Formula Drift 2009! Zerotohundred.com - Home
Subscribe to Zerotohundred.com Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos

Alex Yoong Disappointed At New Mercedes-Petronas Deal

December 22, 2009

Alex Yoong

Despite being linked with both Sauber and the Malaysian backed Lotus team, Malaysian oil company Petronas has signed as title sponsor for Mercedes for 2010.

Malaysia’s first – and so far only – Formula One driver Alex Yoong, who is now head of driver development for Lotus, has expressed his despair at the deal on Twitter.

“Petronas signs with Mercedes GP,” he wrote. “Words fail me. Mercedes is a good team, no doubt, but what Lotus is doing is completely ground-breaking and brave and Petronas not seeing that fills me with shame.”

The exact length and value of the Petronas deal has not been announced, but team principal Ross Brawn welcomed the news.

“Everyone at Mercedes GP is delighted to confirm our long-term agreement with Petronas and we look forward to working closely with our new partner in the future,” he said. “Our plans for the new season are progressing well, as is the development of our 2010 challenger, and we look forward to seeing the car run in the new Silver Arrows and Petronas livery at the Valencia test in February.”

The sponsorship is good news for Mercedes, after German consumer goods company Henkel announced it would not be honouring a deal with the team as it was brokered by an unauthorised member of staff. However, Mercedes motorsport boss Norbert Haug said the contract with Petronas would ensure the team’s competitiveness in 2010.

“Within the limits of the new Formula One resource restrictions, the Mercedes GP Petronas Formula One Team will be well positioned to achieve our goals. We will all strive to present efficient success in the future knowing at the same time that the new season, with some fundamental rule changes, will be a particularly challenging one.”

Source: ESPNF1

Related Posts

1. Mercedes GP Petronas Unveils It’s 2010 Car For The First Time
  2. Formula One: Petronas To Stay With Sauber
  3. Team Mercedes GP Petronas Reveals New 2010 Drivers and Car Livery
  4. Officially Official: Petronas Signs 5-Year Agreement To Partner Mercedes in Formula One
  5. Mercedes GP Confirms Nico Rosberg As 2010 Driver

Comments

Please reply constructively, or comments may be removed.

69 Responses to “Alex Yoong Disappointed At New Mercedes-Petronas Deal”

1. FVel says:

Teo,

You are getting boring. Do you actually have anything relevant to say about the issues of F1 sponsorhip besides harping on about my style of speech ?

Walk into the kitchen, complain about the heat. Walk into the middle of a debate, complain about the strong opinions. You give new meaning to the word ‘pretentious’.

Don’t be a killjoy, allright ? No one likes a ‘good-two shoes’ who walks up centre-stage and start his grand-standing routine about political correctness. Go preach to your flock at Church. This ain’t no Sunday parish for group hugs.

If you have a glass chin and can’t take a little hazing amongst debaters…..well, it’s not my problem if your sensitivities are built like fine china-ware. Ever been to Parliament and sit through a session ? I’ve been to local Parliament, Westminster and Austalian more times than I care to rremember. If you think I say politically incorrect things, obviously you never seen the spectacle of elected reps having a go at each other in the hallowed halls of the corridors of power…lol

Now do you actually have anything to say about the Petronas sponsorhsip ?

P.S. yeah I know the holidays are coming up. You don’t have to keep reminding me. Festive or not, it doesn’t change my disposition.

2. FVel says:

“sleepyhead says:
    December 23, 2009 at 8:05 pmMalaysian should disappointed with AY because most of the time AY failed to qualified in F1 qualifying..but now he become a head of driver development..hahahah..who appointed him must be crazy or didn’t watch the time AY become a F1 driver..hahaha ridiculous”

He may not have been an accomplished driver in his carreer, but that doesn’t necessarily mean he cannot ultimately turn out to be a good motivator and driver-manager. It’s different skill sets you are talking about between driving and managing drivers.

Personally, I feel he should at least be given a chance to make something of his current appointment. Who knows, he might do a good job. Contrast that with a guy like Kimi with all the raw talent but none of the team commitment that ultimately led to his departure from Ferrri. All things being equal, I can’t imagine anyone preferring to employ Kimi (over Alex) to be Head of Driver Development.

3. trnsys says:

Arguements aside,I support Petronas wholeheartedly for doing what they presume is right which is to take calculated risk and going to sponsor Mercedes,seeing how good it could means for on the marketting side and possibly on Formula 1 itself,having known that Schumi will be driving for Silver Arrows does make it a safer bet if theres one.

I dont think a local team should have a defacto sponsor.pun intended they should earn their share first,just like asking your dad to sponsor you to convert your engine where you didnt even score your exams to show my paradigm.

