ZTH KuChiNG zone

alphangadan

Apr 20, 2006
Kuching
Jac83: Nice :) Any video? 0.7 bar is quite high for stock setup... Impressive... I hope your internals can hold that sort of boost. Nevertheless if you build up your internals a bit more, I believe you can boost to 1 bar. And I guess I'll have a bit of a hard time to catch you in Super Sunday... I wreck my power steering over the weekends... My girl's gonna hibernate again this weekend... Just hope that it'll be ready for Kch this May.

Jac83

Apr 29, 2007
0.7bar is the minimum boost with my turbosmart Wastegate. Guess I'll have to stick with it until I get myself a boost controller. Anyway the max boost is also 0.7bar for now so I'm not too worried as I won't be going full boost all the time. My auto gear seem to be taking it well with no sign of slipping even when dyno at higher boost at 0.9bar. No videos though as I arrived a tad too late. Just finished dynoed.

How did u wreck your power steering? Thought power steering is not something that will broke down easily unless of course it is leaking and u failed to notice till it dries up.

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
jac ur b20 is vtec or non vtec??

Jac83

Apr 29, 2007
Peterj: b20b non vtec, with vtec then should be getting 2xxwhp at 0.7 bar.

rex79gt

Jan 9, 2008
Ngiao City
last time i happened to drive a b20b vtec wif 215whp :P

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
Peterj: b20b non vtec, with vtec then should be getting 2xxwhp at 0.7 bar.
future plan to have b20 vtec turbo?? my plan is b16 turbo enough liao :biggrin:

alphangadan

Apr 20, 2006
Kuching
Jac: I notice it was leaking when I brought it to Myy. I used to fill it wit pwr steering fluid prior to going to the strips. During drifting, the steering kinda feel a bit hard after a couple of rounds. I decided to remove the power steering rack and send it for servicing (change the seal and etc). After (changing seals) installation I went drifting last weekend and that's when it became worst. Just a few rounds of drifting and the steering was so stiff... My friend told me that it's spitting oil again. Now I'm looking for a recon supra power steering rack.

rex: Nowadays stock vtec that can compete with my SR are H22 and B20B. B20Bs that have been tuned are very competitive. The race is very close to call. Sometimes I can leave half a car or the other way around.

Jac83

Apr 29, 2007
Alpha: either your power steering is in an unrepairable state or your mech did a crap job servicing it. Well hope U'll get a replacement soon.

Peterj: nah guess I'll stick to my current setup for time being, still quite a few bit of tiny stuff yet to install to make it whole. Besides the upgrade to b20b vtec head alone cost at 6-7k. Plus I'm broke hehe.

Rex: yeah it should be somewhere around there, ah sin's b20b vtec already 2xxwhp at 8krpm boosting at 0.7bar.

rex79gt

Jan 9, 2008
Ngiao City
alpha: i happen to drive s15 also, i know the range of how sr20 works, but ke70 should b faster on drag due it lighter weight compare to s15 1.2ton lol

jac, mine was n/a, no forced induction, was expecting b20b turbo should hav higher figures like 25xwhp? at least?

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
jac, nice result! hows the water temp? next project--> vtec head? heheheehehe

alpha, that sucks...hope u'll get it up n running soon

Jac83

Apr 29, 2007
alpha: i happen to drive s15 also, i know the range of how sr20 works, but ke70 should b faster on drag due it lighter weight compare to s15 1.2ton lol

jac, mine was n/a, no forced induction, was expecting b20b turbo should hav higher figures like 25xwhp? at least?
Well it depend on how high u boost it. Stock b20b vtec only output a mere about 120whp. To reach 25xwhp, I suppose a high boost beyond 1 bar can do but not with stock internal.

Guess yours did some heavy mods already ya?

Tofu, I have yet to install any gauges but stock temperature reading is normal.

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
Well it depend on how high u boost it. Stock b20b vtec only output a mere about 120whp. To reach 25xwhp, I suppose a high boost beyond 1 bar can do but not with stock internal.

Guess yours did some heavy mods already ya?

Tofu, I have yet to install any gauges but stock temperature reading is normal.
should be b20 non vtec.... since my stock b16a with walbro,exedy 4 puck and open pod knn get 152 whp:smokin:

Jac83

Apr 29, 2007
should be b20 non vtec.... since my stock b16a with walbro,exedy 4 puck and open pod knn get 152 whp:smokin:
Can't really find any stock b20b vtec engine as most are nodded or mix and match ones so can't really say much about the Hp or whp but stock b20b engines are without vtec though and the output on crank are merely around 126-146hp.

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
better stick with b20 non vtec, if only if really unlucky got problem, the engine sell in side 2k, not like vtec...

Jac83

Apr 29, 2007
Well from what I heard playing turbo with vtec on stock internal are not encouraged unless u got a very thick wallet as the engine runs with even higher compression than na without vtec thus the reliability will really be an issue. But on the other hand the additional 50-80hp will be a good feel behind the wheel.

rex79gt

Jan 9, 2008
Ngiao City
should intro u a vtec turbo kaki, maybe u can find him at CAR SALON in green road, one of the most experience vtec turbo user around lol

alphangadan

Apr 20, 2006
Kuching
rex: Yeah it's light. I can race with s13-15 with my ke70. Drifting is also very easy. The weight to power ratio is comparable. Plus at 1 bar boost can really feel the pull...maybe that's y my power steering rack gave way. It's from the 1j supra steering.

Hope to get it done this holidays. And of course can't wait to bring her back to Kch and meet up with you guys. I'll be hanging out at auto terminal or motul 4th mile. Hope to get it tuned for sundays....

Jac83

Apr 29, 2007
Guys any happening today? It's been a while since we last tt. Any tt coming up soon?

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
wah sei... Mr Rex, u own so many carss? S15, accord with h22a, super neo and etc. Heard that u got Ken Block's Fiesta also already ah?

*cabut*

alphangadan

Apr 20, 2006
Kuching
Guys, the drag race is this 28th. Are you racing Jac? Now that it's bot. By the way anyone drop by Super Sunday lately? Anyone seen the pocket rocket 4agte toyota starlet in action? Heard that it's pulling about 3XX hp on wheels?

I might go back sooner than expected to source for steering rack.

is that recommended to enlarge piping after port and polish? or i just stick back to stock piping? heard makin piping for power is just a myth only except for upgrading turbos....
Please share...