increase? and what the best boost?

oppo

Jul 14, 2005
klang
4g91

I think the term 'short' or 'long' stroke is depend on what you compare between type of engine lah.

kk9972

Dec 27, 2005
4G61T having 75mm stroke length only. Compare to 1.6 category, is it consider short?

jinkl

May 22, 2004
can i BOT a 4G91 only get :
- a turbine & manifold gsr
- injector GSR
- intercooler(prefer vr4 200) & piping with bov
- drill hole on oil sum to go to turbine
- 1.5 metal head gasket

all part still use 4G91 wiring, cmbox, head, intake manifold, air flow..

it is possible? :P

and if posible how much HP increase? and what the best boost?
yeap can , but just add one thing , EMANAGE or UNICHIP , boost maybe 0.6bar ? increase maybe 20-30hp

rayz

Jun 14, 2004
Cyberjaya
decepticon.reallyrules.com
yeap can , but just add one thing , EMANAGE or UNICHIP , boost maybe 0.6bar ? increase maybe 20-30hp

Thanx Jinkl.. :D

but if not use that emanage or unichip what happen? that two gadjet quite expensive la.. hehehe.. can we remap or mod chip in computer box?

emanage or unichip can we put it on next upgrade?

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
if i'm not mistaken, the term short stroke is referring to "bore to stroke ratio" or something like that, i forgot already....

Just thought of starting this thread to hear on what sifus over here got to say about their own first car and what good or bad memories that you all can say about it.

Hope sifus around here can share some stories of their humble beginnings with their first car and what kind of things that you all have done to the car. :biggrin: Also, how many of you are still keeping your first car?

For me, I am still driving my first car which is a Wira 4G15 that is passed down to me 3 years ago.