Vios Rpm Issue

• Fixed New Thread missing Editor: Hi Everyone, the issue with posting a new thread or a reply that shows a missing editor has been fixed. More updates to the forums will be added on in the coming days, we apologize for the inconveniece this has caused

cecilio

Hi

my vios 2004 (first generation) give some strange RPM reading recently. When i drive highway for constant speed of 80km/h and the RPM reading is at 2000 rpm. I know this is bit high as previously i only got < 2000 rpm for 80km/h.

I can hear the engine also bit more noisy.

Does anyone has face this problem before and please advice how to rectify it ?

Thanks.

On which gear when cruising 80kmph ? OD off izit ? maybe aircon compressor siao siao ?

air intake in good condition ma?check spark plug,air filter,engine oil and atf oil condition?yes,running 80km/h 4th gear?:hmmmm:

cruising @ 80km/h the torque converter should have locked up and your reading shouldnt change. when's the last u changed ur ATF?

good one chinozie! I am confused by one of the points tho. It says if you can slow down in neutral without the engine stalling the converter is at fault? How is that even a problem? or am i missing a point here... :hmmmm:

errrrrr...yaa lor...
I often do that also...put into "N" drive while slowing down to a red traffic light without stalling...

hmmmm...I think it's the other way around...slow down n stall...i think...

Will cause such problem if change gear to N while approaching a red light and stop the car? I usually do that...free the gear and control the brakes to put the car into a full stop slowly...