Losing Power (regardin Evo3) Help~~~!

DJ-LanEvo3

500 RPM
Senior Member

DJ-LanEvo3

500 RPM
Senior Member
May 2, 2005
960
0
3,016
I feel that my engine losing some powers.....

The symptoms are...

- Bit dull and difficult to rev from RPM at 4-7k
- Running at 0.6 bar only.... and sometimes it seemed bit
dull to reach 0.6 but 0.5 on uphill...
- Less G-force.... after 4th gear... no G-force at all...

Any idea about this? or have any similar problems before??

Feel quite upset.... no power... :frown:
 

dolly

500 RPM
Senior Member

dolly

500 RPM
Senior Member
Dec 24, 2003
726
1
3,018
maybe you are used to the power edi? :D

hmmm, check your plugs, see if they are in good condition and check your ignition timing.

did you do anything to your setup before you felt a loss of power?
 

nitrus

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

nitrus

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Nov 14, 2005
2,895
35
1,648
DJ-LanEvo3 said:
I feel that my engine losing some powers.....

The symptoms are...

- Bit dull and difficult to rev from RPM at 4-7k
- Running at 0.6 bar only.... and sometimes it seemed bit
dull to reach 0.6 but 0.5 on uphill...
- Less G-force.... after 4th gear... no G-force at all...

Any idea about this? or have any similar problems before??

Feel quite upset.... no power... :frown:
u noe wat's best thing to do bro...? :biggrin:

bring ur car to experienced in turbo cars mechanic n get ur car checked b4 it gets worse... good luck..
 

omnikron

Known Member
Senior Member

omnikron

Known Member
Senior Member
Dec 13, 2005
66
8
1,508
why don't you try getting your car dyno-ed, if you have dyno your car before, compare the old and new graph. but typically performance would deterioriate little by little due to age. if dyno no problem, then if most probably is you got used to the power. other diagnostic equipment such as compression test will alos help you find the root of your prob.
 

furious_evo

Active Member
Senior Member

furious_evo

Active Member
Senior Member
Nov 19, 2005
33
0
1,506
it sounds like a worn out flywheel to me....skim it b4?when is the last time u change ur clutch set?any leaks?
 

gavan

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

gavan

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 14, 2004
1,408
3
3,138
Shah Alam
Visit site
hmm, might be cuase by a worn piston ring or vavle.....or maybe there is a leak somewhere as you are losing boost......kinda scary to think of it... better daignose it ASAP ;)
 
Last edited:

jinkl

4,000 RPM
Senior Member

jinkl

4,000 RPM
Senior Member
May 22, 2004
4,624
376
3,183
Kuala Lumpur
i suspect something else
actuator is not right
exhaust leak
boost doesnt kick fast
and u already metal gasket rite ?
u cant put stock boost again bro , u gotta up it cos u have lost compression ..
 

DJ-LanEvo3

500 RPM
Senior Member

DJ-LanEvo3

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
May 2, 2005
960
0
3,016
Wow... so many good comments I can see here...!!!!
I'm really appreciated to u all guys....

Yea.. for the first of all, I gotta see experienced mechanic
first... to see any leakings or other parts cause my car slow.. yea.. that's true.. Another thing is obviously I get used to
power of my car... haha...

Secondly... I need to do a dyno test to check fuel raito
and so on...

Thirdly.. yes I get Flywheel skimmed...

Forthly.. I equiped metal gasket.. oh.. then I might be running
with low compression obvisouly... I just forgot it.. haha
I'm dumb hahahaha...

Fifthly... I used to run with original Evo3 set but currently
I'm running with VR4 block.. it's components inside such as
conrods and crankshaft all that.. it's much heavier than
Evo3.....


Thanks for all the precious comments... I roughly know what's
going on my car now... hahaha.. I gotta see mh mechanic to
discuss about this all..
 

