How to raise your car hood.. DIY style

ken yeang

Good DIY.

Any can share over here if rain water go in the engine bay after DIY?

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
Good DIY.

Any can share over here if rain water go in the engine bay after DIY?
the rain always enter the engine bay..

that's how your engine gets dirty :biggrin:

usually from below, side & the front..

splashes of water will not harm the engine or any of its components..

:wink:

even without bonnet lift rain drops still enter engine bay thru the bonnet perimeter line....

so not a problem at all....

plus....the rain drops just falls on the fender line and goes fly anywhere....nothing to be worried unless u were driving without bonnet....that one sure rain water easily kena those sensitive area...

ken yeang

hahahah, free engine wash. Might as well, soap up the engine, and let the rain rinse it..hahahah

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
u need to cut the yellow part..

not that big.. just around 15mm from the tip..

is that right Danz?

Gudluck :burnout:

u need to cut the yellow part..

not that big.. just around 15mm from the tip..

is that right Danz?

Gudluck :burnout:

you're right bro, i raised my hood bout 1", but when i wanted to open the bonnet, the edges pressed on the plastic thinggy at the windscreen & had a hairline crack.

so i had to cut off the edges to raise my hood so that my rear turbine does not overheat, & it does help alot.

---------- Post added at 04:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:30 PM ----------

Am using perdana, which part need to cut off?
if u want to raise it abit (less than 1") then no need to cut la.....

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
to me, i might abit increase more power. because hot air is hard to compress rather than colder air is easier to compress. thus this might somehow increase abot power. maybe smaller CC engine might not feel significant improvement, but bigger CC might have some improvement. if ur engine produces alot of heat, it might affect the temperature inside engine bay. that's why racing car has louver on their front bonnet. to suck hot air out. but it cannot force air into ur air intake unless u channeled a intake from front or its a forced induction.

ken yeang

bought the bolt and nut and going to try this DIY out...hope can reduce engine bay temperature...:biggrin:
be careful when driving in rain though. Malaysia rain is very "geng" and you dont want water to go near engine/electrics.