Mivec questions

xin

Nov 4, 2004
i have a small question about mivec...

if i change my 1.6m satria to 1.6mivec ..wat things i need besides the complete halfcut ar ? the jpj there need register also ?

changing mivec engine really need change the dash also ar ? i use back my proton dash can ma ?

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
actually u need nothing except the halfcut
1st of all u no need the rear disk brake,the fuel tank coz 1.6 already is an injection engine
yes u need to register to jpj coz the engine number at the engine block is not the same d
but inspection is no need coz both proton 1.6 n mivec 1.6 share the same engine code
(4G92),furthermore the road tax is at the same price too
if u need to take ur garan n tell them ur mivec engine number
if u wan more information about jpj pls go to http://www.jpj.gov.my/malay/

changing mivec dashboard is easy to ur mech when doing wiring
if u don wan to change is oso can

xin

Nov 4, 2004
ohh thanks alot for the info bro ..

so if i convert then the cost will be lesser since some parts i got already in my 1.6 ?arpund how much would i need to budget now ?

mirage2929

Dec 5, 2004
Mivec half-cut about 5.5k, installation 1.2k, since urs is a 1.6 car, initially 8k should suffice. But u should stand by another 2k, just in case ur half cut parts spoilt.

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
from the info given by my mech
mivec half cut is around 5500
installation is 1000 since no need to change the fuel tank
jpj settlement is around 200++
wear n tear parts really donno
but for my gsr last time i need around 500++
so u should hv approximate 1000 to stand by
if u wan change ur gearbox to lsd then addition 500++

xin

Nov 4, 2004
LSD not come wit the halfcut ar ? actually watz the difference wit mivec gearbox and LSD gearbox ?

raj_tg

May 20, 2005
OUG
$$?

I did inspection for my mivec at puspakom for RM40 & no charges for JPJ (just change the engine number on grant only).

fritz

Jan 11, 2005
www.mrbaoz.com.my
Xin..mivec gearbox is just a normal gearbox..LSD gearbox is a diff one..in details..go check in the internet..i duno mitsu LSD is partial or wat..

gsrTurbo9166

Apr 23, 2005
LSD does come wif some of the halfcut (rs version/black top)
LSD mean limited slip differential
it reduce wheel spin n wil distribute power to the wheel according to it condition

allo

My car is very old and the white paint on some parts are crisping, I would like to spray over the parts to atleast cover it. The old paint is still very white, is not yet turn yellowish or anything, but its not reflective, just plain white. So hopefully patching it wont get very obvious unbalance look.

So what type of paint should i use and where can I buy it? Preferable can spray type. And can I make it look reflective by polishing it?

But i dun think can polish also bcuz the...