Vibrate When "D": Engine Coil Faulty?

after change of spark plugs (to NGK Platinum), my cefiro begins to experience vibration and jerky when car stops and gear placed at D or R. Mech confirmed not caused by the plugs. Anyone encountered similar problem? I read across some threads advising such a problem is a symptom of faulty engine coil. any comments? if yes, approx how much to spend?

2nd problem is that my steering vibrates/shakes at very low speed. balancing checked. driveshaft cover (outer) changed. tiremen recomm mechanic to check whole driveshaft coz even bearings can cause this problem. any comments?

pardon me as i know it might be repetition of questions but i've just got my hands on this babe 2 weeks ago...still in the process of refurbishing it! :_:

Si-fu teckweng, lokeky, lawcc, defcon1....

0909 said:
after change of spark plugs (to NGK Platinum), my cefiro begins to experience vibration and jerky when car stops and gear placed at D or R. Mech confirmed not caused by the plugs. Anyone encountered similar problem? I read across some threads advising such a problem is a symptom of faulty engine coil. any comments? if yes, approx how much to spend?

2nd problem is that my steering vibrates/shakes at very low speed. balancing checked. driveshaft cover (outer) changed. tiremen recomm mechanic to check whole driveshaft coz even bearings can cause this problem. any comments?

pardon me as i know it might be repetition of questions but i've just got my hands on this babe 2 weeks ago...still in the process of refurbishing it! :_:

Si-fu teckweng, lokeky, lawcc, defcon1....

It's difficult to answer you based on your description. I need to know a few more things first...

a) Did you experience any of these vibrations or jerking before you changed the spark plugs? Engine coils (our car has 6...) do not come about all of a sudden. You feel some intermittent misfiring first...and it carries on that way for a long time. Vibration and jerking immediately after changing plugs suggests to me that you may be using the wrong rating of spark plug. I'll post the specific rating later when I get home. I think I have a set of stock Nissan plugs in the house.

If you put in plugs that are too "cool"...your ignition will not be smooth, and you will misfire. You will feel it at low rpm's and low speed, cos your alternator is moving slowly and your car is not building charge as fast as when your car is on the move.

b) The vibration in your steering...only when you move slowly or also when stationary? I need to know this. It is very possible that something may be wrong with your drive shaft...try getting your mech to regrease the drive shaft joint first and see if it improves. But the more likely reason would be that your lower arm bushings and/or are worn out and have to be replaced.

Please understand that it is extremely difficult to diagnose your problems based on your description. Even the type of vibration is important.

If you are around Subang Jaya (weekend) or Kelana Jaya (working day), give me a call and we can meet for lunch. Then I can test drive it and determine where the problem maybe coming from.

yo bro defcon1, assuming we descend down a bumpy carpark slope...with all the small gutters, and i feel that my steering wobble and had heavu vibration..does that mean that I'm suffering the same prob like 0909? or it is just the gutters....during normal driving, everything is ok....

Hi nlexis and 0909,
The problem maybe from your steering rack bush , it could be worn out or break and cause the steering rack moving left and right . i was experience this before
Both side cost less that RM100 original from Nissan.

Hope this will help your

A329878 said:
Hi nlexis and 0909,
The problem maybe from your steering rack bush , it could be worn out or break and cause the steering rack moving left and right . i was experience this before
Both side cost less that RM100 original from Nissan.

Hope this will help your

Actually, I think the problem is more complicated than that...

Steering rack bush problems typically allow the steering rack to move to the left and to the right. So, when moving, you turn left, and then straighten out after the corner, your steering wheel does not return to centre point but skews slightly to the left. The same when you turn right, your steering wheel does not return to centre but stays skewed to the right.

Nlexis problem is easier to diagnose. When running over rough roads, you feel knocking coming from the front undercarriage, that you can feel through the steering. This knocking is coming from the lower arms. The forward bushings are probably worn, and/or your ball joints need replacing. This is a typical problem of heavy cars...and we do drive a heavy car... :smile:

Get them checked, and replace what needs replacing. Bushings and ball joints will set you back a few hundred ringgit, but well worth the investment to stop the noise.

defcon1,

a) Did you experience any of these vibrations or jerking before you changed the spark plugs?
0909: frankly, i changed the plugs 2 days after i got the car. but i recall not having such jerkiness though.
Engine coils (our car has 6...) do not come about all of a sudden. You feel some intermittent misfiring first...and it carries on that way for a long time. Vibration and jerking immediately after changing plugs suggests to me that you may be using the wrong rating of spark plug. I'll post the specific rating later when I get home. I think I have a set of stock Nissan plugs in the house.
0909: plz do....

b) The vibration in your steering...only when you move slowly or also when stationary? I need to know this.
0909: yes, from slow (at D, no acceleration at all) to even 60kmh
It is very possible that something may be wrong with your drive shaft...try getting your mech to regrease the drive shaft joint first and see if it improves.
0909: My mech darn busy type...says kaput straight off. i reckon he's not quite willing to do it. quoted RM2++ for a recond one.
But the more likely reason would be that your lower arm bushings and/or are worn out and have to be replaced.
0909: i've long heard about these "bushes" but will mechs be willing to just check it? coz usually u know-lar...they want to slash kau-kau! Maybe the ones that i've been to are....sigh....

