thermowrapping the turbo exhaust manifold

HanafyEG

calling all sifus, is it good to wrap the turbo exhaust manifold? some say it cause the manifold to crack..is this true? any opinions, suggestions, recommendations..
thanks..

thermal wrap

Hi there,
Ive read somewhere that these heat wraps are very efficient and keeps the heat in for very long time. this cause heat buildup cos no chance to cool down cos all wrapped up.

heat will cause things to melt and die

that includes ur manifold

i recommend boiler tape on ur other accesories/piping u wanna protect from heat. like aircon or pwr steering piping/ intake/intercooler piping/ turbo compressor housing etc.

140dB

I've also read somewhere that a hot exhaust manifold is a good thing for Turbo application. As long as not Supernova hot la.... ;) They wrap the manifold mainly to protect the engine bay area from the hot manifolds AND to keep the temp on the turbo and manifold hot.

It's not good to cool your turbine. And that's why we need good high quality engine oil that can work even in the extreme temps.

In the US, they used water injection to cool down the compressor side but they have to wrap the manifold and even the compressor to keep the temp at a high side.

yep..the higher temp at manifold for turbo will increase turbo performance.. (not supernova hot like hito said lar..)
higher temp exhaust gas will expand more and spool the turbin much faster..

How about heat resistant spray? Does it do any good for the turbo besides that it can be sprayed more on the exhaust manifold compared to thermo wrapping.

Maxx said:
yep..the higher temp at manifold for turbo will increase turbo performance.. (not supernova hot like hito said lar..)
higher temp exhaust gas will expand more and spool the turbin much faster..

correct... hot gas is lighter than cool gas... light gas travels faster thus will help turbo to spool easier... thermowrapping can also help reduce underbonnet temp...but the main purposes is to keep the manifold hot...

15001.jpg

wrapping manifold

depends what kind of manifold ... depending on the quality and does you car have enuf fuel ....... my fren's HKS manifold with GT3037 turbo boosting at 1.5 boost 3 years still no problem