How to take care Carbon Fiber parts?

Jakk

Aug 20, 2009
Good afternoon~

Nowadays, all kind of Carbon Fiber parts appeared in the market. More and more people getting it especially hood and GT Wing. So, I would like to ask...

How you guys take care/maintain your carbon fiber product to keep it shiny over years?

Normal wax?
Water clean?
Car wash shampoo?

Hope sifu sifu here can enlighten me. :biggrin:

loose_end

Jul 29, 2009
Bro, from your statement. I don't understand man.. Do you mean the paints gets dull on CF parts?

Jakk

Aug 20, 2009
Bro, from your statement. I don't understand man.. Do you mean the paints gets dull on CF parts?
wow u still awake at 2am :biggrin:

actually, what i wanna ask is.... how to maintain it to prevent getting dull...

like car need to wash and wax, how about carbon fiber?

will normal wax do the job?:confused:

pangyau

Oct 17, 2009
Interesting topic...

Happened to my CF Spoiler, it turn to dull after sometimes.
I used a Soft 99 polish + wax (Silver bottle) then it return shines.
After 2-3 weeks, its return to dull :rolleyes:

According to experts in detailing, my clear coating will be "Nipis" if using polish in longer period.
Still figuring out where to sent my CF spoiler for Clear Coating touch up (at my place) :hmmmm:

Jakk

Aug 20, 2009
Interesting topic...

According to experts in detailing, my clear coating will be "Nipis" if using polish in longer period.
Still figuring out where to sent my CF spoiler for Clear Coating touch up (at my place) :hmmmm:
my friend who own carbon fiber hood told me the same thing too:
Use Soft99 to wax it

but there are many way on the net ><
from soup wash to high end wax product....

just wondering :confused:

MKMD428

Aug 21, 2005
johore
when i purchase my CF hood from racecraft, they told me that a normal car wash shampoo would suffice. once a week.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
u can paint it & use normal wax after that :biggrin:

or u can put CF sticker like this..

feezdya

Aug 3, 2006
Pee Jay
www.takaful-ikhlas.com.my
Interesting topic...

yeah me also do like this...thumb up for soft 99 polish+wax silver..

Jakk

Aug 20, 2009
u can paint it & use normal wax after that :biggrin:

or u can put CF sticker like this..

good idea but CF sticker cant beat the sexy-ness of the original carbon fiber. :biggrin:

everytime see also cum, especially at night :rofl:

jun_ng_1208

Jul 2, 2008
Cheras
Last time my friend's CF Myvi hood was taken care with Meguiar's product :) But he's a rich bloke so he don't mind bout the price anyway :P

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Bro...

Do NOT use soft 99 polish. Those are not really polishes, yet not really wax. These are all in one polish+wax (contains micro abrasives). Also known as paint cleaners sometimes.

What you want is a pure wax. Not polish. You can wax often but not polish often. If there is no need, no defect, don't polish. As polish abrade a little bit of layers away. So those soft 99 are best only used when there's a slight scratch. Regular use of this will cause thinning of the CF clear coat over time. When the coat is so thin that the CF fibres poke out, it's too late.

What you want is a car wax (whether pure carnauba or synthetic) and sealant. Or better, go for a one time detail and then do a COATING.

well juz dun try to press infront of your kelisa bonet! yesterday my friend try to press the bonet with his body weight...
oh my fuckin goD!!@#!@# the boned dented liao!!! ahhh heart pain!!
warning! dun press it man...kelisa bonet is so fuckin fragile :(