Hankook tyres

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004
Anybody used them b4? How good is this brand of tyre? I noticed that they copy the tyre thread of a few popular tyres like Michelin,Continental and Yokohama.

Hankook Ventus S1 Evo K107

Hankook Ventus R-S2 Z212

Hankook Ventus HRII H405

I need to know the following:

Grip in dry, Grip in wet and noise.

trex92

Aug 10, 2004
i am using ventus HRII H405 and i must say that these tyres are great! The grip on wet and dry roads are quite good (i drive quite fast in the rain wan so I should know). The thing I love best about it is that it is really really quiet. I was not used to it when I just changed tyres to Hankook as it was just so quiet (I am using stiff racing suspensions, so normally noise transfer from the road is quite loud but with Hankook its simply wonderful).

I am using the 205/55/R16 and I bought it for RM 170 like that in klang... or was it RM160...

partyJOE

Nov 10, 2004
yes agree 100% wit trex... im using HRII 205/45/16 bought at kedai papan(klang)
170/piece... gr8 tyres... superb road holding,dry or wet... noiseless...
only 1 thg... the side wall looks bulging out alil...
makes it lose the sporty looks, like u r 50/55 series...
then again why bother abt looks..
performance is everythg...

Kookaburra

Apr 29, 2005
Koala Lampost
Tried the Hankook Optima 185/60/14 - value for money coz it has silica compound! Quite long lasting considering the car is running 3 degree camber.........

Now using Ventus K104 235/45/17 installed on the rears. Can't tell yet coz I am still waiting for stock to install on the fronts, so take corner slow slow only.

oh, Hankook is part owned by Michelin......

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004
Wow! Thanks alot for the feedback. It's great to hear about it first hand from people who are using it.

I am more concern about the noise. So far from my experience, I find both Goodyear F1 GS-D3 and Yokohama AVS ES100 as pretty silent tyres. B4 that, I used Pirelli P7000 and the noise was driving me nuts. It sounded like there was a military truck following u behind all the time. After 1 month, I had enuff.. traded-in for the Yokohamas.

But Yokohamas didn't last... lasted only 9 months for me.

So far my Goodyeard F1 GS-D3 (the Germany version ) lasted me for more than 1.5 years. But since then, the price has gone sky high, I am looking into other options.

I heard Hankook has permission or paid license to Michelin to copy their designs.

Anyway, I am pretty interested in the Hankook Ventus R-S2 Z212 because it looks like Yokohama Neova AD07 ( the chewing gum tyre ). If the compound is the same as AD07, damn!! We have a value for money tyre here.

But I want to know from existing AD07 owners.. does the tyres last? I mean.. on average how long can it last?

nd4ever

KL, PJ & S'ban
I've used Ventus HRII sized 205/40/17 80H rated tyres & i would say dry road holding is good but not in the wet as it sux when the road condition is wet. Bsides that, its sidewall tends to crack prematurely after a year plus of usage....... i've double checked with my regular tyre shop & they said it's pretty normal for Ventus series tyres.

I've claimed all 4 tyres before & still, the same problem persisted until i've swapped to another brand of tyres. Currently running 17" Dunlop SP Sport 9000 all-around & damn, the grip is superb for both dry & wet road conditions.

I'll be switching tyres end of this year to Dunlop SP Maxx to find out how's the performance of these series of tyres. :)

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004
nd4ever said:
I've used Ventus HRII sized 205/40/17 80H rated tyres & i would say dry road holding is good but not in the wet as it sux when the road condition is wet. Bsides that, its sidewall tends to crack prematurely after a year plus of usage....... i've double checked with my regular tyre shop & they said it's pretty normal for Ventus series tyres.

I've claimed all 4 tyres before & still, the same problem persisted until i've swapped to another brand of tyres. Currently running 17" Dunlop SP Sport 9000 all-around & damn, the grip is superb for both dry & wet road conditions.

I'll be switching tyres end of this year to Dunlop SP Maxx to find out how's the performance of these series of tyres. :)
Oh gosh.. side wall cracked.. that is not good..sigh.

prodigy

side wall cracking would be mainly due to prolong usage or quite simply prolong exposure to the environment. my 7 year old goodyear spare tyre had the same problem but thats mainly due to the fact its 7 years old inside the boot so after a long time, the rubber starts to harden up. but i'm surprised your 1 year old hankook has this problem. maybe its not acclimitized to our weather as its made in china if not mistaken. there are lots of hankook in tyres sold in china. over at china, its hard to see bridgestone, michelin or dunlop.

lan evo

Nov 24, 2003
my advan neova lasted 4 months only.wet road holding was nitemare

looking to change tyres now,almost botak

anyone know the price for

dunlop sp9000 235/45/17?

any other recomended brand?advan neova too expensive for my driving style.damn pain in the heart 4 months change once.

nd4ever

KL, PJ & S'ban
lan evo said:

dunlop sp9000 235/45/17?

any other recomended brand?advan neova too expensive for my driving style.damn pain in the heart 4 months change once.
Bro, the Dunlop SP Sport 9000 is not in production anymore...... it have been replaced with SP Sport Maxx & i was quoted RM400 each for a 205/40/17 tyre.

Btw, u got PM bro! :)

eakamal

May 18, 2005
Kuala Terenggan
Me using K104 Sport 205/45/17.Noise & grip ok, but has little sign cracked at sidewall.Most user using this brand got this problem..

prodigy

lan evo said:

dunlop sp9000 235/45/17?

i'm just curious, do u go to track very often? i'm surprised your tyre wear rate is so high, every 4 months. people say the ES100 wear rate is damn high but for me, after using for 20,000km, the threads still looks very new and thick.

lan evo

Nov 24, 2003
prodigy said:
i'm just curious, do u go to track very often? i'm surprised your tyre wear rate is so high, every 4 months. people say the ES100 wear rate is damn high but for me, after using for 20,000km, the threads still looks very new and thick.
im also suprised,go track once with the tyre.only few laps without hard thrashing.it lasted around 15,000 km.now left around 10%:confused: .have to find some other brand and try.somemore 4wd car tyre thread wear fucking balance.if botak,all 4 also botak.last time my ek use es100 lasted for 3 months for front tyres,rear can last 6 months.can change 2 than 2.

4wd have to change all together.sigh.have to spend $$$$$$ again.

heefmy

Nov 24, 2004
cheras
i wan to know the rs-2 tire is ok? how much for 17? wan to change tire la.....give me the price .....thanks a lot

InitialD

Aug 27, 2004
prodigy said:
When I got my Yokohama AVS ES100, only 3 months old, I went to the track... that was a big big mistake to do with expensive new tyres. I nearly cried when I saw the condition of my ES100 after doing 7 laps at Sepang. Needless to say, it only lasted another 6 months b4 I stared spinning/skidding in the rain. So now I swore not to bring my car to the track if I am using new tyres... very sakit hati.

So when I got my Goodyear F1 GS-D3, I didn't go to the track at all. Now it has lasted for more than 1.5 years of usage.

heefmy

Nov 24, 2004
cheras
guy......where to get all range hankook tyre? 215/45/17 or 215/40/17

need help.....tyre botak liao..

i interest in rs-2 tyre.

if someone know pls let me know the price even is 16" or 15" tyre price....