Turbine and Exhaust getting hot too fast..

DJ-EVO3

I drive kau kau for 2km and pop the hood.. it seems orange (at night)

I guess it's not supposed to be like this.... why is it like this?

anyone knows?

less fueling?

oil leaking?

why?

please share me ur comments..

sounds normal to me...

how high is your boost?
wat engine? parts?

may be your setting wrong already..

you make you engine too lean......

Too lean???

can u give bit more detail of it?

what u mean too lean...? share me ur knowledge..

Sounds normal to me too... if u drive kau kau, surely will turn red la... do u have any idea how hot turbo cars are man!! You can park your car there for an hour, come back, and the bonnet still feels warm.

How high are you boosting anyway? And on what engine? Higher boost will also influence how fast things heat up.

Full converted to Evo3..
(but 2 wheel locked)

max boost 0.8 minimum -0.5 to 0.6...

Thanks bro... for ur info..

Originally posted by L2TurboFool@Dec 19 2004, 15:11
got good ventilation?
sounds normal to me cos for me after 15mins of ramp with 1.4 bar,my turbine become red @ nite time oso.. ;)

If it's a little glow, very, very, very dull maroon, you're ok. Most turbines will get pretty hot after boosting constantly for a while. Especially if you have fairly high boost levels. Which is the whole reason why we have turbo timers.

But if it is actually glowing red and damn obvious to the naked eye, or if it's actually orange like you say, the extractor and turbine is pretty much approching a molten temperature, which should vapourise engine oil upon contact.

So, no lah, I think you're exaggerating the very faint glow ler. Normal lah, don't worry.

turbo engine is like that. mine also the same for awhile i drived the engine very hot liao. if i boots sure red after 15 mins. it what i try before boots 15mins then open and saw red liao.

its normal for it to turn redish...but if its like VERY RED and BRIGHT then u haf a lil prob..

Also, if you have a exhaust temperature meter, try to monitor it. If the temperature gets too extreme (this depends on where you mount the sensor), you might have a problem with too retarded ignition timing, which will cause your exhaust side and turbine to get very hot.