Turbo Vs Vtec

renxun

Jul 4, 2006
thats not investment.... its more towards...

ermmm... who got more money to burn.. :biggrin:

WiiR4

Oct 21, 2008
Waa...it been awhile...it getting hot...he...he...vote for turbo...yearh!!! saass...ka-ching!!!
thanks y'all I really appreciate it...

yeah...it true...for all turbo owner don't cucuk2 or bakar2 vtec ar...same goes to vtec...I think all of us love JDM cars, some maybe already own it, so some who don't but get the feel by using "keta cacat" I think it ok what! it's been a rival bout' a long time for turbo & vtec, vtec proud for their 9000rpm rev, turbo, hmm...i/c, b.o.v, wastegate, boost &...(he...he...he...still buyers to turbo...)

anyway, I agree with don't hate the car, hate the driver...ssaaaassss...ka-ching!!!!:driver:

edmunz85

May 4, 2006
c even talkin in this tread oso know d....yesterday night me n my frens were on da way out from puchong....waitin in trafic....my fren front of me satria 1.6 stock.......me behind him stock gsr...beside him 1 vtec.....rev n rev....once green he tryin2run wif my fren.....i got so pist......chased n cucuk him till he turn away....y wanna purposely disturb ppl1....

tecque

Jun 29, 2005
sbn
Im a Vtec owner... But im not Lan C at all.... Sometime Turbo owner do cucuk me... Is ok..
Is the matter about the driver attitude..!!! Not the Vtec or Turbo..Peace

clanzkiller

Oct 31, 2006
I thought this thread supposed to be discussion bout distinguish/similiarity on turbo/vtec...
but read read, until driver behavior :D

for me i go for both...priority goes to turbo..
i love the vtec sound as well as wastegate sound LOL

cliffordcheong

Jul 11, 2008
i strongly believe vtec has proven that without the siput...still level with turbo...bravo to HONDA...

renxun

Jul 4, 2006
relax...small matter only ... misread only i guess... vtec is indeed a very successfull design for an NA engine.. .it can really squeeze every bit of hp out of the engine

TermiziYeoh

Jul 29, 2005
Cheras , Sel
Did i say Taiwan only ?

READ BETWEEN THE LINES
But your post clearly only mentioned Taiwan. Why get angry so fast ? Turbo spooling or vtec kicking in ? :biggrin:

Like bro renxun mentioned - this menang that, that menang those, but menang apa ?

To each and own preference, both is a very good modification platform, and they make their name throughout the worldwide without debating with each other maker (eg :Mitsu and Honda), why us should do the dirty job then ? Both having its own plus and cons, and winning against each other isnt the most important thing, to me, satisfaction of the owner says it all.

p/s : Some bad apple spoiled the whole garden. Not every Vtec-ers are arrogant and not many turbo-ians are lansi. Cheers :wavey:

p/p/s: I dont have neither of Turbo nor Vtec :driver:

D-IV

Mar 11, 2006
Turbo is a different ball game and VTEC is a different ball game. Why it can compete is because the chasis is also lightweight. Lets take 2.0litre VTEC/i-vtec turbocharged DC5 it the same boost level as an EVO with 4G63T, same displacement and same sized turbo. Then you can start comparing apples to apples on the track.

Stock VTEC engines equipped cars vs turbo equipped cars is not a fair comparison...END of STORY. I as a b-series honda owner have nothing to prove racing against other turbo make cars. It just looks silly coz i know i'm slow.

Trinityblood

Nov 10, 2007
Turbo is on its own level la...vtec has its own as well,
if to compare which 1 is damm fast my choice is still TURBO,
Vtec is to power and handling matter...But turbo cars
is damm FAST...and i love the G-FORCE when turbo kicks in.
YET it`s a Money matter la...to have fast cars.
But when people start saying those having convert turbo engine
is CACAT CARS its sound really lan ci then:mad:,juz becoz
we driving cars wif proton logo which is MALAYSIAN MADE,
and Mithsu engine to gain that title ar...Why not like tis
for those tat came out that words starts pakcs thier thing
and migrate to their car country manufacture..c how? can by
cars or ride bike?....:bawling:

MALAYSIA BOLEH

edmunz85

May 4, 2006
yeah STRONGLY AGREE WITH U....proton with evo or gsr engine is not CACAT n tats final......vtec n turbo cant b compared.....2 different types of engine.....

camshaft

Nov 3, 2006
i drive an EK4 vtec...please dun hate me...hehe...if a turbo cucuk me i dun wanna play with it..if a vtec cuck me i still dont wanna play...if even a kancil cucuk me...also i dont wanna play..i just wanna enjoy my ride and rev up alone wit no one kacau me...hehehe...also...vtec is NA and has less hp compare to turbo...NA is difficult to reach 500HP or 600HP like EVO3 or Skyline GTR...so turbo always win in terms of power and acceleration...i know turbo is faster but i just dont need that much of power...so i just go for vtec...160-170whp is enough for me...

kelv!n

Jul 28, 2006
hmm.. if the new fd2r than how o? just curious only.. not to create flame @.@

gothculture

Apr 18, 2008
relax...small matter only ... misread only i guess... vtec is indeed a very successfull design for an NA engine.. .it can really squeeze every bit of hp out of the engine
i agree with u on that renxun....vtec can squeeze every bit of HP left...datz y its awesome....

imho, its really a question of whether u prefer forced induction or NA...
n this depends on one's preference...
i mean look at those k20a drag machines, they're absolutely awesome man...
anytime can fight an evo...

btw i think d most successful NA engine is still an M3...

from my experience, i've driven my fren's b16b n my own volvo v50 t5(unfortunately sold d)....both also damn nice to drive...
considering this, i think a turbo is pretty much more fun tho...

but one thing i really kenot tahan is proton owners wif vr4 or evo damn lan c...(most of d owners la...dun flame me ah bros!haha!just from my own experience)
they think can easy tapau beemer or merc...
i remember once my mum drive merc c230k on sprint towards hartamas n this satria(wif mivec kit) tiong like shit then my mum full throttle n d guy gave up...

now i drive neither a vtec nor turbo....but kelefeh car...1.3 sohc...aways giv ppl tiong(mebbe its karma frm my v50 days!?)...aihz....

cheers peeps...:smokin:

WiiR4

Oct 21, 2008
yeah...the matters is the driver, not brand, ori JDM or convert, cars still the same, got 4 wheel & 1 engine, unless their any different type somewhere from 3030 a.d, he...he..., I think all of ZTH members are right, we are in car mod arena, so sometimes we just can't stand of the boiling blood in ourselve when the car behind us or beside us keep on reving vroom...vrrooom..., it ok to take a challege, but only for fun, the healthly way, make sure to think bout' of others road user, some like to play for fun alone, like me...but sometimes "terbakar gak...so main gak ar"...,but after finished, scream & "angkat tangan laaa"...nice bro!!!, just for fun...and some were right, turbo got own level & same goes to vtec...some vtec owner were cool, some quite lan c, some goes for turbo onwer, like I said in my 1st thread I like honda, maybe it just my enviorment (those 2 office mate) made me slightly hate vtec, nowdays I'm a die hard fan for MITSU & NISSAN, actually NISSAN but Cefiro pun mahal arr, cash around 20-30K, don't talk bout' 180sx, s13-s15 or Skyline...hu...hu...nangis ar if see it on the road...:bawling: but anyway...still in turbo associated...so vote for turbo...:evil:he...he...he....sajer jer bakar....

gothculture

Apr 18, 2008
i would vote on turbo purely based on d fact that it is absolutely fun to drive....

no offence on vtec tho but i also love vtec cuz its an awesome NA engine....summore fuel oso saving...hahhahahaha...

d prob wif a turbo of course is its turbo lag....

by d time d turbo spool at 5k, i think a k20a would be a car ahead of it dy...
hehe....datz y k20a is an awesome drag machine...

obviously turbo can churn out more HP la but wat d heck man....d k20a can giv it a run for its money....go search youtube k20a v evo...hehe

vote for k20a n my x v50 t5!
haha

clanzkiller

Oct 31, 2006
i drive an EK4 vtec...please dun hate me...hehe...if a turbo cucuk me i dun wanna play with it..if a vtec cuck me i still dont wanna play...if even a kancil cucuk me...also i dont wanna play..i just wanna enjoy my ride and rev up alone wit no one kacau me...hehehe...also...vtec is NA and has less hp compare to turbo...NA is difficult to reach 500HP or 600HP like EVO3 or Skyline GTR...so turbo always win in terms of power and acceleration...i know turbo is faster but i just dont need that much of power...so i just go for vtec...160-170whp is enough for me...
same characteristic here bro..
modified for our own satisfaction not for victory

renxun

Jul 4, 2006
how to race...? sometimes when pl say vtec kuat in my local drag race events and yes they did clock time even faster than my 1jz by a tiny bitz.... but come on man... those are the best of the best vtec on the strip.... how much cash they plonk in, how many engine they blew and how much time they spent on tuning it and RnD all make a difference to the end race result.....

but frankly speaking... i dont really test run with others on the road for fun.... its either a small amount of friendly bet n will open it to those friends who wanna be audience... come on man.... dont make us like a sohai race on the road for you to see.... if lose, sama sama loose a little la.... if win .. .sama sama happy and yamcha together la.... it can be as small as 50 to 500... but not too much as it will definitely hurt friendship of both party... dont know about you guys there...wid that small amount it does spice up the match a little bit but yet both owner cant upgrade anything or do anything as the bet is so small that it cant cover anything... :thefinger:

raja_emeperor

Apr 29, 2006
aiyo...im own turbo engine, dvvt engine and now looking for honda accord sm4, any one selling cheap?
time to move to next project car here. i love vtec now! shit! praggggggg!!!!!!

farizio

Nov 26, 2007
Vtec or Turbo.

apple or oranges.

chocolate or vanilla.

i think its great man made both cos we get a choice.

and even if you picked turbo, you still got a choice... a responsive setup or more top end but kicks in at a later rpm.

i'm sure some of us here will never understand why some people like superbikes more than cars or why some pick JDM over conti. sendiri suka la...

To Whom May It Concern.......

:X-:

Wanna do DIY their simple/cheap/easy heat shield or sumthing look alike pipercross viper....

an idea,maybe can used unused tupperware(bigger) for the filter......(same concept as VIPER)

sumthing like this