MIVEC fuel consumption??

JuizeeeBrain

Sep 21, 2005
Equine Park, SK
Can someone share with me the average fuel consumption for Mivec 1.6 both auto and manual trans.?

Where is the good place to buy this engine?

And what is the cost like?

Thanks for sharing.

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
FC is depends on how u drive but MIVEC is high rpm car..
Normal drive will be ok but once u ramp it..hehe..drink petrol like drinking water..
There is also MIVEC MD where this engine is hybrid engine (close 2 piston when stop or normal drive) but power wise will loose to other MIVEC engine...

The engine about 4k++ to 5k++ depends on how hardworking u go to find..
Where got other place to buy this engine except chop shop....hahahaha...
Buying engine is depends on your luck...
Good Luck to you...

cHeMiCaL_

Feb 11, 2005
I had a hybrid 1.8 mivec on my gti many years back. can't remember the exact FC value but some rule of thumb to guide you - before mivec open, your car FC will be normal as stock. bila open mivec then only it drinks like camel...

FC still cheaper than same cc turbo car though.

ben_gsr2s

Apr 3, 2005
Offshore
mivec FC

Hi..

mine..
MIVEC CK in waja.. recently re-bore to 1.8

FC..
average.. for RM 70 (+- 35 litre of petrol) can go up to 400km.. dat is for both long distance n town driving..

for town driving only, RM70 will give 350km

for long distance driving.. RM70 will give 450km without problem..

*price base on current petrol price RM1.92 / litre
*i do have e-manage inside the car

just sharing :X-:

JuizeeeBrain

Sep 21, 2005
Equine Park, SK
great great!!

bro in london, tho i have no idea how to convert GBP to MYR and miles to km, thanks anyway for your input

ben gsr.... hmm heavy mods there... wots ur hp like after installing emanage?

blueray

Jul 6, 2006
i just bought over a mivec 1.6 with satria chassis. serviced it after buying. been using almost a month now. basic town driving around rm70 for 330km to 350km. mix driving highway and town driving around rm70 for 400km-420km. Havent tried full highway yet. Hope that helps.

ben_gsr2s

Apr 3, 2005
Offshore
great great!!

ben gsr.... hmm heavy mods there... wots ur hp like after installing emanage?
Hi..

before re-bore.. the FC was excellent.. for long distance driving, can reach up to 550km per RM70 of fuel (+- 35 litre).. but i'm looking for slightly more power, then i do the re-bore..

After re-bore..
still not tune it properly... but i guess the HP will be around 170... maybe? anyone had same setup n dyno-ed their ride? hard for me to do the dyno-tune cos i'm staying in east coast.. all the dyno-tune things in west coast :confused_smile:

ben_gsr2s

Apr 3, 2005
Offshore
wots your ori bhp on the crank b4 the bore?
Hi..

never do dyno test before.. like i said before, no dyno machine in the east coast.. but for stock standard 1.6 mivec, the figure should be around 135-140 on wheel...
next time i go to KL... definiately i'll do the dyno tune... anyone can enlighten me about this whole dyno-tune process...?

really appreciate it..

JuizeeBrain,
gud luck on your search... hopefully you found a gud front-cut :X-:
for me, mivec suits my needs, slightly powerful engine for daily driven + reasonable FC and maintenance...

my previous ride was putra evo 2... but with 'very heavy' right foot and tight budget... i have to let it go... god knows how i miss turbo :confused_smile:

JuizeeeBrain

Sep 21, 2005
Equine Park, SK
haha actually i am planning to change the engine for my wife's wira. am actually driving a honda prelude h22a. think honda still give better mileage in terms of fuel economy.

bro if u come to kl, do look for me. we can go for some drags then.

m@ttz

May 7, 2006
klang
i think mivec got gud FC on 1.6 dohc, unless the mivec always open, then u need always to open ur wallet at petrol pump..

mopreme

Jan 9, 2007
or if u can always be patience when someone cucuk belakang,
mivec fc is good

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
Want horse run dun want horse to eat grass (petrol) later the horse die oh...
hahahahaha..............

JuizeeeBrain

Sep 21, 2005
Equine Park, SK
i believe mivec auto definitely drinks more than the manual trans. but i still think it is ok to own one coz my wife always complain the wira crawls like turtle.

ask King also will not ease the current situation, simply people has BETTER choice:
Lancer, Latio, Myvi, Kancil replacement etc. -->Proton's era is over.