zakie

Known Member
Senior Member

zakie

Known Member
Senior Member
Jul 7, 2005
131
0
1,516
Kuala Lumpur
aLo kawan....
u'r engine evo III standard giLor ka??
intercooLer piping?? metaL gasket??
0.6boost?? aLo bang.... baru pakai turbo kerr??
mana nak feeL G kaLau 0.6bar jerr?? :thumpdown
the Gs onLy can be feeL at 1.0 & above onLY maaa....
0.6bar side bY side with v-tech 1.6(smaLL vtech) confirm "berkampong" kono..... :tee: .... normaL evo III aLso bar at 0.9bar, how come u'r engine run at 0.6& 0.5 bar?? :eek:
if vR4 standard Yes i beLieve u'r boost at 0.5&0.6 bar...
sori if mY worDs a bit kasar Loorr... :rock:
:dancing2:
 

zakie

Known Member
Senior Member

zakie

Known Member
Senior Member
Jul 7, 2005
131
0
1,516
Kuala Lumpur
reintel...
dont get mad... :tee:
Yaa Loorrr..... vR4 standard wiLL be at 0.6bar.....
if u'r machine is standard and the boost is cLimbing from 0.6 to 1bar there must be sumthin' wrong oredi with u'r actuator vaLve... carefuLL arrr.... Later on u'r machine wiLL easiLy spoiL... :secruity:
trY Loorr ask u'r foreman about the boost for standard vR4, sure he wiLL agree with me, unLess he oredi did sumthin' to u'r ECU .......
:rock:
:dancing2:
 

DJ-LanEvo3

500 RPM
Senior Member

DJ-LanEvo3

500 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
May 2, 2005
960
0
3,016
u'r engine evo III standard giLor ka??
-Considered stardard but using VR4 set up for block only.

intercooLer piping??
-Yea, stainless intercooler

metaL gasket??
-Yea, 1.2mm

0.6boost?? aLo bang.... baru pakai turbo kerr??
-Reconditioned Turbine..

mana nak feeL G kaLau 0.6bar jerr??
the Gs onLy can be feeL at 1.0 & above onLY maaa....
-I used to run at 1.5 bar. It was due to hose leaking haha.. but now I'm running with 0.6 bar. We can feel Gs at 0.5 also... (May I know what engine u got under the hood?)

NormaL evo III aLso bar at 0.9bar, how come u'r engine run at 0.6& 0.5 bar??
-Hm... actually R u own a Evo3 engine or u've heard the story that Normal Evo3 running at 0.9 from ur friend?
I have bunch of Evo3 engine owners.. but... stock everage boost is 0.7 bar...

Can u plz specify ur comments with more proven facts to
enhance my knowledge... I'm kinda beginner here...
 

reintel

500 RPM
Senior Member

reintel

500 RPM
Senior Member
Jul 27, 2004
732
30
3,028
zakie,

dont wori, we all here to learn. my engine mod alot already, thats why run at 0.8 bar.. hehehhe.... before dis never got the chance to c it run standard coz when i purchase it, straight away do internal mod.
 

zakie

Known Member
Senior Member

zakie

Known Member
Senior Member
Jul 7, 2005
131
0
1,516
Kuala Lumpur
GuYs motorsport Fans :rock:

actuaLLy there is 2 type of boost meter reading...
1 boost meter that using controL box which mean the reading is base on controL box reading where is the vacum connect to the controL box, and the controL box wiLL send the info to boost meter.
2 boost meter direct to vacum.

this 2 type of boost meter wiLL sure give u adifferent reading when u'r turbo car is in idLe...

i'm aLso using evoIII machine previousLy, now oredi change to sumethin eLse.... he he he cannot teLL Loorr....

thats whY u need 2 noe wat tYpe of boost meter r u using and the resuLt that u'LL get.... maYbe a bit higher or a bit Lower,

:dancing2: :dancing2: :dancing2:
 

agasl

Known Member
Senior Member

agasl

Known Member
Senior Member
Apr 21, 2004
389
0
5,016
Pantai Hillpark, Kuching
www.pro-hatch.net
actuaLLy there is 2 type of boost meter reading...
1. boost meter that using controL box which mean the reading is base on controL box reading where is the vacum connect to the controL box, and the controL box wiLL send the info to boost meter.
2. boost meter direct to vacum.

Hmmn..1. Electronic boost meter 2. Mechanical boost meter. Up to u guys to argue which is more precise and accurate.
 

johnnygsr

Known Member
Senior Member

johnnygsr

Known Member
Senior Member
Dec 24, 2005
372
5
1,518
agasl said:
actuaLLy there is 2 type of boost meter reading...
1. boost meter that using controL box which mean the reading is base on controL box reading where is the vacum connect to the controL box, and the controL box wiLL send the info to boost meter.
2. boost meter direct to vacum.

Hmmn..1. Electronic boost meter 2. Mechanical boost meter. Up to u guys to argue which is more precise and accurate.
Fren, how to differentiate Electronice and Mechanical boost meter? My fren just buy a normal boost meter and install for me. Does this mean Mechanical boost meter? Sorry I'm still new in Turbo Engine.