Need explanation on SSR wheels

pengyu

I bought a brand new set of SSR Type C RS rims from one reputable shop in Sunway for my car. It has all the stickers etc that showing that it is a real deal, not fake ones. And Im also paying a price for original ones.

it is 18x9.5 offset +29 with PCD 114.3.

However, i just noticed it when cleaning my rims few weeks ago that the engraving on the rim itself is 5x100 while I know for sure the rims should be 5x114.3. The stickers inside the rims also stated that it is 5x114.3.

Is it normal for SSR that it stamped/engraved 5x100 for all their rims or Im just a victim for another fake wheels?

how much u bought it for bro? the shop claimed its ori?

---------- Post added at 12:40 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:39 AM ----------

if shop claims its ori but u found out its fake
then report to tribunal bro.

i bought it for an original price. There's no way a fake rims cost more than RM8K.

BTW, i found out few things on the net saying that's because of mold itself, sometimes they using same mold for the front face but drill out different pcd on the center itself.

And, i havent see any fake rims with offset less than +35, or is it there?

I've been trying to find out the real truth before I start going crazy at the shop.

http://www.upgrademotoring.com/wheels/ssr/ssr_type-c.htm

go and check at here....if not mistaken this offset exist for originals wheels

thanks bro. i know the specification does exist.
all of that does show that it is an original ones.

The engraving stating that it is 5x100 which actually it is 5x114.3 that bothers me.

---------- Post added at 02:09 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:21 AM ----------

Hoongs,

I think you are wrong..but maybe u r right.
After few hours of research on the net, found out that lotsa japan rims have 5x100 stamped on them eventhough the real pcd is 114.3. It even happened on Volk rims..

if anyone here have any original Japanese rims and wanna take a look at theirs, please do so and let me know.

Im convinced but not yet super convinced. The only way that i can think why is it stamped like that is because of the load rating of the wheels that every rims (design,spec etc) have to go thru. Thats why next to it is the load rating,i.e 5x100 620kg. Meaning that with that bolt pattern, it can withstand 620kg load on 0 deg..or something like that.

Perhaps someone that knows this thing please enlighten me.

pengyu,

No need to worry bro. If you remember our friend in Brunei using SSR 19".
His rims also stamped with 5X100,
furthermore the rims directly order/imported from SSR maker in Japan.

it is not fake, am using ssr type C as well/ pcd 114.3x5 but the 5x100 still stamped
but i have no idea y 5x100 is there
we need to check on ssr website perhaps

u can do dis bro:
1. weigh the rim and compare with SSR website (abit tedious tho)
2. the spec of the rims (offset; jj; width) and compare too

just my 2 cents. good luck.

i found a reason why after reading the about VIA,JWL etc..

the 5x100 620kg is the load rating. Since the wheels design is used for different pcd's, it must be noted/stamped on the front of the wheel.

You can read this if you wanna know more.

VIA Registration of Aluminum Wheel

Alamak!!!... after long reading.
I need to check my rims also if its ORI or NOT.
Bro, susah hati ke?

no,bukan worry.. just wondering why.. sbb if fake, i can just go to the shop and get compensation or else, tribunal. And some more after going to few tires shop, found a lot of fake SSR.

i got an email from SSR itself, my rims are ORI..hahaha..
PCD shouldnt have to be stamped, but load rating is =).

that's why, usually PCD only stamped at the backside of the wheels or just a sticker. =)

---------- Post added at 10:05 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:03 AM ----------

This is why only need 5x100 602kg...

Q6: Is a Multiple Type supposed to use a limited-use-condition VIA load indication mark for specifications for each installation? Am I right in assuming that one indication of a symbol for the displayed Max Load is sufficient if the wheel has passed the strength test?
A6: If the specifications for each installation pass the strength test using the greatest load, indicating the max load alone is sufficient.

no,bukan worry.. just wondering why.. sbb if fake, i can just go to the shop and get compensation or else, tribunal. And some more after going to few tires shop, found a lot of fake SSR.

i got an email from SSR itself, my rims are ORI..hahaha..
PCD shouldnt have to be stamped, but load rating is =).

that's why, usually PCD only stamped at the backside of the wheels or just a sticker. =)

---------- Post added at 10:05 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:03 AM ----------

This is why only need 5x100 602kg...

Q6: Is a Multiple Type supposed to use a limited-use-condition VIA load indication mark for specifications for each installation? Am I right in assuming that one indication of a symbol for the displayed Max Load is sufficient if the wheel has passed the strength test?
A6: If the specifications for each installation pass the strength test using the greatest load, indicating the max load alone is sufficient.

Bro pengyu, since ur problem is solved mind to share ur ori rims:biggrin: in here including stamped load rating...if dont want pun ok just to share only:driver: cheers

yeah....mind if you can just inform us what is the original rim should be engraved? just to be sure that our SSR are the original one

sorry guys,
i missed this thread. i will update this with pictures later when im back.