TOMS/TRD exhaust/muffler for Auto Altezza

undercover

May 25, 2006
walau.. almost 2 week didnt log in to altezza forum only.. now so happening already..
ok..
back to the question..

i have question for senior around..
one of my friend is ezhaust specialist..
he recomend me to purchase custom made pipe
" muffler + manifold + mid box +pipping " ..
beside, the price is hell chear i.e = hks 4-2-1 cost thousands but those customs wan only cost hundreds...
he told me he can get almost if not same result..
n he told me the critical part is on the longer "2" for the manifold on the 4-"2"-1 ..
how true is that ?

JaHaX

Sep 21, 2005
bro ...

piece of advice from me ... save ur money and buy the aftermarket product ... dont go for "specially fabricated for u" stuffs ... it wont work as effective as the aftermarket stuffs or it wont work at all

dont hush thing ... go slow in ur mods ... dont be intimidated by others ... be urself

enjoy ur driving with ur precious car and take care of it

car is like woman man ... need care and all ... but sometimes whack them laa .... hahahaha

undercover

May 25, 2006
JaHaX said:
bro ...

piece of advice from me ... save ur money and buy the aftermarket product ... dont go for "specially fabricated for u" stuffs ... it wont work as effective as the aftermarket stuffs or it wont work at all

dont hush thing ... go slow in ur mods ... dont be intimidated by others ... be urself

enjoy ur driving with ur precious car and take care of it

car is like woman man ... need care and all ... but sometimes whack them laa .... hahahaha
got that bro..

1 more thing i need to know..
how to evaluate a good manifold let say we r talking about 4-2-1..

what do we need to see when choosing a good 1?
longer,bigger,straighter,thinner,lighter ? or ?
real noob in ezhaust...
how about muffler .how is it good? bigger longer? ?...
any optimum size for altezza?
3 inch , 4 inch?
and i know straight piping is loud... does it really help in adding hP since it is that smooth flowing?

porosaki

Sep 16, 2004
no exhaust system is better then aftermarket product by reputable company.
WHY?
1)specially develop for the car with the understanding of the car's engine characteristic, output & etc.

2)fully plug & play(fits perfectly with the use of oem flange ends)

3)tested & QC to ensure perfect mandrel bending & no leakage.

4)polished like hell.

So far altezza piping size extractor 60mm, centre 60mm & rear muffler 60mm,65mm & 70mm size. All in diameter.

Only TRD size is funny with extractor 60.5mm, centre 65mm & muffler 65mm.

Leave the piping length to the profesional!

Straight piping is indeed very loud for altezza. not only its loud but sound like exhaust leaking. Dun hope that it would sound like EKs cause its far from sounding that nice.

If u're a manual & have the cash! Buy al TRD as TRD spends thousand of hours developing the whole exhaust system for maximum fuel efficiency, maximum power output & maximum response at low, medium & high rpm range.

if not, go for either fujitsubo or hks.

Z_Edition

Aug 11, 2006
Hey, guys. Why no feedback? Hope you guys can share your experiences with your new exhaust. Really interested.

Also, which is better? Fujitsubo Power Getter or HKS Silent Hi Power?

gti-wly

Jan 19, 2005
putrajaya
was thinking of getting HKS silent-hi power... but some say it dont fit for auto car is it right???
fit as in physical piping? or not suitable as the car is auto ? i also was thinking of changing to this exhaust also in future.

JaHaX

Sep 21, 2005
i have tanabe g-medalion s-flow big muffler with 2.5 inlet and 3.5 outlet ... bought at chop shop but in perfect shining condition

if anyone interested, just lemme know as decided not to use it on my car ... s-flow laa

Z_Edition

Aug 11, 2006
was thinking of getting HKS silent-hi power... but some say it dont fit for auto car is it right???
According to Altezza Club Australia, the mufflers for Auto and Manual are interchangeable. I also checked Fujitsubo webpage and the part numbers for the mufflers for both trannies are the same.

ryonan

Aug 13, 2004
bros..

i'm bit confused on how mufflers for auto and manual can be considered the same..
surely S-Flow mufflers are better for autos while straight flow ones are good for manual...

anyway, besides TRD, can u guys recommend other aftermarket S-flow mufflers suitable for our altezza?

I think i'm losing more back pressure that i ought to and thinking of changing my current muffler (i think its Trust muffler)

or anyone want to sell / swap? :p

jishin

Aug 12, 2005
Now I am using OEM Tanabe S-Flow mufflers, but looking for straight-flow mufflers ( mine manual tranny). Yours straight-flow?...How loud it is?

ryonan

Aug 13, 2004
sound is very nice....not loud. if not for the back pressure, i wouldnt want to change it. looks cool also..

how about ur tanabe? which one is it? sound? and how come its OEM??

jishin

Aug 12, 2005
I mean it a standard one...come together with the car if you buy a new altezza in japan...rite bro Jahax?....

Just change it for temporary use, very2 quiet... summore too much back pressure for manual i think...

Thats why i am searching for straight-flow....

JaHaX

Sep 21, 2005
I mean it a standard one...come together with the car if you buy a new altezza in japan...rite bro Jahax?....

Just change it for temporary use, very2 quiet... summore too much back pressure for manual i think...

Thats why i am searching for straight-flow....
yep bro ... what u have now is the toyota oem rear silencer ... and it was not made by tanabe

ryonan

Aug 13, 2004
anyone on TRDs?
Wing hin quoted me about 2.5k. Freakin expensive. Worth it? Once at Trial I saw a black altezza using this.

Any lubang to get good condition at chop shop??

JaHaX

Sep 21, 2005
bro ...

there is no such thing as "cheap" whenever u are playing with the japanese big boys like the Altezza

the most important thing is that, whenever u are about to go to sleep, there gonna be very very big smile in ur face, because u have just earlier changed your car's muffler to the one made by the TRD

dont ask whether it worth or not, because whenever it comes to TRD products, we are talking about hours and hours of RND and as such, will improve performance of ur car

emmm ... by the way ... UGPM ... kakakaka

Z_Edition

Aug 11, 2006
bro ...

there is no such thing as "cheap" whenever u are playing with the japanese big boys like the Altezza

the most important thing is that, whenever u are about to go to sleep, there gonna be very very big smile in ur face, because u have just earlier changed your car's muffler to the one made by the TRD

dont ask whether it worth or not, because whenever it comes to TRD products, we are talking about hours and hours of RND and as such, will improve performance of ur car

emmm ... by the way ... UGPM ... kakakaka
I think William of Trial will disagree with you on that...:)

hey guy im a new member....i need help..im driving satria 1.6 year 1997 Jan strait piping 16' inch rims and other are standard..the petrol consumption is high...45km for RM10..If anybody have idea pls help me..TQ :(