stripping and repaint

yn_hell

Jul 27, 2005
a lot of people said it's not advisable to strip down the paint and repaint a car because it will be very expensive and it will lose the original base coat. it is true?
but with an old car with at least 3 layers of paint, isn't the 4th layer a bit too much?

kobzng

May 30, 2013
Klang
I think with a proper job done the only thing is pain in the wallet. Hehehe.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk

ken yeang

i wont worry about layer of paints, I worry more of layers (of thick) body filler and rusty metal under the paint.

If you wanna restore the car to its former glory, or the car is special enough for restoring....then it is better to strip of the layers of paint.
If not, save the money.....

a lot of people said it's not advisable to strip down the paint and repaint a car because it will be very expensive and it will lose the original base coat. it is true?
but with an old car with at least 3 layers of paint, isn't the 4th layer a bit too much?
Nope, you can strip it down, only thing is expensive work. Once stripped you can respray the primer and base coat first...

no paint is going to be as good as factory paint. so what you do after that is irrelevant, do whatever you like cause it'll never be as good.

kobzng

May 30, 2013
Klang
Ixeo, I kinda disagree. My satria neo factory's paint is quite bad. Clearly can see the difference between bumpers and body. One is less shinier than the other. =/

But... that's Proton... :hmmmm: Let's not start on the whole Proton is crap cause that's another can of worms.

Look at examples by Mazda, Honda etc. Mazdas are really nice. And those Mercedes with ceramiclear, just wow.

EDIT: My bad, I should make an exception for rubbish. Protons are rubbish. Rubbish that is overpriced and handles among the best in its class. But still a piece of rubbish. And yes, I have a piece of rubbish at home :)

I got a quote for my kancil, strip down paint on the whole car & respray costs close to rm4k.
I got quoted RM1500 for a good lacquer metallic paint for kancil :rofl:

RM4K indeed can get another kancil but personal preferences I guess.
Saw a guy in a forum repaint his kancil with Scirocco Green. That would be somewhat crystal paint I guess. Should cost about RM3K

depend on rust.....

if got visible putty/filler flake then it was worth to have it stripped (sandblasted) to the bare metal and repaint with fresh coat

I got quoted RM1500 for a good lacquer metallic paint for kancil :rofl:

RM4K indeed can get another kancil but personal preferences I guess.
Saw a guy in a forum repaint his kancil with Scirocco Green. That would be somewhat crystal paint I guess. Should cost about RM3K
RM1.5k not stripped loh! Sand , putty and spray only....:smokin:

I got a quote for my kancil, strip down paint on the whole car & respray costs close to rm4k.
RM1.5k not stripped loh! Sand , putty and spray only....:smokin:
Yup, no sand to bare metal. Sand to bare metal and strip everything to respray aint cheap.
Is like having your car resprayed at factory quality. Chassis alone and spray

slipar

Apr 29, 2006
banting - pj
diy strip the paint..hahaha..then send to shop respray..if i the one who doing the diy..while strip 1 panel the other panel that have been strip will be rusty already..

Rusty already just spray lacquer over it. New rust look.....hahhahahahha:rofl:

ken yeang

Good stuff not cheap, cheap stuff no good.
Good service/worksmanship not cheap.
if no marney, but have time.....then DIY.

If no marney, and no time, and faint-hearted person, then please dont do anything.
Scared after that, half baked, half ass incomplete & cacat project. Then selling everything half-price, lost interest, abandon project, family, girlfren complaint, etc.:biggrin: Mudah.com got many cases as such.

The TS must have watched plenty of Astro program like _Pimp my Ride, etc. Kena poison edi?

I dont mean to shoot anyone here. but please consider carefully before doing such task.

---------- Post added at 09:04 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:03 AM ----------

just use those etching primer. That would stop rust.

i driving l200s turbo A/T, got some funny question i have to ask:

1. why sometimes my rpm rev up and down once my airconf switch off? 2k-3k-2k-3k up & down...

2. my blow-off valve always blow off engine oil, izzit normal or... what can i do? any parts got problem? turbine?

3. once i switch on my headlight, my RPM drop much, izzit due to bad grounding?

4. any good and specialist mechanic that can fix L200s turbo engine well in kl area to recommend?

Thanks you very much!