Timing belt or timing chain?

Jun 7, 2006
Dear colleagues,

Im planning to buy a toyota Altezza RS200 year 1998. Now im working overseas and planning to bring back this car to Malaysia. Now im using a nissan skyline gtst and this car eat a lot of petrol and off course a very high roadtax in malaysia(2.5 litter).So i would like to know about this:

a) This alltezza engine use timing belt or chain?
b) how to differenciate between RS200 and AS200?
c) Servicable parts and maintaines wise in Malaysia

Thanks bros.

porosaki

Sep 16, 2004
a) This alltezza engine use timing belt or chain?
timing belt
totally a different car, only sharing the same chassis. thats all.
c) Servicable parts and maintaines wise in Malaysia
servicable & maintenance parts are available here cause we have
WING HIN (TOYOTA parts distributor in Malaysia or Vision TOM'S)

Wish u luck in getting your altezza.

JayDM

Mar 2, 2006

As both the RS200 and the AS200 share the same chasis, u need to pop the hood and look at the engine ... The most obvious difference will be that the RS runs on a 3sge 4cylinder Beams (Yamaha-Toyota collab.)engine whereas the AS runs on a 1gfe 6cylinder engine..

The engine cover on the RS200 has got the words "Yamaha"/"Beams"/"3s-ge" engraved on it..

Good luck:regular_smile:

Lumix

May 17, 2004
Just check the chassis code, it will tell

Altezza Chassis code

3S-GE 6MT RS200 GF-SXE10-AEFVF

Z Edition GF-SXE10-AEFVF(Z)
L Edition GF-SXE10-AEFVF(A)

3S-GE 5AT RS200 GF-SXE10-AEAVF

Z Edition GF-SXE10-AEAVF(Z)
L Edition GF-SXE10-AEAVF(A)

1S-GE 6MT AS200 TA-GXE10-AEFVK

Z Edition TA-GXE10-AEFVK(Z)
L Edition TA-GXE10-AEFVK(A)

4AT AS200 TA-GXE10-AEPVK

Z Edition TA-GXE10-AEPVK(Z)
L Edition TA-GXE10-AEPVK(A)

Test

Oct 19, 2005
Hi hammerfall,

Show you some pics here, maintenance parts are available in Malaysia all the time.

Beams dual vvti engine - RS200 model

Timing belt - engine

Water pump

Bearings

porosaki

Sep 16, 2004
AS200 comes with only 16 inch rims
RS200 comes with 17 inch rims.

this is for easy spotting.
besides that u really need to pop the hood.

hammerfall

Jun 7, 2006
Thanks a lot bros for the very informative replies...for sure i will get my altezza...

cheers..!

Test

Oct 19, 2005
Hammerfall,

Hey mate come join our gathering once you are back here cos all nice buddies are waiting for you.

JayDM,

Thanks mate! :X-:

hi all great sifu out there....i just want to know which is the best inches rim to masuk on my wira 1.5:_: :hmmmm: ..? any sugesstion?: