Satria 4G92 SOHC to DOHC

softmuffin

Dec 21, 2004
hi there all ZTH users.
just want to know izzit possible to change my satria 1.6 4G92 SOHO to DOHC w/o changing the engine to mivec? And after SOHC to DOHC. if possible can you list out the,

parts:
price:

Where to find the parts and where to fix it.

RTSi

Jan 4, 2005
Originally posted by deep_thinkers@Jan 24 2005, 09:08
i need info on this kind of mod too... please help...
<_<

I think just change block to 4G93..
That's all..
my friend already swaped 1.6 block to 4G93..
erm..not bad. :rolleyes:

alvin24

Yes its possible...

I forgot the complete list of parts you'll need... complete 4G92/93 head (4G91 head won't fit... water jackets tak ngam, engine bore size different so ur compression might be effected if u use 4G91 head, reliability might be a problem too), change of timing belts, new gaskets, etc etc.

Total cost will go up to around 2k++.

You'll probably get around 10hp more from this more (if not less).

Equal priced alternative with much more power increase: high cams + rechipped ECU

Why don't wanna change engine? If u change to mivec... the engine code will still be 4G92, therefore jpj inspection would be unneccessary. Just go there for an engine number change... can do it on your own for 30 bucks like that.

Good luck on your mod... if not mistaken this has been discussed before oso.

RTSi

Jan 4, 2005
Originally posted by alvin24@Jan 24 2005, 13:30
Yes its possible...

I forgot the complete list of parts you'll need... complete 4G92/93 head (4G91 head won't fit... water jackets tak ngam, engine bore size different so ur compression might be effected if u use 4G91 head, reliability might be a problem too), change of timing belts, new gaskets, etc etc.

Total cost will go up to around 2k++.

You'll probably get around 10hp more from this more (if not less).

Equal priced alternative with much more power increase: high cams + rechipped ECU

Why don't wanna change engine? If u change to mivec... the engine code will still be 4G92, therefore jpj inspection would be unneccessary. Just go there for an engine number change... can do it on your own for 30 bucks like that.

Good luck on your mod... if not mistaken this has been discussed before oso.
Yeah Alvin....
agree ! :rolleyes:

HyperRevved 6313

Apr 19, 2005
Cheras
softmuffin said:
hi there all ZTH users.
just want to know izzit possible to change my satria 1.6 4G92 SOHO to DOHC w/o changing the engine to mivec? And after SOHC to DOHC. if possible can you list out the,

parts:
price:

Where to find the parts and where to fix it.
Change engine straight away .... Don waste few thousand juz to increase a little bit more power ....

moppy

Feb 9, 2004
I've converted mine using 4G91 DOHC and so far no problem running.

The cost I have spent is about RM14xx. This including polish and overhaul top head.

If someone quoting RM2k, then it's better to change the engine and no point getting a little power increase.

moppy

Feb 9, 2004
With proper workmanship, it should reliable. My bro, has using it for more than a year without problem. Do u think is reliable? His engine using 4G91 DOHC head, without any problem. No wear n tear and no problem occur.

partyJOE

Nov 10, 2004
tumbs up

moppy said:
With proper workmanship, it should reliable. My bro, has using it for more than a year without problem. Do u think is reliable? His engine using 4G91 DOHC head, without any problem. No wear n tear and no problem occur.
oh u mean u r using 4G92P wit 4G91 head ha...
maybe u can explain more abt this mod here....
which workshop? parts? etc etc...thx

moppy

Feb 9, 2004
Me, is 4G92P + 91 Head

My bro. is 4G93P + 91 Head

I've been running for few months without any problem.

My bro. has running more than a yr also without problem.

Basically this is what you need for conversion
1) The DOHC head - RM400
2) Top Gasket - RM130
3) 4G91 Distributor - Rm150
4) Oil n Timing bearing - RM116
5) Timing Belt - Free
6) Timing Tensioner - RM100
7) Engine mounting support saddle (LH) - RM45
8) Engine mounting - RM30
9) Oil n Timing Seal - RM24

Labour to fit and overhaul the top head - RM350

Polish - RM150

Hope this help.

Excalibur

Feb 9, 2005
NoWay2Run
Why dont just go for this(PIC)... Is ready to "ta pou" back those F**ker whose lin C with thier new stock 4g63 & stock 4g93...

There tought that just change engine & the car can go very fast lah..... Can bully small cc car lah... let 4g92 bully those big cc back...!!!(soon)

moppy

Feb 9, 2004
Excalibur said:
Why dont just go for this(PIC)... Is ready to "ta pou" back those F**ker whose lin C with thier new stock 4g63 & stock 4g93...

There tought that just change engine & the car can go very fast lah..... Can bully small cc car lah... let 4g92 bully those big cc back...!!!(soon)
Are you comparing a

4G92P Turbo with NA 4G93 or 4G63?

Or you comparing a 4G92P Turbo with 4G93T and 4G63T?

softmuffin

Dec 21, 2004
Hello dude, cool information
how about the workshop?

moppy said:
Me, is 4G92P + 91 Head

1) The DOHC head - RM400
2) Top Gasket - RM130
5) Timing Belt - Free

Polish - RM150

Hope this help.

softmuffin

Dec 21, 2004
Hello dude,
I just feel a bit weird for you brother case. Since ur brother is using 4G93P why want to change the head to 91. pick up or for fun ...
anywhere no hardfeeling

moppy said:
Me, is 4G92P + 91 Head

1) The DOHC head - RM400
2) Top Gasket - RM130
5) Timing Belt - Free

Polish - RM150

Hope this help.

Hi guys

I know it suppose to be hot during engine on but do they also hot during enggine off?

Morning engine checking and accidently touch it and found out very hot. Ignition key off and engine not start yet. Before this it cold during morning.

Not sure what the cause but it's something to do with resistor faulty? Any method to check if this resistor faulty and what is the common sympton?

Any comments are appreciated. Thanks