New LEDs brightens the highway

keshy

http://www.autoblog.com/media/2007/11/solarlite-road-stud2a.jpg

The world needs more inventions like this. Not nuclear bombs, politics or cars that drive themselves but this, a simple light that uses no battery’s that can help a driver see up to 900 meters away in the dark. How cool is that? Makes you wonder why didn’t they think of that in the first place. Called the Astucia SolarLite flush road stud, the thing emits LED light which is powered by small solar panels. So good bye environment polluting batteries.

The British have implemented this technological marvel on 120 roads and apparently night time accident’s are down a dramatic 70%. But the best news is this, this tiny, almost insignificant gadget has helped increase reaction times to over 30 seconds, previously, with standard reflectors, it was only 3.2 seconds. Imagine the amount of lives this thing will save. Now imagine, how you can finally see where you’re going when you are sideways through a hairpin in the dark. Oh, the joy.

Edit(Tom): There is in fact a few stretches along the North-South PLUS highway after Ayer Keroh towards Johor filled with LEDs like these. They run all through a 2 KM winding stretch. Though i'm not sure if they are of the same technology but you can literally turn off your head lights and rely on the LEDs to guide you.

problem is over here, these stuff disappear faster than they can install it...all thanks to fast action vandalisms

think at d bright side..vandalism is a small issue nowadays. ppl now get smarter lah i think. public phone 4 instance, compare to 5-10 yrs back ppl like to smash it. very little such case like that now . like this led, if place it at high speed hiway like federal or nkve, susah ppl want to remove it bcs suddenly the CLK or M5 will ram over them on its top speed.

mayb its not vandalism..if these LEDs r expensive, ppl will simply steal if frm highways to sell...haha

haha yeah it always comes down to the general public's mentality... sigh. We get benefits, we abuse it. We don't get, we complain.

i wonder how vandalism would vandalised it on the road... who would park on the side and smash every little thing that that LED had.. mmmmmmmmm... a waste of time if u asked me... but it does help us drivers at night though.... great technology

"We get benefits, we abuse it. We don't get, we complain."
"who would park on the side and smash every little thing that that LED had." <---rite..see, i told ya.

i wonder how vandalism would vandalised it on the road... who would park on the side and smash every little thing that that LED had.. mmmmmmmmm... a waste of time if u asked me... but it does help us drivers at night though.... great technology

this is malaysia.. anything is possible..
even the reflective stuff also ppl wanna take... LED?.. hahaha..

problem is over here, these stuff disappear faster than they can install it...all thanks to fast action vandalisms

hahaha,yea yea your right.
but mostly if they able to have it here i think its better to put in a highway.

if they still can vandal it then its a whoaaaa!! imagine that.

aih...msia

imagine that.. people stop in the middle of the road and steal of the LED lights.. what they do next is install it on their headlamps... how foolish and stupid is that,... aiseh M'sia ... n M'sian..