Stand Alone Ecu (which Better)

sky26

All vtec enthusiast, pls enlight me which stand alone ECU is better. I m new on this ecu thing, pls give me your opinion/preference on which brands, price n where to get. I m currently driving EK with b16a/ daily driver...thanks all sifu!!!

stock b16a, just use the stock ecu. no harm done.

sky26 said:
All vtec enthusiast, pls enlight me which stand alone ECU is better. I m new on this ecu thing, pls give me your opinion/preference on which brands, price n where to get. I m currently driving EK with b16a/ daily driver...thanks all sifu!!!

Depends on what u've done on ur engine. Change ECU is not the 1st thing to be done, do more basic modification 1st.
Spoon, Mine's, J's Racing, Mugen... all have different characteristics. A/F ratio, Vtec engage point, rev cut and settings all different. Even Spoon itself has a few version. U will need to do more study here. Just remember, stand alone ECU cannot run ur engine to the peak, piggy back and manageable ECU can.

if you tune up a b16a, prepare to be disappointed... honda didn't leave much hidden power, so even a tune up won't give you much horsepower (probably around 10 or less.).. but if you're starting with the ECU so you can remap as you modify your engine.. then I think it's a good idea.

As for ECU choice, which tuner do you trust? ask for his specialty, all tuners can tune all sorts of ECU, but probably specialize in only one brand.

sorry! bro, forgot to mention my engine mod, I put in type r piston, port & polish head with valve angle job, balance bottom end, bored trottle body, lighten crankshaft pulley, spoon flywheel, ultra plug cable, arc induction kit and a pair of ken cams(borrow from foreman) set by fei low vtec. pls commend cheers..........

hattech-v said:
what does it mean with stand alone ecu cannot run the engine to the peak?

If u compare to install a manageable ECU or piggy back, the engine should have better performance if it is set by a better tuner.

Standalone ECU could also have problem to manage extremely modded engine like with hi cam, bra bra bra... There is a limit lor...

sasuke said:
If u compare to install a manageable ECU or piggy back, the engine should have better performance if it is set by a better tuner.

Standalone ECU could also have problem to manage extremely modded engine like with hi cam, bra bra bra... There is a limit lor...

ooooohhhh... i know why u say like that... u refering that 'standalone ecu' to something like a normal ecu...

while the manageable ecu is like those emanage/haltech/microtec..
rite?

Seri kembangan, beside the mines housing area... if I m not wrong, hattech u r driving S04 no plate 15xx

actually what i mean is those apexi power fc, hks f- con and those fully programmable stand alone ecu. sorry for the misunderstanding.....

which EMS is better is something u need to spend time reading, checking on prices and have some real-life feedback from the users. to achieve the ultimate power in the 1st place u must have a good running engine by a good engine builder. then u can proceed to extract power frm fine tuning of EMS by a good reputable tuner.

sky26 said:
Seri kembangan, beside the mines housing area... if I m not wrong, hattech u r driving S04 no plate 15xx

yups.. its me..
maybe can tt next time.. at equine park... :shades_smile:

once again, use e-manage better or

just use a mugen/j's racing ECU?

or use both together better?

the mugen/ j's racing might not be tune to ur engine specs rite?

both together...
for me those aftermarket ecu like j's racing, mugen, spoon only meaningful if u know the ecu setting is for what kind of engine setup.
sometime oso depen on ur luck...

Both together??

For me, no point lor. Better u sell mugen or J's racing ECU and use stock ECU to use with Emanage.