e-jump

Mar 13, 2004
hi guys..
its been some time i was here

my ride seems to have problem. :frown:
everytime i wanna start my engine after parked more than 2hrs, the check-engine light took some time to turn off..sometimes up to 10mins..

n when the light were about to lit off, i can hear "grrrr" motor-like-sound suspected from fuel pump..
i replaced the fuel-pump few days ago, but problem still occur [but with shorter waiting time, ie 2-3mins for the light to off]

so what's the real culprit here?

p/s: its a civic eg 1.6 mt, 7yrs old :frown:
n i serviced at honda

amdfaisal

Sep 6, 2004
Bawah jembatan
since u service ur car in Honda SC, they should be able to know and tell u why ur check engine light is behaving like that. Normally they have this contraption to connect to the ECU and read all the error messages.

e-jump

Mar 13, 2004
hmmm...
maybe the fuel pump is not an electronic device that cant register to ECU?
i mean, i remember the ECU wasn't reset after installing the new fuel pump..
should i reset it manually, or its advisable to go back to honda?
[ need to make appointment again =_=;;; ]

stimGILER

Oct 10, 2005
thats we call it the negine check light .. it lit up if there is sumthin wrong in yur electrical component .. check how many blinks ..

short blink .. 1
long blink .. 10 ..

e-jump

Mar 13, 2004
its long blink
i mean, the light was on the moment i put the key in to start, n took 2 or more minutes to lit off ..[super long blink]
so, that would be?
n the annoying part, the sound of fuel pump motor before light turn off

hmm, i might be pulling the batt off late tonite to reset ecu? or i shouldnt?
help~

EG8

Jan 2, 2004
www.surfer-girl.com
e-jump said:
its long blink
i mean, the light was on the moment i put the key in to start, n took 2 or more minutes to lit off ..[super long blink]
so, that would be?
n the annoying part, the sound of fuel pump motor before light turn off

hmm, i might be pulling the batt off late tonite to reset ecu? or i shouldnt?
help~
sham

open back ur sifu book and revealto this guy the FAQ on the check light blink blink

ejump
u sure ur fuel pump make the sound, not other stuff? no need to reset ur ECU yet, just bring ur car to knowledgeble mechanic, they will sort it out for you.

i mean,knowledgeble mechanic :D

rizal_eg9

Jan 12, 2005
the check engine light will not blink blink if u are not jumping the wires on a 2 way green connectors right under the glove box. There are two connectors. one is a 2 way and the other one is three way i believe.

Jump the wires off the 2 way connectors and then check the blink code.

stimGILER

Oct 10, 2005
yup .. thats the rite way to get the rite blink blink ..

e-jump ..
the engine light shud lit up for a moment before yu turn on the key .. after that, it will stay like that (off) .. if it lit up again while driving, must be sumthin wrong ...

do what rizaleg9 said .. from there yu'll know the exact problem ..

rizal_eg9 said:
the check engine light will not blink blink if u are not jumping the wires on a 2 way green connectors right under the glove box. There are two connectors. one is a 2 way and the other one is three way i believe.

Jump the wires off the 2 way connectors and then check the blink code.

e-jump

Mar 13, 2004
wow..
sifoo's has spoken :biggrin:

btw, i did the ecu reset the whole night by disconnecting the batt -ve terminal..
dis morning the check-engine light seems to turn off faster [below 1minute]
but the "grrr" motor sound is still there...

i've checked the behind glove box for green wires, it seems i can see 2 green + 1 black w/ yellow stripe connected to a socket..
how exactly should i jump it? pull out the socket?

but so far, the check engine never light on during driving.. so i suspected something to do with current/volt/wiring to the fuel pump upon starting the engine..

btw, my batt is maintenance free, n my TT voltmeter shows the batt is ok
:eek:

rizal_eg9

Jan 12, 2005
make sure that you have the two way connectors with only two wires. don't remember the wire colour.

Pull out the connectors from the rubber "condom"hahaha. and short circuit it with anouther wire.make sure ignition is off first.

e-jump

Mar 13, 2004
for some reason, takut la to jump it O_o"

oh well, for now, the check engine seems ok after ecu reseted..
i'll go n do some high revving later n see if the prob will come back or not..

thanks for the tips... :)
might try once i got some guTs >_<

Stormrider

Sep 22, 2005
TRG
tell me the result after u test it. i think i got the same prob. but the light not too long.

e-jump

Mar 13, 2004
tell me the result after u test it. i think i got the same prob. but the light not too long.
well, my probs seems gone for now, after reset the ECU..

how bout u try it, since u still have the prob >_<;;