4. FVel says:

I wonder what the cars will look like though ?

Mercedes was quite adamant that they retain their traditional Silver Arrows look. So I guess ultimately the green/white logos of Petronas ought to be featured prominently as they are a major sponsor but not too prominent as to take away from the Silver cars.

5. Null says:

are talking about petronas and F1 or some political views… hermmmm heheheh

6. Kira X says:

hey,guys!i know how u all feel.its true that AY weak on 300KPH monster.Do u all ever thinking that human have their on limits?AY is a good driver,just miss some hyper skill to control 300 beast.don get to upset with him.if i wrong,don u guys go and test urs for it.words don prove so much.think urself b4 critics others.

7. Kira X says:

hey,guys!i know how u all feel.its true that AY weak on 300KPH monster.Do u all ever thinking that human have their on limits?AY is a good driver,just miss some hyper skill to control 300 beast.don get to upset with him.if i wrong,don u guys go and test urs for it.words don prove so much.think urself b4 critics others.pity 4 lotus.

8. feliccw says:

kira x, kira x…….

In F1, as a driver…u do need to push to the limit as wat all these car are build off. All these F1 cars are built for speed. If ya dun have the stamina, mentality, attitude and hardworking…u will never hav a gud result. Plus, ur taking millions of dollar for ur paycheck.

As for Alex, is he a gud driver????based on previous result…is a bit doubtful……whether he can wrestle with the big boys…

I can only say…..Alex Yoong….please do proof me wrong…..wooh me

9. teamsleepnine says:

null;zerotohundred>>>malaysia today

10. race fan says:

feliccw,

What exactly are you expecting Alex to prove you wrong about?

That he is a great race driver? or that he is a great head of driver development at Lotus F1?

The two are not exactly related.

11. topspeed says:

hahahaha… what u want to disappointed about??? u already been given a chance but u dont prove it?????????

Petronas is multibillionaire company so do u think they will support multicents company?? If u are the boss of petronas of coz u doing the same thing.

Lotus??? what the most achievement u have??? not even asian top 10 car so????

12. Lau says:

SHUT UP ALEX

13. ONE TIME ENTRY says:

I think having Petronas sponsor another team is good. Now we have 2 teams carrying Malaysia flag..If either team fails, we still have another..HAHAHHAA…But for Merc combine wit Michael plus Ross to fail miserably??? Nah…I dont think so…Maybe at worst, N0.3..hahah ALEX!! You had your chance in dropping our water face! Enough of complaining, just do your best in the job given to you…

14. monk says:

er…no one likes alex?…LOL…guess he should have just remained silent..wahahaha

15. Mr Y says:

Think he is jelous that petronas didn’t bother to hire him as a driver instead. they hire the great Michael Schumacher. wakakaaka… just realize the fact that he cant race.

16. speed says:

im not supporting alex, but u guys should not just consider the reason he lose is because his a bad driver, u have to take into consideration that the car he drove was not as competitive as other f1 car.

17. A1Diablo says:

His twitter stated:

“Mercedez a good team, no doubt but what Lotus is doing is completely ground breaking+brave and Petronas not seeing that fills me with shame.”

There is nothing outrageous about his statement and given his alliance with Lotus F1 naturally he is biased but like you and me, he is entitled to his opinion.. He expressed his views and the media took it, added spice and blew it out of proportion.

His abilities as a race driver is irrelevant to the matter.

Still he is one of Malaysia’s top 2 race drivers and having worked with him I can tell you he is no where near as bad as his time at Minardi made him out to be. That was simply a lousy career move for him and which he has since moved on from but we Malaysians just can’t get over.

Alex did earn for our team (A1TM) 3 wins, 3 poles and 3 fastest lap during his time in A1GP. He also earned recognition from BRDC in 2006 with the Bruce Mclaren trophy. It means BRDC recognized him as the best driver from the commonwealth that year. It’s a significant achievement. Google BRDC.

So lets give this topic a rest shall we.

18. anonymous user says:

well imo, from the patriotic point of view Petronas shouldn’t do that

from the marketing point of view !! it was a wise move by Petronas !

btw i cannot blame Petronas to team up with Mercedes GP bcoz Petronas has really good ties with Germany !

many Malaysian Petronas engineers are German grads !

19. anonymous user says:

ooo i almost forgot

since this is an issue (small one)

how about Petronas become a small sponsor for team lotus.

something like INTEL with Williams, Toyota and BMW Sauber ??

Leave a Reply

thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
 thumbnail
Home Features News Forums The Marketplace Showcase Videos
'(00) 2008 Zerotohundred.com - The Automotive Lifestyle Network | Terms of Use | Visitor Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact Us