4G91 Gang..

aLoM

Aug 14, 2007
Im having the same issue as asrulac. Everytime when i start the car in the morning, the klak,klak,klak sound from the engine comes out. After about 2-3 minutes, then it disappear. Read from a few forums saying its usually caused by the hydraulic teppet/cam lifter. ACQ, u know where to get the thing checked ka?

ACQ2305

May 25, 2007
HeadHunters
Im having the same issue as asrulac. Everytime when i start the car in the morning, the klak,klak,klak sound from the engine comes out. After about 2-3 minutes, then it disappear. Read from a few forums saying its usually caused by the hydraulic teppet/cam lifter. ACQ, u know where to get the thing checked ka?
common sound for 4g9X series i believe...only way,take out d whole head n re adjust d valves... or,jst use better quality oil...hehehehehe
Btw, can 91 engine use 92/93 ecu????:hmmmm:

thesyko

Oct 19, 2007
common sound for 4g9X series i believe...only way,take out d whole head n re adjust d valves... or,jst use better quality oil...hehehehehe
Btw, can 91 engine use 92/93 ecu????:hmmmm:
if my memory serves me right, the injector pins on the 91 ECU is different than the 93 ECU. better just grab the whole 93 ECU + wiring. easier and hassle free, anyway why use 93 ECU?

better just grab a second hand emanage blue, it cost like 800 bucks + 500 to install & tune. sumore better can do fine tuning.

the hydraulic sound all 4G9X engines suffer from that. you can use meek automotive (australia) aftermarket hydraulic lifter set. Cost is about 750-800 bucks to bring it to Malaysia. no sound after changing to that, m using it in my 4G93 now.

ACQ2305

May 25, 2007
HeadHunters
heard from others,try using 92/93 ecu..better 'performance'???
so was wondering if any of us here has tried mis-matching ecu's around...hehehe..
E-manage,probelm is,duno who knws how 2 tune it here where i am... huhhuuhuhuh

sk8

Jun 23, 2010
Manila, PH
Hi guys! im new here and this is my first post.

i just transplanted a 4g91 on my lancer singkit/dangan coming from 4g13. the speed pick up is great. but i have been watching videos in youtube about how 4g91 goes and i should say mine is not as fast as those. im hoping i would learn a lot from this discussion. oh and i have a question, what do you think is the best exhaust piping size for our 4g91?

thanks all!

ACQ2305

May 25, 2007
HeadHunters
Hi guys! im new here and this is my first post.

i just transplanted a 4g91 on my lancer singkit/dangan coming from 4g13. the speed pick up is great. but i have been watching videos in youtube about how 4g91 goes and i should say mine is not as fast as those. im hoping i would learn a lot from this discussion. oh and i have a question, what do you think is the best exhaust piping size for our 4g91?

thanks all!
hehehe,pick i can still keep up with 1.6(4g92,4age silvertop,Campro CPS) etc etc...but always lose top speed...huhuhuhuh...
Think i have already done basic engine 'enhancement' modification 'stage 1'... but im rolling on 17in,...maybe thats d problem..:hmmmm:
2in for ya piping wud b good..

sk8

Jun 23, 2010
Manila, PH
hehehe,pick i can still keep up with 1.6(4g92,4age silvertop,Campro CPS) etc etc...but always lose top speed...huhuhuhuh...
Think i have already done basic engine 'enhancement' modification 'stage 1'... but im rolling on 17in,...maybe thats d problem..:hmmmm:

wow. i never thought our engine is capable of that. hehe.. well as of now i still face some problems like there is a lag/delay in acceleration, engine overheating, etc. etc. so im to and fro to the mech all this time. hope i could maximize the 4G91 power soon!

---------- Post added at 05:53 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:44 AM ----------

wow. i never thought our engine is capable of that. hehe.. well as of now i still face some problems like there is a lag/delay in acceleration, engine overheating, etc. etc. so im to and fro to the mech all this time. hope i could maximize the 4G91 power soon!

ACQ2305

May 25, 2007
HeadHunters
hehehee,but in the end,still lose... if start from a dead stop,1-2nd gear can only stay ,..after tat slowly kena tinggal...huhuhuhu...but if rolling start,kinda like wat my 1.5 is capable of...175kmph on my speedo, but others behind me were doing 190-200kmph...
Nxt plan,lighten crank pulley,change of spark plugs, maybe 92 ECU??? duno wat else i can find... :)

ACQ2305

May 25, 2007
HeadHunters
less weight on the engine rotation.... lighter...positive comments from frens using LCP..

ACQ2305

May 25, 2007
HeadHunters
LCP,u need 2 buy it..Lighten Crank Pulley.. wanted 2 order 1 unit,but ran out of stock..
rebore 2 a 1.6,..tempting oso,but i hav no idea how much of an increase the power will be...

alvin24

don't rebore la... not worth it... so much money spent for extra 100cc and kill your reliability =p AT least to me its not worth it la... workmanship is not cheap to rebuild engine, you're better off shoving in a 4G92P block from chopshop. Prob cheaper and u gain more power from the higher compression pistons. =p But on the other hand, the 4G91 head on a 4G92 block also not to say super reliable. The gasket will leak, just a matter how when only. =p Metal gasket of course can last longer.

Lighten crank pulley is a good way to begin. You should feel better engine response from that.

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
agree wif bro alvin....just get a 4g92 block n plonk it in....much cheaper n hassle free compared to reboring ur current block.....if the engineering work screw up...then u r screwed....
but u wont feel much by just changing the block....u may feel power drop....dat's wat i feel dat time i done it....till i get my emanage in....

ACQ2305

May 25, 2007
HeadHunters
anybody here using products from Works Engineering?? any comments?? thinking about their LCP.
coz frens Redline adjustable campulley broke at all the bolts position while driving... so,it like a snap timing belt...

alvin24

Wah... redline got make adjustable campulleys wan meh? LOLz... I've been using arospeed ones without any problems... I can't even remember how many years have I been using them already... 5 years maybe? =p

Works engineering not rim makers meh? LoLz...

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
Wah... redline got make adjustable campulleys wan meh? LOLz... I've been using arospeed ones without any problems... I can't even remember how many years have I been using them already... 5 years maybe? =p

Works engineering not rim makers meh? LoLz...
dont play ppl laa :biggrin:

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
i'm using works clutch currently...
feel its better than exedy 3-puck clutch dat i was using in my 4g91 last time...

ACQ2305

May 25, 2007
HeadHunters
Works rim?? heheheheh..true oso..nowadays get confuse with brands in d market..Jasma is another...
yeahh,redline adjustable campulley... frens engine 4g18,. waja... cud not find his picture though..

Guys...my frens car got stolen today at Lagoon Perdana Sunway..anyone have seen the car around please call me ASAP. 017-9000523. Car number - WUU 5108 white civic 2.0 thanks!

2 civic got stolen in the same car park on same day soon will upload the F**ker face up here.