how to keep battery for long term?

tigershark1976

Aug 24, 2006
just wonder, is there anyway we can keep the batteryfor long period without damaging the battery? be itmaintainance free or non maintainance free type?

Redline_club

Nov 18, 2005
www.redline-club.com
maintainance type last 2 yrs, free maintainance type last 3 yrs. maintainance type like he said the best is every month check the battery water lvl, if u want to keep yr battery last long, everyday start yr engine for 5 or 10 minutes to let the alternator charge the battery, but make sure everything close...exp: air-cond, radio and light.

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
make sure ur car running at the expected voltage......12v car i think is between 13.5v-14.5v....according to Deanna Sclar,author of the book :_:

im using my car battery for more than 4 years..stil working....it is non-maintenace free type....

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
must have a volt gauge to know the car's voltage right ? no other way ?

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Move to the boot where it is cooler. Some cars have it under the rear seats (BMW E32). My mom's BMW's MF batt is already 5 years old.

Nieto

Aug 10, 2006
and b4 start engine, off aircond... if da engine already cut off, dun open aircond, radio, headlight~ and keep engine well maintained~

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
Nieto said:
and b4 start engine, off aircond... if da engine already cut off, dun open aircond, radio, headlight~ and keep engine well maintained~
i only off aircon before Off engine....radio n spotlight are still ON (nighttime) and engine wil off auto maticaly coz got timer....

Nieto

Aug 10, 2006
yeah, got timer oso good for engine even NA engine he he

sakuraguy

Nov 4, 2004
Sendai, JAPAN.
Check and maintain battery every 2 months are enuf. If lots accessories involved in ure car, make it 1 month.

Normally we can extend the lifetime, but it will last atleast it gets the age.

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
how come my mum said free-maintainence battery has shorter lifespan compare to maintainence battery??...

i currently using non-maintainence one also having the same problem... using for about a year only.... that day wanted to help my friend's car jump start tak jadi.... after that, my friend jump started his car using the AAM towtruck battery, no problem....

the AAM foreman said my battery weak oledi, thats why cannot jump start.....

crusader2

Aug 31, 2006
Yes, if the normal battery is maintained properly. It will always last longer than non-maintainance ones. But of course non-maintainance one is very convenient lah, no need to check water level.

Nieto

Aug 10, 2006
i think da new yokohama (white color) got better lifespan

Manthey-Racing team has recently attained pole position in the 24 Hours of Nürburgring race in a Porsche 911 GT3 RSR. Watch the tribute video made by Porsche in appreciation of the race. The video is simply spectacular!

YouTube - ‪24 Hours of Nürburgring - A victory in the green hell‬‏