If you are around Subang Jaya (weekend) or Kelana Jaya (working day), give me a call and we can meet for lunch. Then I can test drive it and determine where the problem maybe coming from.
0909: YES PLZZZ... I'm stayin & working in puchong. can i see u t'row if it won't disrupt your family day? coz cannot tahan oredi. also, i've not much time to spend next week... a reassignment. plz reach me at 012-2310909.

defcon1,

i think i misintepreted the "feel" i experience with the steering. it should be more like what A329878 says...moving left right profusely...not vibrating like when the tires' off-balanced (traveling at high speed). sorry,bro!

just called ph auto & they confirmed the ratings of the plugs supplied to me is correct, NGK Platinum TFR 6G-11. Defects on new ones not heard of, yet. he suggested ignition coils might be faulty. each costs RM185! jeez...

The vibrating feeling to me sounds like powersteering fluid & pump problem. When the powersteering fluid level low, you will get this "lost of power assist" feeling or jerking. Maybe can take a look at the pump for leakage?

My 2 cents

a) vibrate while D or R - problem solved after changed of plugs back to old ones.

b) steering jerkiness/wobble - pending...will know after change of front tires next week. yet, I've changed some related parts i.e. tie rod ends, PS rack+bushes,ball joints.

dream.tent said:
The vibrating feeling to me sounds like powersteering fluid & pump problem. When the powersteering fluid level low, you will get this "lost of power assist" feeling or jerking. Maybe can take a look at the pump for leakage?

My 2 cents

no dude, kau-tim liao. it's the tires. changed all 4 pirelli 'all-season' to conti CC1s. RM210 per pc. Dated 0806. a good grab, i think. to any cefirons...if u wanna buy CC1 at cheap price, i guess this is the one. others i've enquired cost $250-$280 per pc. yet, they don't stock-up for CC2s. A shop in sunway (can see them in lelong.com) selling $260 only (after trade-in old ones), where market price around $290-$330.

0909 said:
no dude, kau-tim liao. it's the tires. changed all 4 pirelli 'all-season' to conti CC1s. RM210 per pc. Dated 0806. a good grab, i think. to any cefirons...if u wanna buy CC1 at cheap price, i guess this is the one. others i've enquired cost $250-$280 per pc. yet, they don't stock-up for CC2s. A shop in sunway (can see them in lelong.com) selling $260 only (after trade-in old ones), where market price around $290-$330.

You are fortunate man...In a month time you solved your issue.

The way you spent money on your feilo is exactly as the way I spent on mine when I first got the car in Jan 2005. But I already spent > RM11k (including engine replacement which cost RM1.8k (RM1k engine + labour + parts) in a year and yet still not solving all my issues yet.

Lawcc said:

The way you spent money on your feilo is exactly as the way I spent on mine when I first got the car in Jan 2005. But I already spent > RM11k (including engine replacement which cost RM1.8k (RM1k engine + labour + parts) in a year and yet still not solving all my issues yet.
er law...dont be so picky la...:biggrin:
its used car mah...cant expect to be like new car condition...hehe
btw, still got prob meh?

Lawcc said:

lawcc, i keep my fingers & toes crossed that nothing more creeps up. but come to think of it...my last car, a new '05 accord i-vtec, gave crackling noises since day 1, which i didn't seemed to care much back then. yet now, a used car, with similar probs, i am being so much 'picky' even of a lightest crackling/knocking sound. sigh..i guess my sensitivity must have gotten the best of me. i'm more settled down now after a month of non-stop rat race over fixing those problems. just my 2cents, bro.

0909 said:
lawcc, i keep my fingers & toes crossed that nothing more creeps up. but come to think of it...my last car, a new '05 accord i-vtec, gave crackling noises since day 1, which i didn't seemed to care much back then. yet now, a used car, with similar probs, i am being so much 'picky' even of a lightest crackling/knocking sound. sigh..i guess my sensitivity must have gotten the best of me. i'm more settled down now after a month of non-stop rat race over fixing those problems. just my 2cents, bro.
its a non stop work if u wanna to have a perfect car coz in the real world...not even ferrari its perfect...:biggrin:

0909 said:
Same as me leh...My previous citroen I don't even care to change the suspension, even maintenance also never follow the schedule. Drive more than 1 year never change engine oil and filter.....

And for this cefiro, is totally different story...My wife also say I "overdo" it. even up to a stage of buying a diagnostic scanner which some of our mechanic does not have one....

Lawcc said:
Same as me leh...My previous citroen I don't even care to change the suspension, even maintenance also never follow the schedule. Drive more than 1 year never change engine oil and filter.....

And for this cefiro, is totally different story...My wife also say I "overdo" it. even up to a stage of buying a diagnostic scanner which some of our mechanic does not have one....
Law...nevermind la..u can be A32 Doctor mah...we should call u Doc...hehe
can diagnos our sickness...hehe

charge a teh tarik or roti canai for every checkup la..ok or not? :biggrin: