wira 1.5 (m) change to 1.6 (a) gearbox

Kyusuke_FD3S

Aug 14, 2006
Hi everyone,

Any advice, if wira 1.5 (m) change to 1.6 (a) gearbox ? Recond or 2nd hand gear box ?
I am planning to install ATF cooler as well to prolong the gearbox lifespan.

Anyone here has done this before?
Total how much it cost?

Thanks.

Why do you want to do that? Just changing gearbox or engine as well? If only gearbox.. its going to be a very slow potato...

Not really. The 1.6 auto is a 4-speed long ratio gb. It'll be a slow and steady potato. :biggrin:

kyusuke, the 3-speed auto is more durable and can take more punishment than the 4-speed auto. Not to mention the 4-speed is rare. If you find any from workshops or halfcuts, make sure you test the gb first, because back then a lot of 1.6 auto Wiras were not known for reliability. But then again most of the time it was because of ignorant owners. Anyway, that still means there's not a lot of good condition ones out there. If you have the budget find one, overhaul it then only install it. A cooler is a good idea with this GB but don't get an overly large one. oil pressure and oil levels is very important to this GB.

Kyusuke_FD3S

Aug 14, 2006
Guys, thanks for the comments

I wanted to change due to few reason:
1. My clutch cable is heavy. Change clutch cover, clutch cable.. i still feel my leg suffer.
2. Manual in traffic jam is suffer.

Either i go for clutch pump or auto.
If i go for clutch pump need firewall mod and GB lever mounting is different for cable and pump.
Not sure can just change lever by not changing GB.

---------- Post added at 08:05 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:02 AM ----------

Not really. The 1.6 auto is a 4-speed long ratio gb. It'll be a slow and steady potato. :biggrin:

kyusuke, the 3-speed auto is more durable and can take more punishment than the 4-speed auto. Not to mention the 4-speed is rare. If you find any from workshops or halfcuts, make sure you test the gb first, because back then a lot of 1.6 auto Wiras were not known for reliability. But then again most of the time it was because of ignorant owners. Anyway, that still means there's not a lot of good condition ones out there. If you have the budget find one, overhaul it then only install it. A cooler is a good idea with this GB but don't get an overly large one. oil pressure and oil levels is very important to this GB.
If the GB not attach with car.. cannot try :(

---------- Post added at 08:32 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:05 AM ----------

By the way, can share any tips to test auto GB?

Guys, thanks for the comments

I wanted to change due to few reason:
1. My clutch cable is heavy. Change clutch cover, clutch cable.. i still feel my leg suffer.
2. Manual in traffic jam is suffer.

Either i go for clutch pump or auto.
If i go for clutch pump need firewall mod and GB lever mounting is different for cable and pump.
Not sure can just change lever by not changing GB.
Are you prepared for power loss and a little higher FC if you go for auto? If yes then a swap over to a 3-speed auto is quite straightforward.

If you need a mech who's able to sort you out with the clutch pump installation, let me know. I can introduce a guy to you.

By the way, can share any tips to test auto GB?
If the GB is in the car - which is the only way to test it, just shift it into gear (D) with the brake on and see if it jerks really hard (bad) or takes very long to engage (bad). Shift to R as well and see how that responds. If you're allowed to test drive, stick it in D and drive normally. Make sure it shifts through the 4 gears smoothly. A slight jerk is fine, but a violent jerk is bad. If it doesn't shift through all 4 gears that's bad too.

The same applies for the 3-speed. If you get a good price for the broken GB like couple hundred bucks, then just buy it and send to a GB specialist to service and fix. It'll cost about 500 to 1000 depending on what needs to be fixed.

Auto's aren't cheap to fix but then again manuals are the same also.

ken yeang

yeah, typically autobox that refuses to upshift even engine rpm reaches 4000 is oso bad....
If the autobox in the car, check for fluid leaks at the undercarriage. This is another clue that suggest the box in questionable condition.

i'm afraid cant be done due to ori 4g1x series autobox doesn't have tcu....meanwhile 4g9x autobox do have tcu married with ecu wiring loom...

Kyusuke_FD3S

Aug 14, 2006
Are you prepared for power loss and a little higher FC if you go for auto? If yes then a swap over to a 3-speed auto is quite straightforward.

If you need a mech who's able to sort you out with the clutch pump installation, let me know. I can introduce a guy to you.

If the GB is in the car - which is the only way to test it, just shift it into gear (D) with the brake on and see if it jerks really hard (bad) or takes very long to engage (bad). Shift to R as well and see how that responds. If you're allowed to test drive, stick it in D and drive normally. Make sure it shifts through the 4 gears smoothly. A slight jerk is fine, but a violent jerk is bad. If it doesn't shift through all 4 gears that's bad too.

The same applies for the 3-speed. If you get a good price for the broken GB like couple hundred bucks, then just buy it and send to a GB specialist to service and fix. It'll cost about 500 to 1000 depending on what needs to be fixed.

Auto's aren't cheap to fix but then again manuals are the same also.
I am staying in penang.
Ur mechanic that can sort out the clutch pump from penang too?

Not sure why your clutch is heavy? Maybe pressure plate not good. I had Wira 1.5 before and was driven mostly by my wife and clutch is very light even though run by cable...

sifus...my speedometer is not working all of the sudden...the meter is not running..what can i do to fix the prob??pls help me..thanks