Steel ram pipe + Siemens ECU

  • '(00): currently testing temporary changes to the site and ad serving, sorry for any weirdness experienced, people! Please do send any feedback here: Contact us

Kusa

500 RPM
Senior Member

Kusa

500 RPM
Senior Member
Dec 15, 2004
988
0
3,016
Kuala Lumpur
kusahafiez.blogspot.com
Yea hi sifus..

I'm driving a 2001 Satria Auto, and i wanted to change my air filter to open pod with steel ram pipe. However, the potential seller said that my car would probably managed by the infamous siemens ecu and the filter can't be used on my car.. so here i am wondering... my car was bought late 2001, so that'll make it siemens, right? and what if i simply pasang the thing, what'll happen?

Thanks ya friends!
 

menghua84

Known Member
Senior Member

menghua84

Known Member
Senior Member
Feb 15, 2004
396
0
3,016
skudai/ perak
Visit site
ur air sensor canot fit into the steel pipe rite? try get other steel air ram pipe which got a hole tat can fit in ur air intake sensor.. done!
 

BabyPups

1,500 RPM
Senior Member

BabyPups

1,500 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 4, 2004
1,742
0
3,136
Originally posted by Kusa@Jan 31 2005, 18:01
Yea hi sifus..

I'm driving a 2001 Satria Auto, and i wanted to change my air filter to open pod with steel ram pipe. However, the potential seller said that my car would probably managed by the infamous siemens ecu and the filter can't be used on my car.. so here i am wondering... my car was bought late 2001, so that'll make it siemens, right? and what if i simply pasang the thing, what'll happen?

Thanks ya friends!
kusa, see my car
classic example
just did it hehehhehe
not technical enuff to explain to u :)
 

Kusa

500 RPM
Senior Member

Kusa

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Dec 15, 2004
988
0
3,016
Kuala Lumpur
kusahafiez.blogspot.com
Originally posted by BabyPups+Jan 31 2005, 18:56 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (BabyPups @ Jan 31 2005, 18:56 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-Kusa@Jan 31 2005, 18:01
Yea hi sifus..

I'm driving a 2001 Satria Auto, and i wanted to change my air filter to open pod with steel ram pipe. However, the potential seller said that my car would probably managed by the infamous siemens ecu and the filter can't be used on my car.. so here i am wondering... my car was bought late 2001, so that'll make it siemens, right? and what if i simply pasang the thing, what'll happen?

Thanks ya friends!
kusa, see my car
classic example
just did it hehehhehe
not technical enuff to explain to u :) [/b][/quote]
haha.. when? :P

still at work or gone home already?
 

BabyPups

1,500 RPM
Senior Member

BabyPups

1,500 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 4, 2004
1,742
0
3,136
when u see me collect stickies, i show u lar
 

xcheong

1,500 RPM
Senior Member

xcheong

1,500 RPM
Senior Member
Mar 6, 2004
1,651
1
3,138
Visit site
hmm..
yeah, most probably the air temperature sensor which is the closes to your current air box won't fit into any aftermarket ram pipe i come across.
the only way to install those open pod filters is to remove the air box, retain the OEM pipe from the sensor to the TB, the use the suitable air filter adapter to install your open pod, then ok liao.
it doesn't look nice but it at least keep your sensor safe.
 

drexchan

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

drexchan

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Nov 23, 2004
2,908
100
3,163
Bukit Jalil
drexchan.fotopic.net
That thing is the temperature sensor of MAF sensor oh?!?!

Some one mind to clear the cloud? As fas as i understand, the sensor at the first turn of the S-hose (intake) is the MAF sensor..

Check this out and tell me what's what. Thanks!
 

lancelot_adolph

Active Member
Senior Member

lancelot_adolph

Active Member
Senior Member
Nov 19, 2004
28
0
3,001
dude,



i don think itz a good idea,

i tried mine with open pod filter with the steel ram pipe,

months later, my throttle body blew, a lot of problem with

the sensor...etc. the whole shxt cost me 1k...

;)
 

Joeker

Walking Dead
Senior Member

Joeker

Walking Dead
Senior Member
Nov 19, 2003
3,581
62
3,148
Jinjang
Visit site
Some of my friend with Siemen ECU Wiras installed aftermarket filter and aluminium air intakes.

THey had iddling problems and some had experience engine stalling.

Siemen ECUed engines run on MAP sensors.
 

taqu

Known Member
Senior Member

taqu

Known Member
Senior Member
Dec 17, 2004
207
1
3,018
Visit site
From what I know, Mitsubishi on Wira runs MAP sensor, while Siemens on Wira runs MAF. IMO it's not the fault of MAP/MAF sensor, the problem with rough idle is bcoz those open-pod airfilter sucks more engine heat so it effects air-fuel ratio at idle.
 

masvidal

Known Member
Senior Member

masvidal

Known Member
Senior Member
May 13, 2004
253
1
3,018
Kota Kinabalu
Visit site
i use open pod filter (7 months++), no problem until now.

steel ram pipe with hole for the sensor can be use. last time i already buy that thing, but the problem is, it's too long for my air filter (apexi power intake). maybe can use that with hks mushroom filter.
 

Joeker

Walking Dead
Senior Member

Joeker

Walking Dead
Senior Member
Nov 19, 2003
3,581
62
3,148
Jinjang
Visit site
Originally posted by Joeker@Feb 1 2005, 21:31
Some of my friend with Siemen ECU Wiras installed aftermarket filter and aluminium air intakes.

THey had iddling problems and some had experience engine stalling.

Siemen ECUed engines run on MAP sensors.
Dunno why, tats why I say SOME.

Some of my friends using aftermarket air filter and intakes without any glitches. But some have problems.

Siemens ECUed MAP engines are not mod friendly
 

drexchan

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

drexchan

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Nov 23, 2004
2,908
100
3,163
Bukit Jalil
drexchan.fotopic.net
That's what most of us 'think'. But some said the left one is the air temperature sensor (which really looks like 'thermo couple') and the right one is the MAP sensor.
 

taqu

Known Member
Senior Member

taqu

Known Member
Senior Member
Dec 17, 2004
207
1
3,018
Visit site
drexchan, ur explanation is logical, thanx. Always thought that thing is a MAF sensor.
 

AlucarD

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

AlucarD

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jan 15, 2004
1,079
115
5,163
Drex, the sensor at your Intake is the MAP sensor and the one near the air filter is the air temp. Cars with MAP sensor application always have the sensor located in the intake after the throttle body. Thats why its called Manifold Absolute Pressure.