Need help: Gearbox is not accurate with tachometer

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
All sifu,

I just replace a mivec gearbox into my 4G93P.
However, notice that RPM reading from stock tachometer is not aligned.

Example:

Idea Mivec gearbox speed at 100km/h @ 5th gear = 3600rpm, but my tachometer is shown at 2800 rpm only.

I did replaced 2nd unit of mivec gearbox to confirm, result is still the same. Is it the stock cluster is not calibrated with JDM gearbox?

Please advise.. Thx:confused:

All sifu,

I just replace a mivec gearbox into my 4G93P.
However, notice that RPM reading from stock tachometer is not aligned.

Example:

Idea Mivec gearbox speed at 100km/h @ 5th gear = 3600rpm, but my tachometer is shown at 2800 rpm only.

I did replaced 2nd unit of mivec gearbox to confirm, result is still the same. Is it the stock cluster is not calibrated with JDM gearbox?

Please advise.. Thx:confused:

check speed gear ratio

Mivec Owners Group • View topic - ---=== Gearbox Codes, Ratios and factory LSD's ===---

must use speedo from mivec also...

it could be due to different speedo gear ratio inside gearbox and inside speedometer

C99D-MMC5537

Jan 9, 2008
Are u using mivec rpm meter too? If not what is your current rpm meter max rpm? If not same as mivec (10000rpm max) then, your reading will be not accurate.

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
Are u using mivec rpm meter too? If not what is your current rpm meter max rpm? If not same as mivec (10000rpm max) then, your reading will be not accurate.
Now running with stock Putra cluster:confused:

C99D-MMC5537

Jan 9, 2008
Ok. I mayb wrong at my previous post. Your rpm reading maybe correct. The problem is your putra speedometer max at 260km/h. Mitsubishi gearbox have a hole where u install the speedocable in it and link to your meter. Different gearbox have different speedometer gear ratio. Mayb this mivec gearbox speedometer ratio only ngam with speedometer max at 180kmh (considering your mivec is japan spec. fyi, hong kong spec use speedometer with 240kmh max). This cable only spinning inside its skin and link to your speedometer. So your speedometer needle just show as if u are using mivec speedometer. (Ex: mivec speedo will read u are running at 90kmh when the needle is straight 90degree up. But your putra speedo already show 130kmh) speedo over-read. To other sifu, pls correct me if im wrong. :)

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
Ok. I mayb wrong at my previous post. Your rpm reading maybe correct. The problem is your putra speedometer max at 260km/h. Mitsubishi gearbox have a hole where u install the speedocable in it and link to your meter. Different gearbox have different speedometer gear ratio. Mayb this mivec gearbox speedometer ratio only ngam with speedometer max at 180kmh (considering your mivec is japan spec. fyi, hong kong spec use speedometer with 240kmh max). This cable only spinning inside its skin and link to your speedometer. So your speedometer needle just show as if u are using mivec speedometer. (Ex: mivec speedo will read u are running at 90kmh when the needle is straight 90degree up. But your putra speedo already show 130kmh) speedo over-read. To other sifu, pls correct me if im wrong. :)

I see ... thx for the input.

slipar

Apr 29, 2006
banting - pj
mine gti gearbox into evo meter also same reading..previously using gti meter also same speedo reading..what determine the speedo reading is the gearing inside the meter..if different top speed different gearing..i maybe wrong also..

Wholesale price 100% guaranteed lowest Price with free shipping.shop today.
visit our website to shop.Need assistance? contact us by phone or email

Shipping Information & Methods:

We does not ship on national holiday delivery services. The shipping company is selected based on your requested shipping method and we are not able to select a specific shipping method that you request. We emphasize to choose the best shipping company for the fastest delivery method to your address

This...